Wind30 Turbocharged January 21, 2018 Share January 21, 2018 I think this pay to choose seat is ok. Frankly it’s logical. The up side is it is easier to get good seats if u book the more expensive economy tickets. I notice you can still select seats if your are Krisflyer elite silver which is not hard to get. Frankly I support this move and hopfullly it will be easier to get the seats I want. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged January 21, 2018 Share January 21, 2018 (edited) I think this pay to choose seat is ok. Frankly it’s logical. The up side is it is easier to get good seats if u book the more expensive economy tickets. I notice you can still select seats if your are Krisflyer elite silver which is not hard to get. Frankly I support this move and hopfullly it will be easier to get the seats I want. This one is mixed reaction, then comes the want to charge credit card service fee for booking booked with SQ than next day cancel, then now comes the auto opt in travel insurance unless user opt out. If want auto opt in can, but must also be prepared and ensure that the refund process for travel insurance opt in part is super easy and fast if got valid reasons for refund. Not go one big round and still haven't get refund and still need wait for don't know how many days or wk before the refund can be done. This is not acceptable man. Edited January 21, 2018 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 21, 2018 Share January 21, 2018 another cheapskate tactic (auto tick the travel insurance portion) Is the NEW SQ Management previouls from Budget Carriers? All these Opt-in tactics are used by Budget Airlines =================================== From ST Forum Grow your revenue, SIA, but do it fairly PUBLISHEDJAN 20, 2018, 5:00 AM SGT FACEBOOK46TWITTEREMAIL I must compliment Singapore Airlines' for its excellent cabin crew and wonderful front-line staff. Both these groups provide good service but sadly, I cannot say the same for its senior management. I found this out from a recent experience. I purchased an air ticket online on the SIA website and was shocked to discover that I had been charged for travel insurance - which I had not opted for - when I received confirmation of the booking by e-mail. Upon calling SIA reservations, I was told by a friendly and very apologetic staff member that it is now company policy to "auto opt in" customers for travel insurance, and that cancellation of this was very difficult. I was rather indignant and insisted on a cancellation of the unwanted insurance policy. ADVERTISING After being put on hold for some time, the staff member told me that SIA would contact the insurance company and get back to me at some stage, but with no guarantee that the policy would be cancelled. While I understand that SIA needs to grow revenue, its senior management should work out proper ways of doing this, rather than slipping in surreptitious add-on charges such as this. Allen Tan Han Loong ============================== SQ Reply SIA customers upset with auto travel insurance inclusion; airline says it's to protect travellers The opt-in default for travel insurance was implemented last year in Singapore and other markets. The opt-in default for travel insurance was implemented last year in Singapore and other markets.PHOTO: ST FILE PUBLISHED20 MIN AGO FACEBOOK91TWITTEREMAIL Karamjit KaurSenior Aviation Correspondent SINGAPORE - Singapore Airlines (SIA) customers are upset with a new booking feature that automatically includes travel insurance unless travellers opt out. Once payment is made, asking for a refund is tedious, said those who realised they were charged only after their bookings were confirmed. Mr George Lim who wrote to The Straits Times said that when he asked for a refund, he was told to contact the insurance company. "I protested as the payment was made to them (SIA)," said Mr Lim, who flies SIA twice a month. "I told them that if they don't get the refund for me, I will cancel all five tickets I purchased," he added. Mr Allen Tan, who was also caught off-guard, said in a letter to the Forum page: "While I understand that SIA needs to grow revenue, its senior management should work out proper ways of doing this, rather than slipping in surreptitious add-on charges such as this." In its reply to Mr Tan, SIA said that it encourages customers to buy insurance to safeguard their travel plans. The opt-in default was implemented last year in Singapore, Thailand and Hong Kong. "The inclusion of insurance is clearly displayed, the cost is reflected in the booking summary panel at the payment page, and customers can opt out if they do not wish to add the insurance to their booking," a spokesman said. Those who wish to cancel, even after payment is made, can do so. In such cases, refunds will be credited to the