Darryn Turbocharged December 12, 2014 Share December 12, 2014 Mine also sub 8sec car. I use to drive sub 6sec car and sub 8 is rather slow. Well.... Police used to wear short pants and all that - but this list puts a slightly different perspective on "fast" Between 7 and 8 seconds. Ferrari 246 Dino GT - [1969] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.1 seconds Ferrari 365 California 4.4 V12 - [1966] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.1 seconds Jaguar E Type 3.8L Roadster - [1961] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.1 seconds Buick Riviera 6.6l V8 - [1966] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.2 seconds Chevrolet Impala 348 Hardtop - [1960] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.2 seconds Chevrolet Impala SS 427 - [1967] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.2 seconds Dodge Dart Phoenix 5.9 V8 360 Hardtop - [1960] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.2 seconds Ferrari 275 GTS 3.3 V12 - [1965] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.2 seconds Maserati Indy Tipo 116 4.1L V8 - [1969] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.2 seconds Holden Monaro GTS 327 5.4 V8 - [1968] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.3 seconds Ferrari 206 Dino GT - [1968] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.5 seconds Ford Fairlane GTA 390 6.4 V8 - [1967] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.5 seconds Ford Mustang Mach 1 351 4 Speed - [1969] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.5 seconds Chevrolet Camaro Z28 Sport Coupe 1st Gen - [1967] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.7 seconds Jensen Interceptor FF 6.3L V8 - [1968] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.7 seconds Ferrari 500 Superfast 5.0 V12 - [1964] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.8 seconds Lamborghini Espada S II - [1969] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.8 seconds Mercury Marauder X-100 - [1969] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.8 seconds Pontiac GTO 6.4L V8 - [1966] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.9 seconds Chevrolet Chevy II Nova SS 283 V8 Turbo Fire - [1964] 0 to 60 mph time - 8.0 seconds Iso Rivolta IR 340 5.4L V8 - [1962] 0 to 60 mph time - 8.0 seconds Oldsmobile Toronado 7L V8 - [1966] 0 to 60 mph time - 8.0 seconds Porsche 911 S - [1967] 0 to 60 mph time - 8.0 second ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged December 12, 2014 Share December 12, 2014 Well.... Police used to wear short pants and all that - but this list puts a slightly different perspective on "fast" Between 7 and 8 seconds. Ferrari 246 Dino GT - [1969] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.1 seconds Ferrari 365 California 4.4 V12 - [1966] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.1 seconds Jaguar E Type 3.8L Roadster - [1961] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.1 seconds Buick Riviera 6.6l V8 - [1966] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.2 seconds Chevrolet Impala 348 Hardtop - [1960] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.2 seconds Chevrolet Impala SS 427 - [1967] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.2 seconds Dodge Dart Phoenix 5.9 V8 360 Hardtop - [1960] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.2 seconds Ferrari 275 GTS 3.3 V12 - [1965] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.2 seconds Maserati Indy Tipo 116 4.1L V8 - [1969] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.2 seconds Holden Monaro GTS 327 5.4 V8 - [1968] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.3 seconds Ferrari 206 Dino GT - [1968] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.5 seconds Ford Fairlane GTA 390 6.4 V8 - [1967] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.5 seconds Ford Mustang Mach 1 351 4 Speed - [1969] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.5 seconds Chevrolet Camaro Z28 Sport Coupe 1st Gen - [1967] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.7 seconds Jensen Interceptor FF 6.3L V8 - [1968] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.7 seconds Ferrari 500 Superfast 5.0 V12 - [1964] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.8 seconds Lamborghini Espada S II - [1969] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.8 seconds Mercury Marauder X-100 - [1969] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.8 seconds Pontiac GTO 6.4L V8 - [1966] 0 to 60 mph time - 7.9 seconds Chevrolet Chevy II Nova SS 283 V8 Turbo Fire - [1964] 0 to 60 mph time - 8.0 seconds Iso Rivolta IR 340 5.4L V8 - [1962] 0 to 60 mph time - 8.0 seconds Oldsmobile Toronado 7L V8 - [1966] 0 to 60 mph time - 8.0 seconds Porsche 911 S - [1967] 0 to 60 mph time - 8.0 second & your point is? Give me so many cars which never been registered in Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 12, 2014 Share December 12, 2014 & your point is? Give me so many cars which never been registered in Singapore. No Point ... Just an illustration of how much perceptions have changed - It's not so very long since a sub 8 second 0-100 timing was considered the height of performance, and the preserve only of the "best" And P.S - some of the cars in the list were in Singapore....