StefanK Supercharged November 28, 2014 Share November 28, 2014 For my years I already knew limits are 80km/hr after jurong area. No chance to appeal as every slip road to the AYE have speed limit sign. Unless you can spot one slip road that didn't have and no sign along the way until you are candid by the camera. I think the Tuas old birds like us will instinctively slow down at these roads. My interest is more in the new cameras and the distances it starts "shooting". Tio warning is very lucky liao. Remember, 3 strikes and you're out! ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged November 28, 2014 Share November 28, 2014 it is not as straightforward as having nothing to fear if we don't speed because:- 1) speeding in such case is defined by authorities to be above the speed they mandated yet most of us agrees the maximum is set artificially low. hence while we subconsciously drive at a speed we don't consciously know we are speeding, we may yet be punished for it 2) driving is part of our daily life. its mundane yet occurs with such regularity that we don't think much of it . it is like our daily activity like peeing, we just make sure we go to the toilet bowl, take initial aim and mind goes into low awareness mode. admittedly as drivers we are supposed to exercise much higher level of awareness but our awareness typically extends only to ensure we are looking out for dangers rather than incessant glancing of the speedometer and speed limit signages, which in fact, counters subtle efforts of our mind to drive safely. if it was not a mundane day-to-day activity, like say, exams or competititons, I would have agreed we will be able to raise our awareness to follow the rules 100% because such activity, unlike driving, take place less regularly and are high impact high intensity events. How can a driver not know how fast he is going? I don't even need to look at my speedometer and I can roughly tell if I am going to go above the limit or not. Anyway supposed to check speedometer once in a while. No need to keep looking out for speed limit signs. Not sure of the speed limit, just go at 80km/h on expressway and 50km/h for normal roads and sure won't get caught for speeding. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged November 28, 2014 Share November 28, 2014 Whether the speed is 80 90 or 100. When u see overhead pedestrian bridge or raining shelter area, u must slow down. Dont kaka chiong..... And must be alert when u speed...look at all angles. North south east west.. With this practise, not easy to get summon. Unless by unmark mata car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ictruall 5th Gear November 28, 2014 Share November 28, 2014 it is not as straightforward as having nothing to fear if we don't speed because:- 1) speeding in such case is defined by authorities to be above the speed they mandated yet most of us agrees the maximum is set artificially low. hence while we subconsciously drive at a speed we don't consciously know we are speeding, we may yet be punished for it 2) driving is part of our daily life. its mundane yet occurs with such regularity that we don't think much of it . it is like our daily activity like peeing, we just make sure we go to the toilet bowl, take initial aim and mind goes into low awareness mode. admittedly as drivers we are supposed to exercise much higher level of awareness but our awareness typically extends only to ensure we are looking out for dangers rather than incessant glancing of the speedometer and speed limit signages, which in fact, counters subtle efforts of our mind to drive safely. if it was not a mundane day-to-day activity, like say, exams or competititons, I would have agreed we will be able to raise our awareness to follow the rules 100% because such activity, unlike driving, take place less regularly and are high impact high intensity events. perhaps you may be right,........but as you may understand and like many other things in life, be it work and so on or driving on the roads, the fact is we do not make the rules and somebody has to...unfortunate as it may be, the level has been decided. on a personal note, I would also be a happier driver if the limits on some roads were to be pushed just a little higher but hey who am I to say, I don't make these decisions....I just need to live by them. not trying to be funny at all and I say this with absolute sincerity,....I find it truly quite amusing that you chose to compare driving with peeing.. for one thing if I may, one pees into a bowl and that's more or less about .... but driving does not only concern a person or a person's own safety...there are many others on the roads and their safety including one's makes the bigger picture....even the flick of an indicator tells a whole lot and receives a whole lot...but sadly enough many do fail to understand. speed limits on motorways do take into consideration the local driving habits. you may have noticed, far too many drivers do not keep the best of distance from the car ahead just so to not allow another car to come in front of them. If you think about it, a lower speed limit does manage this situation to a certain extent that when an accident does unfortunately come about, it's likely to be less serious. drive safely and have a great weekend ! