Bto vs private condo

Teatreeoil

Yeah, should bring it back. [laugh]

Have mocked up showrooms some more + live sample show flats on existing blocks. [thumbsup]

Got free town tour with "tour guide" when we were shopping for one in Jurong. :D

Last time the walk in selection was solid

Yeah, should bring it back. [laugh]

Have mocked up showrooms some more + live sample show flats on existing blocks. [thumbsup]

Got free town tour with "tour guide" when we were shopping for one in Jurong. :D

Mocked up showrooms are gd cos at least u can see how small/big the hse will be. Thats y i bought a resale flat for my 2nd time cos i prefer to see how the actual facings will be like.

should be earlier than that like early 90s, late 90s more than $100K+.

my 4rm resale was $350K in 1999 [bigcry][bigcry]

i think this is a good reminder that..

if the price is too expensive.. it will come down...

if the prices is too cheap.. it will go up.....

True, that ppl are making $$ from their 1999 property now.. but it took a painful 10 yrs.. before breakeven and another 2 yrs to profit , then 2 yrs to peak... :|

anyone who bought in 1999 and didnt manage to hold on... lost alot.. so buy something you can hold on to.. not oversketch yourself.

I wont be surprise , the next time you could sell your condo and see profit will be in 2025..... Good luck.

Edited by ShepherdPie

i think this is a good reminder that..

if the price is too expensive.. it will come down...

if the prices is too cheap.. it will go up.....

True, that ppl are making $$ from their 1999 property now.. but it took a painful 10 yrs.. before breakeven and another 2 yrs to profit , then 2 yrs to peak... :|

anyone who bought in 1999 and didnt manage to hold on... lost alot.. so buy something you can hold on to.. not oversketch yourself.

I would be surprise , the next time you could sell your condo and see profit will be in 2025..... Good luck.

You are right, i bought my property in mid 1999 cos they cut the price as it was the aftermath of the THB crisis, recession etc. 6 mths later, cut somemore till my neighbour got a bigger apartment for around the same price as my smaller unit.

For the next couple of years, prices were low and I was worried that the bank may call me to top up as my unit was now at close to 80% of my purchase price ie the full loan amount so no buffer for the bank. Fortunately, they did not.

Sold my place in 2012 (if I held on to 2013 would have easily gotten more).

But now I believe, it's lower but point taken that if you can't hold; you would have lost out.

I suppose in my case, it was my primary property so no choice had to hold anyway but do be careful as property has its downside despite all the ups of the last few years!

And dun believe the sales talk of agents who just want to transact, be it good or bad market. Good they say buy b4 it goes up further. When bad, they say price has fallen, better buy now if not missed opportunity. To them, they just need transactional volume to make their money. Their greatest fear is volume and not price.

If a sales agent and a snake head towards you with their mouth open, which one will you hit first? [lipsrsealed]

Last time during Walk In I jalan jalan around all the available units - see who is next door, how is block, what does it overlook etc etc.

Was lucky also - ours was a HDB "buy back" unit - so got to see inside before completing transaction.

Last time during Walk In I jalan jalan around all the available units - see who is next door, how is block, what does it overlook etc etc.

Was lucky also - ours was a HDB "buy back" unit - so got to see inside before completing transaction.

risky to buy "buy back" units

later kena hang pig head

Agreed. I went to view pte condo directly opposite sengkang mrt 3bedroom 893sqft. Low flr and she told me $1million is cheap. What crap? Somemore its a teeny mickey moused sized apt!

Edited by Luckydrawcar

risky to buy "buy back" units

later kena hang pig head

Was more worried about "bad Feng Shui"...

But it has treated us pretty well...plus my money plant keeps getting bigger and bigger

Agreed. I went to view pte condo directly opposite sengkang mrt 3bedroom 893sqft. Low flr and she told me $1million is cheap. What crap? Somemore its a teeny mickey moused sized apt!

Actually 893 sq ft if HDB still ok but trouble with Private is cos got huge balconey, air-con ledge

and in some cases, planter and bay window.

