Please check or replace your spare tire

Doppel

Depends on where one work I guess. I worked in those hdb factories. Average once a month from screws thrown onto the floor.

Now I have my own repair kit, repair myself. Pull out the screw, enlarge and smoothen the hole then push in the worm plug. Pump up the tyre and I am good to go.

saw tyre repair kits at autobacs just now. Got $5, $9 and $15 type.. seems all have 4 pieces of those rubber. Any difference? Can just buy the $5 type? Will those rubber deteriorate over time?

I include the full size spare tire in the 10,000 km tires rotation.

All five tires wear down evenly and none ignored [grouphug]

@Phang,

Yes, that is the most preferred way and environmentally friendly too.

I up-sized my stock rims and tires +1; which is why I left out my full spare tire on the rotation, although the spare tire has the same rotational circumference and would be fully capable if required.

Use run flat tyres lor. No need to have spares :D

Run flat also not very ideal, alot of drivers have no idea they had a flat and just keep driving until all 4 tyres give way unless car equip with TPMS, no way to repair at all as well if not wrong.

Good post, but you must know that some modern cars (including mine) don't even carry a donut, just a tyre reflation kit. I don't entirely agree with this philosophy because no sealant will help in case of a sidewall slash or other catastrophic failure.

A bit OT and it's completely not your fault, but my eyes are already burning from that disgusting travesty (XX) in the Tyre Queen ad that presumably sprang up because of the keyword in the thread. :D

The quicker that disgusting creature gets removed from that ad, the better. Tyre Queen will see not a cent from me as long as *that* is the mascot.

Hahahaha same sentiments.. Few weeks back I was walking in JBCC, saw that horse face XX.. No big deal bout her.

In the last 20 yrs I got 5 punctures if I remembered correctly ; which translates into one puncture every 4 years .

Of the 5 punctures , only once was it completely flat that required a change to spare tyre ; the other instances it was a slow leak and I can still drive to the nearest tyre shop.

assume you own a car when u r 25 yrs old.

so, a hmmm, uncle u 45yrs old [wave]

I believe that is no problem if we rotate tire regularly inclusive of that regular sized spare tyre.

@Owner-driver,

I upsized my stock rims and tires +1, which is why I do not include my spare tire in the routine tire rotation.

thanks! I put it in my shopping cart already. Hehe

Tried and tested bro.

Remember to get a plier to pull out the screw and a scissor to cut off the excess plug sticking out.

Not forgetting a 12V powered air compressor to pump the tyre.

thanks! I put it in my shopping cart already. Hehe

I also bought this already.

There's not much difference in terms of price.

But some tools may be easier to grab and use.

However the first time experience is usually losing the spaghetti to the tyre.

The wrong way of insertion could just drop the whole thing inside.

You must insert slowly till it's half inside, and swiftly pull out the tool, so it's stuck inside.

If you pull it out slowly, it may come out again.

The instructions are clear, you will get it bro.

Need a lot of strength to push it in if it's the rear tyre. Front tyre much easier as you can just turn them sideways.

remember to change the valve stem as well. This tiny thing degrades over time and will give way around 5 years.

agree with you. Especially when the air leaked when there is no punctures.

Some tyre shops nice enough to change this with new set of tyre purchase, some don't.

Hello everyone,

For people with full size spare tires, please check your spare tire's pressure periodically, say every six months.

I checked mine earlier this week, the pressure has dropped to an unusable 150 kPa (1.5 bar or 21.8 psi); I only pumped it to 250 kPa about a year ago.

Further, mine was already more than five years old; while it has never been mounted on the car before, I decided to change it this morning, as it would have suffered from rubber deterioration.

Unless one has X-rays' eyes like Superman to inspect the tire's internal structure, one would not know if the steel radial cords and the rubber have lost their bonding and the tire's structural integrity is compromised and therefore unusable. A five year old tire should not be put in service, regardless of tread wear and usage pattern.

Some may think it is a waste of money to change your spare tire which one hardly use; if you just drive in Singapore and distances are very short (50 - 100 km), I think it is OK to use your old spare tire and drive to your usual tire shop for repair and replacement.

However, if you travel to Malaysia sometimes, I think a functional spare tire (full size spare or temporary spare) or tire repair kit is important, so that your mobility and safety are not compromised.

Drive safely, regularly maintain your vehicle and you would enjoy many years of safe motoring.

For every car i had that came with a spare tyre, i removed it.

Lightens the load by a good 20kg so that i can pick up 0.002 secs faster...

Muayhahahahahahahaha.

Just driving in Singapore, no need spare tyre or run flat lah.....aiyoh....