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 28, 2014 Share November 28, 2014 (edited) Why some ppl sound so surprised? It's almost a daily thing TP station on the bridges. The 80 speed limit is there for goodness sake. I even know how to spot their police van parked at either side of the bus stop. The van is easier to spot dan the hiding TP. LoL... Dun say assume lah. It's better to know the common hotspots....and watch out for police vans parked at nearby bus stops. When commercial vehicles guai guai keep to the left you will also know. Edited November 28, 2014 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged November 28, 2014 Share November 28, 2014 (edited) How can a driver not know how fast he is going? I don't even need to look at my speedometer and I can roughly tell if I am going to go above the limit or not. Anyway supposed to check speedometer once in a while. No need to keep looking out for speed limit signs. Not sure of the speed limit, just go at 80km/h on expressway and 50km/h for normal roads and sure won't get caught for speeding. thanks for trying to counter argue but it is off the mark if you omit other part of my argument on artificially low speed limits, mundane low impact recurring event. everything can be seemingly be justified with erring on the side of caution but yet there will never be any meaningful exchange of points from such a cited reason. because it is always generally correct but doesn't take effort to address the specific part of the argument Edited November 28, 2014 by Acemundo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ictruall 5th Gear November 28, 2014 Share November 28, 2014 Whether the speed is 80 90 or 100. When u see overhead pedestrian bridge or raining shelter area, u must slow down. Dont kaka chiong..... And must be alert when u speed...look at all angles. North south east west.. With this practise, not easy to get summon. Unless by unmark mata car I think you got your protocols absolutely spot on... ...this type of thing cannot tiki Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged November 28, 2014 Share November 28, 2014 for one thing if I may, one pees into a bowl and that's more or less about .... but driving does not only concern a person or a person's own safety...there are many others on the roads and their safety including one's makes the bigger picture....even the flick of an indicator tells a whole lot and receives a whole lot...but sadly enough many do fail to understand. speed limits on motorways do take into consideration the local driving habits. you may have noticed, far too many drivers do not keep the best of distance from the car ahead just so to not allow another car to come in front of them. If you think about it, a lower speed limit does manage this situation to a certain extent that when an accident does unfortunately come about, it's likely to be less serious. drive safely and have a great weekend ! it was more of a tongue-in-cheek yet it is not entirely far off from switching on to brain auto pilot mode, if you get the drift. I wouldn't have any grumble if their enforcement method suggest they are not applying their interpretation of speed limit in a dogmatic and rigid manner. a one-size-fits-all approach is not going to be the best when it comes to enforcement. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged November 28, 2014 Share November 28, 2014 thanks for trying to counter argue but it is off the mark if you omit other part of my argument on artificially low speed limits, mundane low impact recurring event. everything can be seemingly be justified with erring on the side of caution but yet there will never be any meaningful exchange of points from such a cited reason. How you determine that the speeds are artificially low? Your own opinion? There has to be a limit set which people can follow. To some people the speed limit of 70km/h on some roads is fast already. When I drive at the speed limit on sg roads, I feel comfortable, not too slow but then my mum when she sits beside me will comment why drive so fast. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged November 28, 2014 Share November 28, 2014 How you determine that the speeds are artificially low? Your own opinion? There has to be a limit set which people can follow. To some people the speed limit of 70km/h on some roads is fast already. When I drive at the speed limit on sg roads, I feel comfortable, not too slow but then my mum when she sits beside me will comment why drive so fast. it will vary across cars, roads and drivers unfortunately. but generally one person is not a good gauge. I speak at the back of hearing feedbacks by majority of drivers I know...anyhow if your point is current speed limit is artificially, I would have agreed to disagree and comment further. but your addressing arguments partially is misleading the audience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