(or at least, should have been,,,,don't ask me for a cite though as almost impossible to find, except that I have personally seen an Espada in a car warehouse - although it did have JB plates) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged December 12, 2014 Share December 12, 2014 No Point ... Just an illustration of how much perceptions have changed - It's not so very long since a sub 8 second 0-100 timing was considered the height of performance, and the preserve only of the "best" And P.S - some of the cars in the list were in Singapore....(or at least, should have been,,,,don't ask me for a cite though as almost impossible to find, except that I have personally seen an Espada in a car warehouse - although it did have JB plates) Oic. Last time sub 8 consider fast and now consider slow. Like Ford GT40, a legend. Took how many years for other car markers to come close to a 50 year old technology. do you know there is 1 old cadillac reg in Singapore? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waterh2o 4th Gear December 12, 2014 Share December 12, 2014 (edited) In countries like Malaysia, Indonesia where their taxi services are not so regulated as in places like japan and Singapore, any tom, dick and harry as long as u can get your hands on a set of wheels u can be taxi drivers. This type of taxi u dare to take? Take u to Horlan u also don't know. And most of the time they have no idea how to take u to your destination. In this situation of course take premium lah. Cannot compare. Not to mention the superior exchange of SGD to MYR and INR. Last time AM travellers more willing to take premium taxi is for the same reason. Now? SGD/US 1.31 and SGD/EURO 1.62. compare to the heyday drop a lot of course must consider when taking premium. Edited December 12, 2014 by Waterh2o Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic December 12, 2014 Share December 12, 2014 To be fair, most cabbies queued for a long time at the airport, hence don't blame them for pulling a long face when picking a fare to Tampines, PR and Changi. But that is a minority. Why should there be long taxi queues? This could have been avoided if they check the flight schedule! But being Singaporean, they are kia su, so they queue there before the planes start their descend... There is also nothing wrong with people who live in Tampines and Pasir Ris to take cabs from the airport! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolpica 4th Gear December 12, 2014 Share December 12, 2014 (edited) Why should there be long taxi queues? This could have been avoided if they check the flight schedule! But being Singaporean, they are kia su, so they queue there before the planes start their descend... There is also nothing wrong with people who live in Tampines and Pasir Ris to take cabs from the airport! I didn't say people living in Tampines and PR deserve to be given a long face by the taxi drivers. What I offered was the possible reason why the taxi drivers have a long face when picking a fare to Tampines and PR. Please lor... Why do these cabbies queue up for a long time at the airport? They do that knowing that it's idle time while waiting in the queue, and at the same time can earn $3 more. So when they get a fare that goes to Tampines etc, they pull a long face. They want to eat snake and make easy money, is that the passenger's problem? No. Passenger lives in Tampines, is that his problem? No. Please lor am I saying those staying in Tampines deserve a long face? Edited December 12, 2014 by Coolpica Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear December 12, 2014 Share December 12, 2014 I didn't say people living in Tampines and PR deserve to be given a long face by the taxi drivers. What I offered was the possible reason why the taxi drivers have a long face when picking a fare to Tampines and PR. Please lor am I saying those staying in Tampines deserve a long face? Precisely what I'm saying too. People staying near the airport, it's their fault? No. Conversely, it's the taxi driver's fault/laziness/wishful thinking, to eat snake while waiting in the queue, and hoping to pick up a passenger who wants to go Jurong, thus earning them $3 extra + long fare. Our taxi rental system is so screwed up, everyone is playing punk with the system, and forever there are not enough taxis. Yet go to any coffeeshop and you will see some of these taxi laos stirring kopi for hours. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 12, 2014 Share December 12, 2014 Premium or not, still have to put up with the black face of the taxi drivers just becos my destination is along East Coast. They also showed their displeasure by frequent unnecessary braking, snapped at me when I gave directions and inching the vehicle slowly forward when I was unloading luggages. Really regretted tipping these guys but I'm a sucker everytime - out of pity for their long hrs on the roads. never happened to me before even though mine also around same area.....maybe you suay 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic December 12, 2014 Share December 12, 2014 unfortunately, most customers are stone faced. It takes a lot of energy for service staff to initiate the cheerfulness, after rounds and rounds of facing the walls. I won't expect cheerful service staff (though it's a bonus); just give me the service in the most efficient and effective way. Yes, agreed on your point too. That's why I make it a point to thank them for their service. ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...