Singapore Airlines pricing error

Neutrino

What SIA can do now offer canned food for their business class passenger who bought the ticket at economy price and turn off the Krisworld along the journey.

All SIA girls to change with SIA imported Ah Gua from BKK

I'm assuming the $6615 is Australian dollars which is equivalent to S$7283??

If that is correct does it mean SIA sell Business Class return tickets from say Sydney to London for around the same price that they sell Business Class return tickets from Singapore to London??

The return journey is approx 8000 miles longer

Why is it we Singaporeans get STUNG by our own airline????

Becos they can.... we are so used to kena stung by own airline, own oil refineries, own garmen.... nothing new.

Last few years I have been flying non-SQ airlines for my own vacations, and from Cathay, Qantas, Emirates, ANA, they are all great! service same same as SQ but better food, and Emirates entertainment system has 200-300 shows to choose from. They are 20-30% cheaper than SQ of course.

Not just SQ, last time microsoft also pricing mistake for the office for $15-$20... Then they cancel all our order.

HP also went to court for not honoring pricing mistake for their laser printer, and won.

Not sure about the other cases but HP's case was because they managed to prove that the buyers knew that it was a mistake in pricing (they even had ICQ logs to prove it).

Becos they can.... we are so used to kena stung by own airline, own oil refineries, own garmen.... nothing new.

Last few years I have been flying non-SQ airlines for my own vacations, and from Cathay, Qantas, Emirates, ANA, they are all great! service same same as SQ but better food, and Emirates entertainment system has 200-300 shows to choose from. They are 20-30% cheaper than SQ of course.

just wondering...does other national airlines charge a higher premium for passengers originating from their country?

for example, cathay more ex for hk ppl, qantas more ex for ozzies etc?

i heard because from SG, u can fly direct to many places via SIA so we, who live in sg, pay a premium while elsewhere like ozzies, they have to transit...so logically, transit flights are cheaper and thats why local ppl here complain we pay more while angmo pays less...

Edited by Babyt

just wondering...does other national airlines charge a higher premium for passengers originating from their country?

for example, cathay more ex for hk ppl, qantas more ex for ozzies etc?

i heard because from SG, u can fly direct to many places via SIA so we, who live in sg, pay a premium while elsewhere like ozzies, they have to transit...so logically, transit flights are cheaper and thats why local ppl here complain we pay more while angmo pays less...

No sure about other countries/airlines but below is a fact (I just tried to compare). Almost double in price to fly out from Singapore.....

post-128138-0-24315500-1417791237_thumb.jpg

post-128138-0-96356200-1417791248_thumb.jpg

They will tell you it's supply and demand. [laugh]

Same thing for freight. Ocean freight is higher from Singapore to USA/China than the other way round.

It's due to trade imbalance.

In freight forwarding, certain routes you may even get FOC freight from freight forwarders. Some will give you $$$ to ship with them. :D

A lot of excuses will come out from ocean carriers when questioned. Simi expensive port charges in Singapore lah, this that, here there..... But we all know Singapore has one of the lowest pilotage cost for vessels calling or in transit Singapore port.

Like petrol cartels....

No sure about other countries/airlines but below is a fact (I just tried to compare). Almost double in price to fly out from Singapore.....

attachicon.gifCapture1.JPG

attachicon.gifCapture.2JPG.JPG

This is patriotic ma...

Trying to woo more tourists from China to Singapore with cheap affordable fare.....

... to recover the subsidy.... [knife]

. [laugh]

Bro,

15Dec SIN-PVG

vs

15Dec PVG-SIN

I think cannot compare in this way.

Even though same date. But starting from different destination.

It may be a peak period in Singapore. But not peak in China.

Don't forget, each country have their own quota of seats.

ALL National carrier departing from their own country are always more expensive than any other carriers. This is a fact.

Edited by Mcf777

Bro,

15Dec SIN-PVG

vs

15Dec PVG-SIN

I think cannot compare in this way.

Even though same date. But starting from different destination.

It may be a peak period in Singapore. But not peak in China.

