Spinelli_ck 6th Gear November 27, 2014 Share November 27, 2014 My company gives $1400 per month for car allowance which is inclusive of $200 petrol allowance. Still can claim ERP and other business related parking charges. sounds like a big US storage company. the rates are unmatched by other principals in the IT industry. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged November 27, 2014 Share November 27, 2014 Some companies only give 500 to1k for transport allowance, can you afford to buy a car just for the sales job? Or u may switch line? Currently got offered a sales job with 1k transport allowance. After calculation I think it need at least 1.5k in order to own a car now. Now really don't know what t do Why do u need to buy a car, just for this sales job? if you only last one year in this job, then what happen? U sell yr car away? Just take cab and whatever first lah........ with cab apps these days, its alot easier to get a cab. and you save on the headache of finding car park, scared kena summon, ERPs, tax, tire puncture, engine breakdown, maintenance...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged November 27, 2014 Share November 27, 2014 Ride bike lor 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged November 27, 2014 Share November 27, 2014 Car allowance, mobile phone subscription allowance are considered income and it has to reflect in our annual IR8A and its taxable. This is because it is also reflected in your monthlty pay slips. I do not know if any company has a way to "go around" it to determine it as petty cash for "transport reimbursement". why need to go around it just negotiate for additional amount to account for additional tax lor 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged November 27, 2014 Share November 27, 2014 Wow, really. Where to find this type of job? What are the qualifications needed? If the pay so high, wonder why our poly and univ don't have a course in this field. Enrolment sure to be full... Can one drink, entertain, speaks well and work with people of all levels? Depending on the nature of the jobs, some former gangster or very streetsmart will do the job better than one with a cert. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator November 27, 2014 Share November 27, 2014 just called up a car rental company to check on the price. really not worth it. they said for rental 5 working days count as 4 days only. need to return on Fri morning unless take whole week. roughly 1.5k per mth . crazy bo What type of vehicle are you looking for? Small vehicles range from $900 to $1,200. $900 is probably for Chevrolet Aveo that sort but of cos you gotta check the leasing coverage etc. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 27, 2014 Share November 27, 2014 Bunkering is dirty industry , o level grad can make 30-60k per month or more cheating. 1 year dunno how many people go cpib drink kopi and lock up. But those were the old days, not sure about now. http://xin.msn.com/en-sg/news/other/singapore-shipping-fuel-scandal-sends-traders-scrambling/ar-AA6X58L Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged November 27, 2014 Share November 27, 2014 if lease for 20 days. do you know roughly how much? no car leasing company will lease you for 20 days (working days lease only) per month. the administrative hassle is too much and they might as well charge you rental rates rather than lease rates which is considerably higher. leasing is never cheaper. logic is that the car lessors are assumed to have done their calculation, they can't be subsidising you for your ride. the only advantage is that it helps you get over the borrowing restrictions, your maintenance issues are taken care off and you have more choices of rides. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged November 27, 2014 Share November 27, 2014 just called up a car rental company to check on the price. really not worth it. they said for rental 5 working days count as 4 days only. need to return on Fri morning unless take whole week. roughly 1.5k per mth . crazy bo bro, there is a difference between leasing and renting where cars are concerned. the former is a longer term contract and usually in blocks of months or years. the latter are usually transacted in blocks of days up to weeks at most. this will always be very expensive as you might know, purchase in smaller denominations is always more costly than purchase made in bigger denominations. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear November 27, 2014 Share November 27, 2014 Wah Damienic - your Company dealing with what products? any more vacancies for Sales Persons? soli I dun wear skirt :p Recently got one vacancy filled. No more liao after this. Company selling B&B food-related materials. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged November 27, 2014 Share November 27, 2014 bro, there is a difference between leasing and renting where cars are concerned. the former is a longer term contract and usually in blocks of months or years. the latter are usually transacted in blocks of days up to weeks at most. this will always be very expensive as you might know, purchase in smaller denominations is always more costly than purchase made in bigger denominations. Some workshops keep a fleet of old but decent cars as their courtesy cars for customers' use when the latter send their cars in for repairs which last a few days. These cars are generally in workable conditions as workshops know good ones and 'collect' them for such use. Maybe these workshops will also rent it our (perhaps not legally as a rental car) if you know the boss well and negotiate a win win rental rate? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged November 27, 2014 Share November 27, 2014 I agree with Watwheels comments. There is no Market price for car allowance bcz its up the nature of the business of each company. $1400-$1600 level you probably use your car alot and clock high mileage/mth. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic November 27, 2014 Share November 27, 2014 I agree. Most sales don't need car one unless you need to cart around loads of samples, which in this instance, your company should have the basic humanilty to provide you with at least a company van/station wagon. A private car is for private use and in Singapore to show off a bit lah. I prefer to have my own car, drive to work, park there and drive home after pang kang, rather than use my private car run all around Singapore. salesman must drive car? wont cab be a more viable option? dont have to think of where to park and where is the cheapest to park. quick in quick out.. even calling for cab in the day is easier also right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged November 27, 2014 Share November 27, 2014 Allowances where got need CPF contribution one?? nevertheless, higher basic > basic + allowances. Fixed allowances are CPF-able. Reimbursement is not CPF-able Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged November 27, 2014 Share November 27, 2014 Depending on nature of the business, what you have to carry, where you have to go, and how you have to present yourself, Can also consider bike or van Can also consider combination of public and taxi. Transport allowance in my mind is not to buy a car, but is to allow you to get around efficiently to see as many clients as possible. You will, no doubt, have a combination of sales targets and appts that must hit, So long as you are doing this, I wouldn't care how you spend transport allowance (you can take public and pocket the money for all I care) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johnwalk 1st Gear November 27, 2014 Author Share November 27, 2014 I agree. Most sales don't need car one unless you need to cart around loads of samples, which in this instance, your company should have the basic humanilty to provide you with at least a company van/station wagon. A private car is for private use and in Singapore to show off a bit lah. I prefer to have my own car, drive to work, park there and drive home after pang kang, rather than use my private car run all around Singapore. Bro, most sales job do need car, just go to jobstreet and take a look. They expect you to send samples like you mentioned. Sometimes urgent delivery, meet up customers and getting new leads. I am wondering those that work in Tuas if pay is less than 4k and when their COE due how are they going to afford another car. If they intend to buy a 2 yrs car and after 2 yrs the cycle repeat again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic November 27, 2014 Share November 27, 2014 (edited) I have sales people in my company carless, and they are no less productive than those with car. In fact, they prefer carless as no parking headaches. They need to give samples and what nots too. They use mainly cabs with some public transports in between too. Bro, most sales job do need car, just go to jobstreet and take a look. They expect you to send samples like you mentioned. Sometimes urgent delivery, meet up customers and getting new leads. I am wondering those that work in Tuas if pay is less than 4k and when their COE due how are they going to afford another car. If they intend to buy a 2 yrs car and after 2 yrs the cycle repeat again. Edited November 27, 2014 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged November 27, 2014 Share November 27, 2014 (edited) I agree with Watwheels comments. There is no Market price for car allowance bcz its up the nature of the business of each company. $1400-$1600 level you probably use your car alot and clock high mileage/mth. Many jobs i had before used "mileage claims"... quite lehchey but i devised a system for claim submission every month --- i preprinted the form with regular destinations already captured (meetings, site visits, etc), with space to tick the number of visits made at these destinations. Since the claim amounts can be standardised depending on the fixed/specific distance from office (as base) to places of these appointments, it's very convenient just to tick and tick. Not suitable if the places you visit vary a lot or are adhoc. Best is one job provided me with a petrol card, i just pumped as and when i needed to. Needless to say i straight away upgraded my car to a 3litres high FC one coz the company card settled everything!! The other extreme was a job that didnt even provide season parking at the office!! So i would try have meeting outsides whole days (thus claim parking for meetings) and only returned to office (in CBD) late in the day to use those car parks which were free after 5pm... had to walk quite far from these car parks to office though. When boss went overseas, at least he passed his season lot to me... sometimes he passed to another colleague. Edited November 27, 2014 by Super7 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...