Spring Moderator December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 ok serious ah those little insurance one, please go buy insurance one of the cheapest is SAF one http://www.aviva.com.sg/life-and-health/for-individuals/SAF/overview.html spend a bit of money this type cannot save one Thks bro for the link! In the 70s to 80s, we not so lucky like now where NS man had this kind of Insurance tie up. However, I did buy one small AIA Financial Guardian in 1988 which mentioned that you just need to pay for 18 years and then the dividends accumulated would help to sustain the policy after that. Fast forward 18 years later and AIA say the dividend accumulated not enough as was only an illustration!! Anyway point taken on the need for proper planning and life insurance to protect the family!! ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 (edited) Just by term and medical insurance...take those with no give back or no accumulated value... normally it's cheaper... If you want to save , use other financial instruments. . Let insurance be insurance vanilla.. Edited December 4, 2014 by ShepherdPie 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 should be earlier than that like early 90s, late 90s more than $100K+. my 4rm resale was $350K in 1999 My 4rm bto bought in. 2003/4 was only $130K. Best thing is, it is left over unit unsold. Between application to keys collection is less than 3 months. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 My 4rm bto bought in. 2003/4 was only $130K. Best thing is, it is left over unit unsold. Between application to keys collection is less than 3 months. Jurong West? there are many left over at that time, walk in also can get the key and immediate move in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 bishan ? Clementi only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 Jurong West? there are many left over at that time, walk in also can get the key and immediate move in. Sengkang, but it is still under final phases of construction, surprising to get keys so quickly. Surprise as in no choice, got to tie the knot quickly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 should be earlier than that like early 90s, late 90s more than $100K+. my 4rm resale was $350K in 1999 1999 still so high meh?My 4NG $320k in 1996..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaronlkl Supersonic December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 Dear bros, I have a question here that needs some inputs.. Currently I have a 3 room bto that is waiting to be completed. Around 2017. Thinking of getting private condo which is of bigger size which is also completing around same time. Which one will be a better choice in the future? Any opinions or comments? U can't buy private property at this point of time. 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 1999 still so high meh? My 4NG $320k in 1996..... how come your units so pricey ah? I bought 4NG (90 sq m) in Bishan GRC in 1998 for $240+k. 14 year old flat. but no nearby mrt lah. but still direct bus to orchard and cdb. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 Thks bro for the link! In the 70s to 80s, we not so lucky like now where NS man had this kind of Insurance tie up. However, I did buy one small AIA Financial Guardian in 1988 which mentioned that you just need to pay for 18 years and then the dividends accumulated would help to sustain the policy after that. Fast forward 18 years later and AIA say the dividend accumulated not enough as was only an illustration illusion!! Anyway point taken on the need for proper planning and life insurance to protect the family!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 Haha bro!! 26 years later and I still paying!! this one not illusion hor 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 how come your units so pricey ah? I bought 4NG (90 sq m) in Bishan GRC in 1998 for $240+k. 14 year old flat. but no nearby mrt lah. but still direct bus to orchard and cdb. haiz... Key point is... 1996.Signed option 3 weeks before govt announced cooling measure. Consider to back off but will lose 5%. All time low was about $200k. Can't remember which year. But now, still can fetch $440k. Good thing is DTL station is next to my lift lobby. Price will hold. Hopefully. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 Haha bro!! 26 years later and I still paying!! this one not illusion hor Wow so you have been paying for 26 years and its still not enough to fund itself yet? Any illustration to know when will be the self funding estimated date? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 Wow so you have been paying for 26 years and its still not enough to fund itself yet? Any illustration to know when will be the self funding estimated date? The illustration said to pay for 18 years and I get covered till age 59. They projected a 6% return/div each year and if that was achieved, then the illustration would have been achievable. 6% return was possible in the late 80s but then came the 90s with one problem after the other ranging from Thai Baht crisis to Ringgit controls, recession, interest rate cuts etc so it never became a reality. AIA told me on year 18 then I could stop paying and they would use whatever return/div that was already accumulated to pay for a few years premium but it would definitely not last till I'm 59. Quick calculation shows that it would be wiser long term to continue paying despite the obvious grievance from me, so I did so and am still doing this today partly also cos I don't have much insurance so have to cling on to this. As some posters have mentioned, on hindsight I should have just paid for those term insurance which would have covered me with much lower premium. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 The illustration said to pay for 18 years and I get covered till age 59. They projected a 6% return/div each year and if that was achieved, then the illustration would have been achievable. 6% return was possible in the late 80s but then came the 90s with one problem after the other ranging from Thai Baht crisis to Ringgit controls, recession, interest rate cuts etc so it never became a reality. AIA told me on year 18 then I could stop paying and they would use whatever return/div that was already accumulated to pay for a few years premium but it would definitely not last till I'm 59. Quick calculation shows that it would be wiser long term to continue paying despite the obvious grievance from me, so I did so and am still doing this today partly also cos I don't have much insurance so have to cling on to this. As some posters have mentioned, on hindsight I should have just paid for those term insurance which would have covered me with much lower premium. Good post. I am out of points but you can be sure I will praise this post tomorrow. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 should be earlier than that like early 90s, late 90s more than $100K+. my 4rm resale was $350K in 1999 tanjong pager, toa payoh or bishan si boh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 Good post. I am out of points but you can be sure I will praise this post tomorrow. Thks bro but if your points can help me pay the premium, it would be better haha!! Seriously though, although abit OT as this thread meant for BTO vs Private, I hope TS can learn from my experience that all your meticulous planning and forecasts can go out of the window due to circumstances beyond our control and so prudence as advised by the many well intentioned posters here should be seriously considered, Good Luck to all 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 Thks bro but if your points can help me pay the premium, it would be better haha!! Seriously though, although abit OT as this thread meant for BTO vs Private, I hope TS can learn from my experience that all your meticulous planning and forecasts can go out of the window due to circumstances beyond our control and so prudence as advised by the many well intentioned posters here should be seriously considered, Good Luck to all That's the message I got too. Not to over extend and better to take the BTO and to be debt free sooner. I also fully agree on term and accident insurance and not to go for the investment linked life policies unless people have a lot of money to burn. ↡ Advertisement 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...