HDB gives max usable space whereas Private like to "chut pattern" with all these stunts of unusable

space so in the end 893 sq ft is really small and you pay more than double!!

Edited by Spring

Actually 893 sq ft if HDB still ok but trouble with Private is cos got huge balconey, air-con ledge

HDB gives max usable space whereas Private like to "chut pattern" with all these stunts of unusable

893sqft for hdb as a 4-rm flat in my opinion still relatively small. Decent sized 3-bedders shld at least be 1000sqft for hdb and 1100sqft for pte condos with either balcony or planters. And always avoid bay windows cos they r a waste of space unless u got super huge floor area.

My current 5-rm is 120sqm and i tell u its much more comfortable in terms of space but whenever my wife does the hsewrk she will complain. She finds it a bit too big. Lol

Edited by Luckydrawcar

Standard 4 rm HDB now is 90 sqm which is 968 sqft - of course that also includes bomb shelter,

Mind you again, bomb shelter doubles as a good pantry / storeroom so not exactly wasted

893sqft for hdb as a 4-rm flat in my opinion still relatively small. Decent sized 3-bedders shld at least be 1000sqft for hdb and 1100sqft for pte condos with either balcony or planters. And always avoid bay windows cos they r a waste of space unless u got super huge floor area.

893 sq ft (83 sq m) is last time 4room simplified flat size. I stayed in one of these before.

Yes it's abit small cos the storeroom is located in the kitchen so abit tight to put in a proper dining table but otherwise rooms and hall are reasonable.

Your 1000sqft/1100sqft for Hdb/Private is ideal but unfortunately even Hdb these days have cut

to 969 sq ft for 4 room flats I'm afraid.

Not too mention Private who are even more ridiculous [thumbsdown]

Standard 4 rm HDB now is 90 sqm which is 968 sqft - of course that also includes bomb shelter,

Mind you again, bomb shelter doubles as a good pantry / storeroom so not exactly wasted

Bomb shelter aka storeroom is fine.

It's the Bay windows/Planter that are the waste of space.

Can't even put in queen size bed into the bedroom until have to customise to use the bay window portion as part of the bed but you'll be sleeping right at the edge of a flat and if high floor even worse. Most people deckup the Planter but most times you cant even put a chair outside so becomes neither here nor there and becomes a place to dry clothes but you must get the narrower type of clothes hanger lol!!

Bomb shelter aka storeroom is fine.

It's the Bay windows/Planter that are the waste of space.

Can't even put in queen size bed into the bedroom until have to customise to use the bay window portion as part of the bed but you'll be sleeping right at the edge of a flat and if high floor even worse. Most people deckup the Planter but most times you cant even put a chair outside so becomes neither here nor there and becomes a place to dry clothes but you must get the narrower type of clothes hanger lol!!

Which goes to a larger issue -

It SHOULD be (but sadly isn't) that developer has to show you exact plans, including all measurements when you book a flat / condo.

Then you can make your own decision. Sadly, the showflat is not always very representative of the specific unit you may be booking

The fed announced they will not increase the interest rate for 1st quarter 2015 right? Or the whole of 2015?

My property agent keep saying that elections are coming better act fast and buy condo before cm are removed and prices will increase. 😂😂😂 seriously I think he is kidding.. 😂😂 how are elections related to property?

Which goes to a larger issue -

It SHOULD be (but sadly isn't) that developer has to show you exact plans, including all measurements when you book a flat / condo.

Then you can make your own decision. Sadly, the showflat is not always very representative of the specific unit you may be booking

I went to the showroom to look at the layout... Seems very spacious. But when I went into the constructed unit.. It doesn't really seems so.. I believe interior design plays an important role to magnify the area.. :)

If a sales agent and a snake head towards you with their mouth open, which one will you hit first? [lipsrsealed]

Agreed! Heard so many stories about agents.. What showrooms closed better buy fast as they are ready and confident of the next phase when it is actually just renovation.. What elections coming better buy fast before prices go up when almost every report says prices are going to drop soon.. 😓 need a cheque to snowball for prices when sellers are not even willing to nego.. Hiaz