youpapalite 3rd Gear November 28, 2014 Share November 28, 2014 I think recently got operation.Yesterday 27/11/2014 1) 9:30am, was waiting in my car for someone. Not blocking anyone, standard hazard light on. Just nice my friend call me say meet at another area. When the call ended, saw this LTA officer getting out of the bike walking towards my car. Off my hazard light, signal right and drove off. From my rear view mirror, saw the LTA officer walked back to his bike and drove off (probably no time take photo) 2) 10:00am. Got pulled over by LTA to check my car. Nothing illegal. Showed them my tint % with the warranty card. and the rest of the cert. Let me off after 10 minutes of 'arguing'. 3) 10:20am. Driving towards lornie towards commonwealth, overhead bridge got 1 traffic police pointing camera (no wonder everyone brake lights on). Lucky noticed this from far so slowed down already. 4) 10:35am. Near Singapore poly, got 1 TP/LTA/Dk what branch cannot really see the uniform. taking photo of cars stopping in bus stop (not bus lane timing).All this in 1 day (less than 2 hours apart). Bought toto but no luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged November 28, 2014 Share November 28, 2014 it will vary across cars, roads and drivers unfortunately. but generally one person is not a good gauge. I speak at the back of hearing feedbacks by majority of drivers I know...anyhow if your point is current speed limit is artificially, I would have agreed to disagree and comment further. but your addressing arguments partially is misleading the audience. I was just giving an example. I know of many people who feel the speed limit is fine, too slow or too fast. But then they can't cater to everyone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic November 28, 2014 Share November 28, 2014 Wah kenna disliked by anonymous. Tp hiding online also? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear November 28, 2014 Share November 28, 2014 I think the Tuas old birds like us will instinctively slow down at these roads. My interest is more in the new cameras and the distances it starts "shooting". Tio warning is very lucky liao. Remember, 3 strikes and you're out! Another Tuas old bird. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged November 28, 2014 Share November 28, 2014 Whether the speed is 80 90 or 100. When u see overhead pedestrian bridge or raining shelter area, u must slow down. Dont kaka chiong..... And must be alert when u speed...look at all angles. North south east west.. With this practise, not easy to get summon. Unless by unmark mata car Unmarked mata chia is White Toyota Vios & White Honda City. Seen a few times liao. Anyway, day time I very very seldom can go above 100km/h on expressways. Traffic too heavy and too many hoggers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged November 28, 2014 Share November 28, 2014 Why some ppl sound so surprised? It's almost a daily thing TP station on the bridges. The 80 speed limit is there for goodness sake. I even know how to spot their police van parked at either side of the bus stop. The van is easier to spot dan the hiding TP. LoL... Dun say assume lah. It's better to know the common hotspots....and watch out for police vans parked at nearby bus stops. When commercial vehicles guai guai keep to the left you will also know. For seasoned drivers or those who are on the roads fairly frequent, the ways we spot speed traps or hazards are cars across all the lanes braking almost at the same time, cars in lane 1 and lane 2 braking to slow down, sudden 'mass lane changes' from one lane. If all the heavy vehicles seem to be very obedient, either TP just passed them or TP already spotted in front of them. For overhead bridges with bus stops in close proximity (i.e. most of the overhead bridges at AYE (Jurong), we know where to look for 'suspicious vehicles parked along the bus bay and we know we have to slow down or we just keep 2nd lane until all coasts are clear or we let one daredevil chiong in front of us. These are things I see being done among the older birds, but definitely not in the younger drivers. Another Tuas old bird. not as old as you all but old enough Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear November 28, 2014 Share November 28, 2014 (edited) The other day, towards clementi from Holland... passing Jelita near the military police base camp, sniper overhead. Think it is 60 kmh. I think I kena. To all drivers taking AYE towards TUAS: Speed limit isn't at 90km/h throughout the entire expressway! I learnt it the hard way after I was slapped with a fine for driving at 95km/h on the stretch of AYE (around Pioneer area) a few weeks back. It was stated on the slip that the speed limit was only 80km/h. I have driven along that stretch many times and especially after the toll increase at our beloved causeway, I've decided to use TUAS instead since the difference isn't much now. And every single time I would assume that the speed limit is 90km/h. I've always wondered why this was the case and I went back onto the same stretch of AYE and found out that there is actually NO speed limit signage, saying the speed limit is 80km/h, displayed after Corporation Road (next exit after Jurong Town Hall). So naturally it is to be assumed that the speed limit is 90km/h since it is prominently displayed (especially for the speed camera after Kent ridge) all the way up till Jurong area on the AYE. And ALWAYS ALWAYS look out for white uniform men on top of overhead bridges! On my 'investigation trip', I saw one of them with a speed camera on the overhead bridge. They are all out to hunt now. Drive safe and hope this piece of information helps. Edited November 28, 2014 by Achtung Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic November 28, 2014 Share November 28, 2014 Until kenna snap by the new cams lo. I never had a tp samman over 10yrs liao until last week. Pui! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...