Anti Speeding - What would you consider to be "Success"?

Darryn

38 members have voted

1. 1. Under what conditions would you consider the campaign successful?

• The number of people caught goes up
    • The number of people caught goes down
    • The number of accidents goes down

The accident rate actually will go up.

Recently got a Toa Payoh Cop On Top incident.

the driver in front slowed down causing a ripple effect and a biker couldn't stop on time.

In normal driving, we focus on the traffic condition and look out for hazards.

When we approach a hot spot, our eyes will be concentrated looking on the bridge for Cop On Top & looking at the speedo rather then road hazard.

Even when traveling at speed limits, drivers will slow down further as a safety precaution.

One just have to travel with a non-so-experience driver in KPE and see how the driver react to driving.

Many feels stress when traveling along this expressway as one couldn't concentrate, process & react accordingly to situation.

I think accident rate goes up cuz in Singapore we don't have enough speed traps yet. Imagine if we have so many speed traps or they start using GPS to monitor our speeds such that it would be impossible to speed even for a few seconds. Everyone will just keep to the limit and no one will slow down due to speed traps anymore.

Edited by Nzy

I think accident rate goes up cuz in Singapore we don't have enough speed traps yet. Imagine if we have so many speed traps or they start using GPS to monitor our speeds such that it would be impossible to speed even for a few seconds. Everyone will just keep to the limit and no one will slow down due to speed traps anymore.

Exactly -

If you're not speeding you don't need to worry about speed traps...

Personally, I don't brake at camera sites - I have already slowed down (and if need be moved left)

Increase the speed limit lar.....confirm lesser drivers will be caught speeding! Maybe up all highway speed by 10km/hr! Most accidents happens at junctions and from what i know highways got no junction!

if speed traps & cameras were to be installed everywhere/anywhere..not many might dare to speed anymore..and Sinkapor definitely need more active enforcement around the island

TP themselves at times also speed lor. What campaign again?

The only time I have seen TP speed is with their lights on

I like UK methods of heavy fine for speeding. This will be deterrance to speedsters.

Let's say a heavy fine of $1000 min penalty for speed exceed 10km/h above speed limit, drivers will be caution of the offence. And TP should do regular speed trap in residential area more frequent.

This should keep all speedsters at bay

If the police were to run a highly visible, and well publicised "anti speeding campaign" that saw much more stringent enforcement, more cameras on the road, lesser allowance for over the limit, and more mobile patrols, what would you consider the best measure of success of the campaign?

I would consider it a success

if I didn't get caught.

Speed doesn't kill, reckless drivers and poor road/junction layout do....

Ask the Germans how come no speed limit on autobahn leh? Is there higher accident rate on autobahn?

I would rather the TP work harder to get rid of road hogs and speed up the expressway (and prevent daily economic losses) than to do the easy thing to install speed camera, and to review every single junction/exit to remove poor layouts/designs like PIE exit to Clementi Road.

Speed doesn't kill, reckless drivers and poor road/junction layout do....

Ask the Germans how come no speed limit on autobahn leh? Is there higher accident rate on autobahn?

I would rather the TP work harder to get rid of road hogs and speed up the expressway (and prevent daily economic losses) than to do the easy thing to install speed camera, and to review every single junction/exit to remove poor layouts/designs like PIE exit to Clementi Road.

ya...i also agree but higher speed limit maybe +10km/hr on highways for cars and goods vehicles to stay off labe 1 and 2! For residential and non hiways....the speed limit now is still ok.

A lot of people don't realize that its not the speeding that is the problem. Its the poor judgement and rude attitude of many Singapore drivers that cause accidents.

Example. SLE at 3am, no car in front of you straight visible road. you do 160km/hr, is it dangerous as long as you have a clear line of view?

Sadly I think it's a vicious cycle of things. The authorities clearly don't trust the populace enough that they can handle cars at high speeds, so impose such strict restrictions. That enforces the mentality into drivers here that "Singapore can't go fast anyway", so they only care about the speed at which they drive, rather than focusing on actual driving skills on the roads.

I've seen a taxi driver perform a sudden lane change across three lanes, right in front of a speed camera. Isn't it ironic that the camera can't capture something like that, but can catch someone doing 10km/h above the speed limit on an empty road?

The only time I have seen TP speed is with their lights on

Cannot be leh. At times when I was travelling on expressway at speed limit, TP bike w/o their blinking lights on would zoom past me. I am already on the speed limit. For them to zoom past me.....................................who is the one speeding???

Also along Lornie Rd, I am travelling at speed limit liao. Those LTA bike always zoom past me w/o their blinking lights on. Morning time ard 7 to 7.15am. You can see them coming out from Sin Ming on to Lornie. When u travel there often, u will know who is the king of the road there ard that timing.

Cannot be leh. At times when I was travelling on expressway at speed limit, TP bike w/o their blinking lights on would zoom past me. I am already on the speed limit. For them to zoom past me.....................................who is the one speeding???

Also along Lornie Rd, I am travelling at speed limit liao. Those LTA bike always zoom past me w/o their blinking lights on. Morning time ard 7 to 7.15am. You can see them coming out from Sin Ming on to Lornie. When u travel there often, u will know who is the king of the road there ard that timing.

That wan lta patrol guy late for breakfast lar......bike tank full full.....stomach tank empty.....thats why they on blinkers!

if many cant make sound judgement at 70, what more at 110?

if cant make sound judgement at 70.....the driver shouldnt even have a licence to start with!

Actually, most of the accidents that I was involved with has got nothing to do with speeding.

Basically, they are due to the other party:-

1) Lack of concentration maybe due to fiddling with hp

2) Judgement issue

Therefore, it is not conclusive to state that speeding causes accident.

But, having TP on overhead bridge does contribute to accident.

They just catch people speeding cuz its the easiest. If enforcement is so strict that no one speeds at all, then everyone will just drive at the speed limit. No one will have to keep changing lane to overtake the drivers who decide to follow the speed limit since everyone is travelling at the speed limit already. No point tailgating also cuz everyone is at the speed limit already. Lol.

So isn't it the easiest way out for the TP if they are able to ensure that everyone just travels at the speed limit. Number of people who dare to speed will drop so number of people swerving in and out of lanes to overtake "slower" drivers travelling at the speed limit will be reduced. Number of tailgaters will also be reduced since in this kind of situation, no one will be able to overtake anyway since all already at the speed limit.

if cant make sound judgement at 70.....the driver shouldnt even have a licence to start with!

Only problem is that our TP test only test up to 70km/h. In fact the driver can pass even if don't drive up to 70km/h. So some of them have never driven above 70km/h at all and if in the family they are the only one with a license, its hard to help them learn how to drive faster.

Edited by Nzy