Bto vs private condo

Teatreeoil

I nvr aspire to live in condo unless i can afford to own condo.

I have been living in my HDB for the past 10 yrs & i have NO outstanding mortgage now. DEBT FREE!! Nothing beats that.

Quality of life is dependant on individual.

Eh.....stay in condo oso can be debt free wat.

err ... sure la.. but Bro here has to top up at least 1.5k monthly for the next few decade leh... difficult to be debt free..unless something really big happens.

Edited by ShepherdPie

bto depend on luck.. good location big units needs lots and lots of luck.. smaller unit just lucky can liao... ha ha ha.

If getting a bto is dependent on luck, then the term build to order means what?

Bto is bto, you just have to be lucky to be able to place your order.

Edited by Coltplussport

So have I but I would rather live in HDB especially as the HDB we now live in was brand new when we moved and is super duper location for everything. Couldn't be better.

Used to use the Condo squash court but never the pool and nearest super market was a 15 minute drive.

Neighbours in Condo were mainly foreign and had no class even though it was a prime condo. Rubbish, dog poo and toddler and maid noise were all excessive.

Also lived in landed which I really liked but decided to downgrade now we are older.

Depends bah...I guess those mass condos may end up feeling like staying in HDB because one floor has many neighbors and when you go downstairs, you see hundreds of people. And for these, tenants can be more than owners

But if you are staying in those condo which has at most 100 units, then you probably only have 2-3 neighbours......much more quiet especially if owners themselves stay there.

However, like anything in life sometimes heng suay.......so as long one is happy where he lives, then it should be good enough regardless HDB, condo or landed. For me, it will be condo because I like the quietness and people can't come up to my unit anytime they like.

can mei? i thought you are supposed to sell hdb when buying private!

can, fulfil the 5 years MOP for your BTO, then you can buy pte without selling your private condo

If the condo location is inferior then ur bto location give it a miss.

If ur 1000 sqft condo have lot of bay window and planter u may want to calculate the useable space compare to ur bto unit

If ur buying a old leasehold project, price may not hold up well in the future.

Bto hdb has one of the best rental yield rate in the market.

If your child ask you should they get 1 scoop or 2 scoop

ice cream then obviously thell them 1 scoop lah.

Usually you don't have a choice and the kid wants 2 scoops.

If your child ask you should they get 1 scoop or 2 scoop

ice cream then obviously thell them 1 scoop lah.

Usually you don't have a choice and the kid wants 2 scoops.

if girl ask u squeeze 1 boob or 2 boob , which one you wan?

err, why does a guy buy 3rm bto when he has the means to buy condo.

I lagi puzzled. If he qualify to buy bto means combined income <$10k/mth.

But if combined income <$10k, can afford to buy 3 bedroom condo meh?

I lagi puzzled. If he qualify to buy bto means combined income <$10k/mth.

But if combined income <$10k, can afford to buy 3 bedroom condo meh?

can...why not? There are people who dares to take the risks....maybe he thinking of buying ec lar....a bit cheaper but in 5 yrs still a full-fledged condo.

can, fulfil the 5 years MOP for your BTO, then you can buy pte without selling your private condo

ok...thanks for the head up.

in the same project, maybe I agree , u can't get the choice units even when it's a lot lower. But recently , u notice that nearby project are launching at a lower price than prev launch.. so I am not so concern abt choice units .its more abt the right price ;)

if you really want a condo lifestyle.. buy a older resale... now the new condo... open space lesser , rooms also super small.. :(

personal choice , I opted for a old resale. FH for price preservation and good location for livability. :)

I endorse this post -

If is for "own stay" I would rather look see look see if the house design, the condo layout, and all else is what I want than buy from what are normally misleading plans

if girl ask u squeeze 1 boob or 2 boob , which one you wan?

I wouldn't cos later maybe kenna charged for molest.

Where got gal so good let you squeeze free one.

If have to pay to squeeze then I will ask got discount

if squeeze two or not? If no discount then squeeze one lah.

Why squeeze two? Both should feel the same right?

If one is bigger than the other then just squeeze the

bigger one lah if same price.

This also have to teach you. If you pay I will even

show you how to squeeze. As a lesbian I know how

a women feels and how to squeeze properly.

Edited by Jamesc

Mature estate 3 room bto income ceiling is 10k. So we are quite average. For the condo, we calculated is about 1.5k cash monthly...

Cos if we use cpf for the bto, then we will have insufficient funds for the second property. Cash outlay is almost impossible with the absd. If we buy the condo now, we will be able to settle the downpayment. The condo will have an additional room which can house my two kids.

With two kids I would be going for the biggest resale place that can find - five roomer in Punggol area I understand now $400+k

Other areas closer to town maybe 500+ can get...

I am a big big advocate of space over everything else when got kids.

Also - is good to keep cash on hand, rather than stretch stretch stretch - if possible, my goal would be to keep payments within CPF contribution...

Use and cash top-up you can afford for stock market investment

With two kids I would be going for the biggest resale place that can find - five roomer in Punggol area I understand now $400+k

Other areas closer to town maybe 500+ can get...

I am a big big advocate of space over everything else when got kids.

Also - is good to keep cash on hand, rather than stretch stretch stretch - if possible, my goal would be to keep payments within CPF contribution...

Use and cash top-up you can afford for stock market investment

5room HDB in eunos, aljunied 500k+ older but bigger. Private condo around these older estates also priced cheaper than those near ponggol sengkang area.

If got kids, then convenience is key.. Better have better accessibility to schools, malls, supermarket, wet market, coffee shops.

Those staying northeast with kids all competing for lesser numbers of schools.. Packed malls, packed expressway.

Many ppl for the face is willing to take the risk and alot end up losing when the interest went up. Known ppl who bankrupt during refinancing.