Lost and Found : Joo Chiat Teochew porridge

ShepherdPie

Have you guys tried Teo Heng at Amoy Street Food Centre?

Abit expensive for hawker centre standards but quality is good though!

Those who want to try, pls take note that Amoy Street Food Centre close for 3 months from Dec 2014 to Feb 2015.

Have you guys tried Teo Heng at Amoy Street Food Centre?

Abit expensive for hawker centre standards but quality is good though!

Those who want to try, pls take note that Amoy Street Food Centre close for 3 months from Dec 2014 to Feb 2015.

Amoy street there usually I go for the Biao Ji Fish soup only and tabao ba zhang at the 1st floor

......the fish soup is one of the best I had.....

Amoy street there usually I go for the Biao Ji Fish soup only and tabao ba zhang at the 1st floor

Actually Amoy Street got quite a few good stalls.

Nasi Lemak, Fish Soup x 2, Lor Mee, Banana Leaf all on the 2nd level.

Nasi Padang, zhe char, Thai and a stall next to the Thai selling soup and other food which is pre-warmed in a steamer all on Ground Floor :D

• Praise 12

my take is always the lor mee. :)

tanjong pagar food centre also has great food.

The one just below Dunman food centre very expensive. Some more now food centre closed they can happy chop chop

yeah... I was quote $19 for black(orh )fish.But the duck and the sotong baby is worth it...

another place to recomm in the east is the school canteen along still road... turtle soup and the fish head beehoon ... *best* another good thing abt that place. .. plenty of parking. .. ;)

Edited by ShepherdPie

Folks who have tried this stall and 安湖 (Cheng San market at Blk 527 AMK Ave 10, for those looking to add on their TCM list), which is nicer?

Wa Sis...you really know all the teochew muay place!!

This AMK place is my to go place now after the one at 3XX place close.

Ave 10 is cheap and good !

Wa Sis...you really know all the teochew muay place!!

This AMK place is my to go place now after the one at 3XX place close.

Ave 10 is cheap and good !

Not really.

I used to go Teck Ghee Court Mkt (opp Blk 341) but that stall earn enuff liao and cash out n rent out stall to current fish porridge.

Since then, I scout for new haunts. From junction of Upper Serangoon & Jln Rengkam (kopitiam gd but pricy muay n dim sum) to intersection btw GL Rd & GL Lor 37(tasty, reasonable but parking headache. The bittergourd there is yummy).

I heard Hougang got gd Teochew Muay but hv yet to find it. As for East, I need to find more so can have more choices when I bring my MIL out as she stay in the East. Since Joo Chiat closed, nearest I know is GL.

Finally tried the stall...

Verdict : super overprice for hawker stall.. you have better options at old airport road hawker..

The food quality is as good.. but the prices remain the same if not higher than when it was at joo chiat.

We ordered

1) Duck for 2 person

2) lala

3) sotong

4) fishcake

.... total $28... :( for hawker fare... seriously ..

Edited by ShepherdPie

Verdict : super overprice for hawker stall.. you have better options at old airport road hawker..

The food quality is as good.. but the prices remain the same if not higher than when it was at joo chiat.

We ordered

1) Duck for 2 person

2) lala

3) sotong

4) fishcake

Just 4 dishes for 2 person, and $28?

No steam fish some more.

These Teochew porridge like to [knife] .

Same like "Kway Chap", anyhow charge one so whilst it can be nice like home cooked style, be prepared to fork out. Actually, if you know simple cooking; you can do it yourself cos steam fish, salted eggs, salted fish is not too difficult to prepare and peanuts can get from can.

Chye Poh abit tough though! Duck can buy from Duck stall think cheaper than if sold through Teochew porridge stall lol!!

• Praise 14

These Teochew porridge like to [knife] .

Same like "Kway Chap", anyhow charge one so whilst it can be nice like home cooked style, be prepared to fork out. Actually, if you know simple cooking; you can do it yourself cos steam fish, salted eggs, salted fish is not too difficult to prepare and peanuts can get from can.

Chye Poh abit tough though! Duck can buy from Duck stall think cheaper than if sold through Teochew porridge stall lol!!

seriously.. If the taste can be replicated so easily. .They normally can't survive charging this price...

and btw. . its not cheaper trying to cook el at home. . :/

fish cake and sotong some more those natural taste one....

yeah... but there is something abt their garlic chilli..plus sotong.. its quite yummy. but for 28...There are better stall at old airport.. I can have plus plus prawn noodle for 2 with 28.

Edited by ShepherdPie

seriously.. If the taste can be replicated so easily. .They normally can't survive charging this price...

and btw. . its not cheaper trying to cook el at home. . :/

yeah... but there is something abt their garlic chilli..plus sotong.. its quite yummy. but for 28...There are better stall at old airport.. I can have plus plus prawn noodle for 2 with 28.

Try Ye Shang Hai at Henderson View coffeeshop. Long queues, but prices are always reasonable, food is good and fresh, and large variety of dishes and steamed/fried fishes to order from.

This shop was made even more famous after this case :D

http://everythingalsocomplain.com/2014/03/23/indranee-rajah-defending-uncle-with-holey-moley-shirt/

We ordered

1) Duck for 2 person

2) lala

3) sotong

4) fishcake

Thanks your post make me feel better for paying $35 for 2 at havelock road [laugh]

At least I had a whole fish, duck, plus 4 more dishes [laugh]

open only at night right. .. hee hee.. got to compete with taxi driver for lots.

there is a huge open air car park behind the coffeeshop.... where the hawker centre is also located.