U-turn champion

Sp4wn

I studied in Perth some time back, I can tell you its due to the increase in mobile speed cameras.

10+ years back even the locals used to speed like xiao until one day a massive speed camera dragnet caught alot of speedsters (one guy kanna more than 5 times in a day)

These are mostly the younger generation though < 40s, Now everyone very wary of the speed cameras so very guai.

Also the drivers reaction time there very slow, no one dare to pull last minute stunt cause some old lady in a Magna cannot xiam in time.

Last time most Ah Beng driving can be seen in the suburbs, usually the teens there are doing doughnuts outside my house. One guy attached a phone booth to his ute and dragged it away. Ang Mo teens abit [hur]

i just returned from a 8-days drive holiday in Perth
i have the highest respect to drivers in Australia (i mean local, tourist may be kiasi)

highway 110 they stick with 110 ... no speeding ... could easily do 140 still consider slow in a super long stretch road
while passing town ... 60/80 they reduce to 60/80
when there is a slow vehicle in front ... they will only overtake at "overtaking lane" even it is 4-5km ahead ...
they will just slowdown and follow behind for 4-5km ... keeping a distance and no tailgating whatsoever

no horning ... no sudden cut in ... no SMLJ anyhoo u-turn
aus is a huge country ... while driving outskirt there is no police car at seen (likelihood to be catch is low?)
i would expect them drive like "ah beng" but none is seen ... [thumbsup]

i have the same experience while driving in NZ

what makes Aus and NZ drivers drive like angel huh? stiff penalty and camera?
aren't spore also have stiff penalty and camera?

in this particular instance ... i do not condemn AMDK ... lol !!!

spore also got camera

but its telling you before camera 100-110-115 but when reaching camera 90

just learn from the taxi driver. sure wont go wrong ... hehe

I studied in Perth some time back, I can tell you its due to the increase in mobile speed cameras.

10+ years back even the locals used to speed like xiao until one day a massive speed camera dragnet caught alot of speedsters (one guy kanna more than 5 times in a day)

These are mostly the younger generation though < 40s, Now everyone very wary of the speed cameras so very guai.

Also the drivers reaction time there very slow, no one dare to pull last minute stunt cause some old lady in a Magna cannot xiam in time.

Last time most Ah Beng driving can be seen in the suburbs, usually the teens there are doing doughnuts outside my house. One guy attached a phone booth to his ute and dragged it away. Ang Mo teens abit [hur]

Haha true, Singapore all fixed camera. Govt don't mind us speeding just dun get caught [:p]

Perth camera is not fixed one, every time we drive we used to slow down at the "known" camera areas, see no camera heng ah. Go faster around the corner "piak" one picture [bigcry]

The police there also play punk, one tailed behind me for 30 mins along the freeway (they know I Asian driver because of the ricey mods) waiting for a mistake. Only when I turn into the small roads and they went pass then I realize they are police (disappointed them). Our police run red light they also close eye.

spore also got camera
but its telling you before camera 100-110-115 but when reaching camera 90
just learn from the taxi driver. sure wont go wrong ... hehe

Because drive BMW big fark. Want to do illegal u-turn still so damn slow.

Buey tahan.

Going parkway parade?

yup ... had to pick up 2ic. haha

bro...u have become a magnet for idiots.....hahahaha!

once in a full moon it happens haha

I've to admit, I done that a couple of times, but I do only when there isnt any cars around. This one quite epic, so many cars still can slowly do and wait for ppl to give way.

if nobody is around then ok lo. if i wanna guai lan with him i just inch forward and make his life difficult. but whats the point.just let it be lo :D

Singapore's speed limits are actually very reasonable in relatively terms if you compare to many big countries like Malaysia, Japan, Australia and NZ, etc.

I am always intrigued by people who keep harping to have our speed limits increased when we still can't keep a safe following distance. There is no way you can save travelling time by increasing speed limits. The key is to have smooth consistent flowing traffic, and to have this, we need patient drivers.

We may have the same laws, but it's not strictly enforced.

i have the highest respect to drivers in Australia (i mean local, tourist may be kiasi)

highway 110 they stick with 110 ... no speeding ... could easily do 140 still consider slow in a super long stretch road
when there is a slow vehicle in front ... they will only overtake at "overtaking lane" even it is 4-5km ahead ...
they will just slowdown and follow behind for 4-5km ... keeping a distance and no tailgating whatsoever

aus is a huge country ... while driving outskirt there is no police car at seen (likelihood to be catch is low?)

Edited by Kangadrool

You may be aware that most traffic accidents took place within the respective speed limits. Higher speed limits mean can reach destinations faster, reducing risky minutes along the routes. Also free up the road space for smoother travelling. Speed limits a useful guide for newer drivers, or those unfamiliar to the routes.

Driving skills like keeping a safe distance are meant for newer drivers, to try avoid accidents.

Totally agree!

You may be aware that most traffic accidents took place within the respective speed limits. Higher speed limits mean can reach destinations faster, reducing risky minutes along the routes. Also free up the road space for smoother travelling. Speed limits a useful guide for newer drivers, or those unfamiliar to the routes.

Driving skills like keeping a safe distance are meant for newer drivers, to try avoid accidents.

and i thought i am the only one with the quirky theory,

dont comprehend why the traffic is always slower in the rain, i mean the road is more slippery and hence traffic should be traveling in a faster pace. :D

i miss t heir scenic self drive ... like movie you see.. wild west cowboy town.. and the land is sooooo big..

yes, i agree they really stick to speed limit and very law abiding...

but parking the car i tio jiak by 1 old am.. lol..

i mean ... why even bother looking for a u-turn or doing a 3 point turn when you can inconvenience everyone else? :D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Zy9wXM0aag&feature=youtu.be

your GTR not fierce enough.. [lipsrsealed] [lipsrsealed]

i love the GTR btw.. [grin]

i miss t heir scenic self drive ... like movie you see.. wild west cowboy town.. and the land is sooooo big..

yes, i agree they really stick to speed limit and very law abiding...

but parking the car i tio jiak by 1 old am.. lol..

your GTR not fierce enough.. [lipsrsealed] [lipsrsealed]

i love the GTR btw.. [grin]

i must throw on a more fierce body kit perhaps ;) still a great car after 5 years though!

Not too bad. She managed to u-turn in one go.

it's a lau pek though ;) not a woman driver.

i almost thought cannot clear towards the end, but still managed to clear somehow.

only issue was alot of people behind him weren't too happy (quite a few honkers)

it's a lau pek though ;) not a woman driver.

i almost thought cannot clear towards the end, but still managed to clear somehow.

only issue was alot of people behind him weren't too happy (quite a few honkers)

I tot almost cannot too. it was too close for comfort. like going to rub the rim!!

maybe he is experienced doing u-turn there hahahaha

Actually the driver just have to go further up in front, behind katong shopping centre, turn right into the small road and it will lead to the same road he wanted to go but after katong shopping centre..... lol

guess he not familier with the place...

"...hmm......nowan to queue up long time to turn right to Mountbatten....just go straight n any-o-how U-turn after the junction lo......"

Mountbatten...?

Or East Coast Rd?