Vid Hypersonic December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 When you say "noboby wants to take premium taxi" that includes business travellers too, not only locals. I was at the airport a week ago and in the taxi queue. In front of me was a group of european and japanese business travellers. When the queue marshall, ask those group of travellers "Chrslyer taxi want?" the whole group siam like plague. Even overseas visitors know premium taxi in Singapore is no joke. lol For a short journey, it is not worth paying a premium. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waterh2o 4th Gear December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 Money not easy to make .. unless you work for gahmen or big energy companies .. most company finances also tightened. Now with oil prices dropping like a rock, even energy companies have to tighten budget. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 When you say "noboby wants to take premium taxi" that includes business travellers too, not only locals. I was at the airport a week ago and in the taxi queue. In front of me was a group of european and japanese business travellers. When the queue marshall, ask those group of travellers "Chrslyer taxi want?" the whole group siam like plague. Even overseas visitors know premium taxi in Singapore is no joke. lol Whoa!!! Now amtk also know how to Siam far far from exp stuff Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 (edited) If Toyota Crown as premium taxi, Japanese will take one. Don't laugh.... Last time, when they introduce Toyota Corona fleet, they rebrand the Crown taxi as "premium". It was called "The Cab" if I remembered correctly. When you say "noboby wants to take premium taxi" that includes business travellers too, not only locals. I was at the airport a week ago and in the taxi queue. In front of me was a group of european and japanese business travellers. When the queue marshall, ask those group of travellers "Chrslyer taxi want?" the whole group siam like plague. Even overseas visitors know premium taxi in Singapore is no joke. lol Edited December 10, 2014 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waterh2o 4th Gear December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 At least the Vellifire, big van-like taxi makes more sense as they can still target tourists goup of 3 or more ppl with a number of luggages. The Chrlyser one I shake head. Dunno who wants to take. The most is squeeze in 3 ppl and business travellers usually travel light. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 I remember reading a report about a pax taking a 300C frm CA to jurong and he was charged more than $80/-. IMHO, it is good to have a separate Q so that passengers have a clear choice! Why KPKB? NB: How is premium defined? Is Camry premium? shud buy from ground transport maybe only 55 per trip Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 stupid idea to have premium Q! Stupid idea to have premium cabs. Nobody wants to board them other than the clueless ones. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 Maybe they should have a seperate queue for passengers going to nearby areas, like pasir ris, tampines?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 Ok I admit. Sometimes when the queue is long/slow, I can't be arsed to wait and jump into a premium cab. Just a few dollars extra to my place, plus I've already been sitting/waiting/queueing for the past however many hours from my departure country. I just wanna get home faster so that I can take my pants off. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 (edited) Seriously, they shd just tell the premium drivers to fxkk off. Every Fri night when I'm in the Q for a taxi @ T1, can see at least 1 premium cab there like some fat girl who cannot get a date at the prom. And the staff managing the taxi Q is like some matchmaker kenna saddled with liability. If I am the staff, I also dulan, must help the CB taxi uncle sitting comfy in his aircon cab while I sweat out here smelling all your exhaust fumes (shd call NEA to fine the premium cabs) trying to con someone to board you carrothead cab. And when I ask who wants premium cab, all shake head and siam like the cab got ebola inside... Edited December 10, 2014 by Sabian 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 (edited) Premium... Taxi.... Stupid Chrysler 300 very atas meh?Maybe next time after i move to Tanah Merah area, i will jump into a "Premium Cab" at airpork and "sabo" the driver. Edited December 10, 2014 by Mockngbrd 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 Travellers who pay out of their own pocket will not take premium cabs. For company trips, I do not care and will just board. Even ang mor knows that premium cabs have higher flag off fee and the meter jump faster. How to identify "premium" taxi? If I were at the airport and normal taxis have a long queue, I might pay for premium to skip the queue but otherwise why should I pay more to get to the same destination? Unless I have more than 4 people with me and the premium taxis are actually big vans which can have more passengers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 SG always lamenting lack of space. Yet, what we have here is different classes of taxis. Wouldn't it be better use of road space if the taxi people use one standard class of taxi? