We welcome expats!

Friendstar

Singapore

Singapore is one of the easiest countries in which to establish permanent residency. All you have to do is apply for an employment pass, be the spouse or child of a Singapore citizen, or plan to make an investment in the country.

Becoming a citizen of the country is also fairly simple; you just have to be a permanent resident of the country for two or more years.

That's the minimum requirements. Whether pass the ICA "unwritten requirement" is another matter altogether.

I've a ang moh colleague, on the highest level EP for 2 yrs liao. Apply for PR still get rejected. Another friend of mine, PR for 2 yrs+, apply for citizenship get rejected also.

Nothing right or wrong... just that they don't come in and snatch away jobs that are meant for our locals...

If they are filthy rich, then hope they set up companies to provide jobs for our locals, and also contribute to our charities

That's the minimum requirements. Whether pass the ICA "unwritten requirement" is another matter altogether.

I've a ang moh colleague, on the highest level EP for 2 yrs liao. Apply for PR still get rejected. Another friend of mine, PR for 2 yrs+, apply for citizenship get rejected also.

the trend have indeed changed. Gone are the days where they can easily convert their citizenship.

In this situation, AMTK do not apply. :D

the trend have indeed changed. Gone are the days where they can easily convert their citizenship.

In this situation, AMTK do not apply. :D

Indeed. Ur reading between the lines.... :)

Now not easy wor

Amtk must learn from Tiong chap, must behest the mp [grin]

Nothing right or wrong... just that they don't come in and snatch away jobs that are meant for our locals...

If they are filthy rich, then hope they set up companies to provide jobs for our locals, and also contribute to our charities

I think I read someone post on here before, an interview with Tharman on why it's not always so simple.

Basically any foreigner who wants to set up business here will naturally want to take their own people with them over. The problem is how many do we allow to strike a balance, between giving locals job opportunities and ensuring that these companies want to come and stay.

Those wanting to get pr smoothly need to get job with stat board or glc.

I think the university they graduate from also matters.

I talked to one morrocan phd young chap graduate from french uni. Secured job with one of those r&d 'incubation' small company, on permit or EP... Apply pr but cannot get.

I think I read someone post on here before, an interview with Tharman on why it's not always so simple.

Basically any foreigner who wants to set up business here will naturally want to take their own people with them over. The problem is how many do we allow to strike a balance, between giving locals job opportunities and ensuring that these companies want to come and stay.

Lucky still got Tharman as a minister, so clear, logical thinking. I don't know about others who many may not have the ability to have so clear thoughts and go by populist measure = die ...

Edited by Yewheng

Sigh.

We like prison sia. Easy to get in, tough to get out.

http://youtu.be/h0G1Ucw5HDg

Lucky still got Tharman as a minister, so clear, logical thinking. I don't know about others who many may not have the ability to have so clear thoughts and go by populist measure = die ...

tt why if u ask me, hw shd be P.....