customer's credit card within 10 working days, he added. SIA said it will continue to review and refine its policies and practices to better serve its customers. The Consumers Association of Singapore (Case) frowns upon such practices, its executive director Loy York Jiun said. "It is common for consumers to overlook that such options have been checked or ticked for them as they complete the transaction...This can lead to additional charges for extra services or items which the consumers may not be aware that they are purchasing." Such options should be left unticked so that consumers have to consciously tick them if they wish to include them , he said. Those who have issues obtaining their refunds should approach Case for assistance, Mr Loy said. In Australia, Europe and the United States, consumer watchdogs had in the past warned airlines and other merchants from engaging in such practices. In 2016, Virgin Australia stopped the pre-selection of travel insurance on its online booking platform following discussions with the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission. In Asia, it is also rare for full-service carriers to include such features, observers said. This is not the first time SIA has upset some of its passengers. Related Story SIA U-turns on credit card fee for tickets issued in Singapore Just two weeks ago, the airline said it would impose a credit card fee on bookings made by some travellers departing from Singapore. The charge - 1.3 per cent of the total fare amount, capped at $50 - was to apply to those who buy its cheapest Economy Lite tickets, the airline said. A day later, SIA said, without giving any reasons, that it had decided not to go ahead with the credit card fee. SIA'S REPLY TO FORUM PAGE LETTER We refer to the letter "Grow your revenue, but do it fairly" published on 20 January 2018. Singapore Airlines encourages customers to take up travel insurance to safeguard their travel plans, and we refer to the benefits of insurance in our conditions of contract. The "opt-in" default was implemented in some markets, including Singapore, last year. The inclusion of insurance is clearly displayed, the cost is reflected in the booking summary panel at the payment page, and customers can opt out if they do not wish to add the insurance to their booking. Additionally, customers who have taken insurance but later change their mind may cancel the insurance without penalty prior to departure. In such cases, refunds will be credited to the customer's credit card within 10 working days. As with all measures that we implement, we will continue to review and refine our policies and practices to better serve our customers. We have also been in touch with Mr Tan to expedite the refund process given his experience. Campbell Wilson Senior Vice President Sales and Marketing Singapore Airlines Waitaminit....didn’t this AMDK used to be CEO of Scoot? Hmmm...kinda explains why SQ is acting like cheapo budget airline nowsadays 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 21, 2018 Share January 21, 2018 SQ used to be the number 1 airlines, then slowly dropped to number 2 and number 3 and hover around there. Looks like soon SQ will not be even in top 3 airlines Lao. What a waste.. Haiz.. Sometimes when one is at the top for too long and become blinded by thinking I am the prestige brand and start doing stupid or silly things that thinking customer will still support them coz we are number one airlines in the world. Where they don't realized that they are slowly dropping in rank. People do have patience and once patience limit had reached. That's it man. Sometimes it is also not about whether customer is right or wrong, sometimes its about system friendliness, convinence. If booking system is not friendly, refund is so tedious, how not to lose customers? Many times customer don't mind paying for slightly more or more experience product as long as it don't bother them too much. Meaning don't need to bother them to do little things of nonsense, don't bother them to waste time to chase refund and don't bother them to waste time navigate through unfriendly website design and etc. In this case SQ did not do a good job. Don't they realized that Nokia once is a dormant market and look at how Nokia doing now? Got lesson learn from Nokia, don't fall into the trap of being thinking I am a number one airlines. Now they should be thinking, I admit I am not not the number one airlines, I need to think of how to win customer back. By the way other airlines do does not mean SQ must do too. Why copy other people, if other people do things that pissed off people, SQ also want follow? Stupid right? Be creative and be one unique brand and not monkey see monkey do. So when we see the word.. "Other airlines also doing that" is equal to gone case Lao.. Why copy other