Don't forget, each country have their own quota of seats.

ALL National carrier departing from their own country are always more expensive than any other carriers. This is a fact.

what.is the reason for that bro?

Very difficult to explain. There are too many types of prices.

In the SAME Economy class category, there are at least 8 different types of prices.

K,V,N,Q,H,E,B,Y

K is lowest category.

Y is the highest category.

And the prices differences between K to Y is about S$1400.

Even in FIRST or BUSINESS Class, they are also break up into many category.

First : F,R

Business : D,J,C,Z

Very difficult to explain. There are too many types of prices.

In the SAME Economy class category, there are at least 8 different types of prices.

K,V,N,Q,H,E,B,Y

K is lowest category.

Y is the highest category.

And the prices differences between K to Y is about S$1400.

Even in FIRST or BUSINESS Class, they are also break up into many category.

First : F,R

Business : D,J,C,Z

Good breakdown on classes bro.

But I think the question is why national carrier departing from their country of origin is more expensive than other carriers.

very simple ...

sq to shanghai ... direct flight

sq to seoul ... direct flight

sq to taipei ... direct flight

if take cathay pacific ... singapore to shanghai/seoul/taipei all must transit in hk

although the plane got enough fuel to reach the destination

spore will not allow cathay to fly direct and all must transit at "home country"

if fly to australia via cathay must fly up to hk transit and then fly down to australia .... does this make sense?

so national carrier depart from home country direct flight is always MORE EX because of this rule

anyway, all countries pratice this rule so it's a clear fight ...

Good breakdown on classes bro.

But I think the question is why national carrier departing from their country of origin is more expensive than other carriers.

very simple ...

sq to shanghai ... direct flight

sq to seoul ... direct flight

sq to taipei ... direct flight

if take cathay pacific ... singapore to shanghai/seoul/taipei all must transit in hk

although the plane got enough fuel to reach the destination

spore will not allow cathay to fly direct and all must transit at "home country"

if fly to australia via cathay must fly up to hk transit and then fly down to australia .... does this make sense?

so national carrier depart from home country direct flight is always MORE EX because of protection .... [thumbsdown]

Err... still doesn't make sense. If you talk about direct flight... then

SG -> Australia

Australia -> SG

should be the same price isn't it? Both are direct flights from same SQ carrier. There are at least 3 direct flights departing from Singapore to Sydney, Qantas, SQ and Emirates.

SG > Australia - depart home country ... price EX because of home turf ... this is not like BTO with special privillege for sporeans ... lol

Australia > SG - depart foreign country ... must sell cheap to steal business ...

yes it does not make sense but that is how it works

similarly, fly cathay hk > sg is more ex than sg > hk .... 1st to steal business (depart from foreign country) ... 2nd to lure people to go hk for holiday

Err... still doesn't make sense. If you talk about direct flight... then

SG -> Australia

Australia -> SG

should be the same price isn't it? Both are direct flights from same SQ carrier. There are at least 3 direct flights departing from Singapore to Sydney, Qantas, SQ and Emirates.

SG > Australia - depart home country ... price EX because of home turf ... this is not like BTO with special privillege for sporeans ... lol

Australia > SG - depart foreign country ... must sell cheap to steal business ...

yes it does not make sense but that is how it works

similarly, fly cathay hk > sg is more ex than sg > hk .... 1st to steal business (depart from foreign country) ... 2nd to lure people to go hk for holiday

I wanted to use HK and SG too but many carriers flying between these two places. Not a good comparison [laugh] [laugh]

Between CX and SQ, I will take SQ back to Singapore more because the in-flight entertainment is better [:p] And stewardess got more to see [sly]

I wanted to use HK and SG too but many carriers flying between these two places. Not a good comparison [laugh] [laugh]

Between CX and SQ, I will take SQ back to Singapore more because the in-flight entertainment is better [:p] And stewardess got more to see [sly]

I have stopped flying with SIA eons ago unless i don't have a choice.

They afterall created the PLEASE PUNISH SINGAPOREANS (PPS) loyalty program 😂😂😂