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matrix0405 5th Gear December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 At least the Vellifire, big van-like taxi makes more sense as they can still target tourists goup of 3 or more ppl with a number of luggages. The Chrlyser one I shake head. Dunno who wants to take. The most is squeeze in 3 ppl and business travellers usually travel light. Totally agree. Big MPV or SUV is premium, for the space. Toyota Crown, Merc and even Honda Freed with ICE can also pretend to be premium? Anyway, many premium taxi are till scalping at Arrival hall. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmylim 4th Gear December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 U-turn so fast... TODAY reports: A one-month trial of having a separate queue for premium taxis at Changi Airport's Terminal 1 "to ensure efficient despatch of taxis" has been halted abruptly after just one day. PHOTOS The trial of a separate premium-taxi queue at Changi Airport Terminal 1 has been stopped, airport staff said. (Photo: TODAY) ENLARGE CAPTION SINGAPORE: Changi Airport on Tuesday (Dec 9) abruptly discontinued a one-month trial of a separate queue for premium taxis at Terminal 1 (T1) — only a day after it started, following strong unhappiness expressed by cabbies at the arrangement. The trial began on Monday, but when TODAY visited T1 late Tuesday night, staff said it has been stopped. Pictures and videos had circulated online of lines of premium taxis blaring horns and parked along the road leading up to the T1 taxi stand. The staff confirmed there had been a commotion, but were unable to say why the trial had been discontinued. Speaking to TODAY on Tuesday night, several premium-taxi drivers, who declined to be named, said there had been a WhatsApp message going around asking cabbies of premium taxis to congregate at T1 on Monday night to show their displeasure. A premium-cab driver, who identified himself only as Mr Liang, lamented that the new system made it difficult for premium taxis to attract customers, with few people in the dedicated queue for these taxis, which charge higher rates. TRIAL MEANT TO OPTIMISE EFFICIENCY When contacted, the Changi Airport Group (CAG) declined to comment on the reasons for halting the trial and whether it will resume. In a statement issued to the media on Monday, a CAG spokesperson said the trial was meant to provide commuters with clearer taxi choices while optimising operational efficiency in despatching taxis. “The trial involves the creation of a separate queue for premium taxis at the taxi queue area with a dedicated queue line for passengers who wish to take premium taxis,” she said, adding that this service would be offered daily from 3pm to 1.30am and would continue until Jan 7. She added: “In addition, within the taxi holding area, regular taxis and premium taxis are segregated into two lanes to ensure efficient despatch of taxis.” Prior to implementation, consultations were carried out with the National Taxi Association and various taxi operators, who expressed support for the trial, the spokesperson said. She said the system had worked well when the trial commenced on Monday afternoon, especially during the evening peak period from 4pm to 6pm. “Passenger feedback was positive too, with commuters who were prepared to pay a higher metered fare for a premium taxi service lauding the clearer choices presented to them prior to joining the taxi queues.” The spokesperson said there had been a significant surge in the supply of premium taxis at the airport late on Monday night, resulting in a longer waiting time for taxi drivers. “We acknowledge the unhappiness expressed by some premium-taxi drivers,” she said, adding that CAG will monitor the situation, make adjustments and work with the relevant stakeholders. -TODAY/xk well, better than others who don't dare to admit their mistakes and continue to deny. thumb up for them! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 (edited) To prevent such incident, the govt should come out a ruling that whatsapp group chat can only have 4 members.... anything more will be deemed as illegal gathering in cyberspace with intention to be a public nuisance... punishable by max 2 years in jail and 24 strokes of the cane Don't lah - if that happens MCF will also be limited to 4 members! What are we going to do to kill time? Was at T1 last night, after reading the news now I know why the ushers did not move anyone to the first two bays - one a ma see li and one American "premium" car.... They din even bother ask if we want a "premium" cab! Definitely the ushers not happy. Edited December 10, 2014 by Volvobrick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 Define premium taxis, took C300 before and my review. 1st: Chrysler 300 as comfortable as Sonata. 2nd: What's good with C300 when met with lousy driver? 3rd: Ask uncle to push pedal to medal also cannot. 4th: My own car faster then C300. The best ride comfort in a taxi I had would be Hyundai Starex. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic December 10, 2014 Share December 10, 2014 Drive premium taxi also headache bro, is not passenger kpkb but the taxi lohs. But if regular taxi queue is long, I don't mind taking the premium cabs. Ya lor. I think the cabbies action has caused damage to Singapore. Imagine when the visitors after clearing the immigration check point only to be greeted by the blaring of horns! Imho, commuters should be given a choice. At least the info is made known to them before the journey begins! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...