airlines doing stupid things? Hmm.. To be honest, SQ products r pretty middle ground nowadays. Biz class - wide but stupidly uncomfortable as a lie flat seat. Regional biz class on A330 & 777-200s are obsolete n a ripoff. Economy- tried out their A350 recently. Sibei cramp, uncomfortable and my seat recliner jammed n handle wobbly like gonna break anytime liddat (plane less than 1-yr old...). And the rest of the fleet still don’t hv touchscreen n hv small, low res display screen. Don’t think I’ll bother w my KF Gold renewal this year. The competition has moved on n offer better product at a better price point Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 22, 2018 Share January 22, 2018 (edited) once upon a time KrisWorld the SQ entertaintment was the "top" in all airlines ... now ... i find Cathay entertaintment system is better than SQ Edited January 22, 2018 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 22, 2018 Share January 22, 2018 once upon a time KrisWorld the SQ entertaintment was the "top" in all airlines ... now ... i find Cathay entertaintment system is better than SQ Emirates ICE is the bestest i find Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 22, 2018 Share January 22, 2018 To be honest, SQ products r pretty middle ground nowadays. Biz class - wide but stupidly uncomfortable as a lie flat seat. Regional biz class on A330 & 777-200s are obsolete n a ripoff. Economy- tried out their A350 recently. Sibei cramp, uncomfortable and my seat recliner jammed n handle wobbly like gonna break anytime liddat (plane less than 1-yr old...). And the rest of the fleet still don’t hv touchscreen n hv small, low res display screen. Don’t think I’ll bother w my KF Gold renewal this year. The competition has moved on n offer better product at a better price point Must pay? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 22, 2018 Share January 22, 2018 once upon a time KrisWorld the SQ entertaintment was the "top" in all airlines ... now ... i find Cathay entertaintment system is better than SQ Anecdotal evidence from these forums suggests that Cathay always has massive delays. Better not take Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 22, 2018 Share January 22, 2018 (edited) Must pay? FOC but must accumulate 50,000 miles across the Star Alliance network per year Edited January 22, 2018 by Soya Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 22, 2018 Share January 22, 2018 FOC but must accumulate 50,000 miles across the Star Alliance network per year OIC. So you were deliberately taking Star Alliance flights to maintain that KF Gold? Ah gong's account or yours? I only have 14k KF miles - think they might even expire before I can afford to redeem something. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 22, 2018 Share January 22, 2018 OIC. So you were deliberately taking Star Alliance flights to maintain that KF Gold? Ah gong's account or yours? I only have 14k KF miles - think they might even expire before I can afford to redeem something. Mix lah. I pay ownself for biz class travel too. Star Alliance network not bad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 22, 2018 Share January 22, 2018 SQ biz class always got fringe benefit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged January 22, 2018 Share January 22, 2018 (edited) FOC but must accumulate 50,000 miles across the Star Alliance network per year bro time to change using other carrier membership. Per year only need to accumulate 24K miles (by A3). Also GOLD card member under the Star Alliance group Edited January 22, 2018 by Mcf777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 22, 2018 Share January 22, 2018 bro time to change using other carrier membership. Per year only need to accumulate 24K miles (by A3). Which one onli need 24k? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic January 22, 2018 Share January 22, 2018 OIC. So you were deliberately taking Star Alliance flights to maintain that KF Gold? Ah gong's account or yours? I only have 14k KF miles - think they might even expire before I can afford to redeem something. Can redeem a flight to Bali. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 22, 2018 Share January 22, 2018 Can redeem a flight to Bali. Can go there but can come back? Anyway, most of the time I choose the airline with the best schedule and decent price. I like redeye flights which don't waste my day but SQ flight timings are mostly lousy and also expensive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged January 22, 2018 Share January 22, 2018 Which one onli need 24k? A3 (Aegean Airlines) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 22, 2018 Share January 22, 2018 SQ biz class always got fringe benefit What kinda fringe benefit ah? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...