Drive safe - Accident caught on video

Kurty

Hi Kurty, before the Oddy passes you, were you aware of the Oddy approaching from the rear ?

Imagine a vehicle in front of you, really cannot see the Oddy approaching and started changing lane. It would likely be rear-ended by the Oddy.

Nevertheless, a lot of praizes for your civic-mindness to provide your video, so that the truth and justice prevails.

Actually I wasn't paying too much attention too..

In the car, was my wife, myself and my good pal.

We were chatting and laughing most of the time.

Then the accident happen..

Haha, thanks for the kind words.

You never know when one day, I too, may need help Hence karma work in a vicious cycle.

put LDs better, bigger surface area [:p]

LOL

But LDs too big, right? Good for use as privacy covers in dark car park hot in-car actions :-)

Edited by Super7

Just another note -

had the Oddy swerved RIGHT instead of left, could probably have gone around the taxi...

Easy to be wise after the fact but...his awareness also not good in that sense. After seeing the first car turn, Oddy should have been covering brakes, brake hard, swing right, would have been ok. (I have done this before, to a car turning right in front of me, I e-brake, then go round him to the right - that time no ABS, so after lock-up must release and then swerve, must admit I was also speeding - young and stupid)

P-plate driver i think

Those without light on inside multi-storey carpark also need to be shot. And that including daytime.

I ever encounter one taxi he switched off his headlights the moment he reaches the mscp. Wtf rite?

Just another note -

had the Oddy swerved RIGHT instead of left, could probably have gone around the taxi...

Easy to be wise after the fact but...his awareness also not good in that sense. After seeing the first car turn, Oddy should have been covering brakes, brake hard, swing right, would have been ok. (I have done this before, to a car turning right in front of me, I e-brake, then go round him to the right - that time no ABS, so after lock-up must release and then swerve, must admit I was also speeding - young and stupid)

I turned the same way as the Oddy driver and escaped.

My video here : http://youtu.be/qqPPMkrXYtQ

I think depends on luck also. If you swerve left and the guy stops then you'll go past but if you swerve left and the guy never stop then still hit.

The best is probably to cover the brake when going through a junction.

Those without light on inside multi-storey carpark also need to be shot. And that including daytime.

I think headlight very important in MSCP during daytime. Alot of drivers don't realise that. At night, most MSCP very brightly lit so not so bad. In the day when there are no lights on in the MSCP and MSCP ceilings all so low, Amount of light entering is very little so its really dark in the day.

Seeing cars without head-light on during night time is as common as seeing heavy vehicle driving above speed limit.

For those of you who think you want to save some money by not turning on your head-light, please stop driving.

just as those who turn off their headlight once driving into a MSCP...

soon you will kanna comments like...

wah you never slow down approaching a junction....

wah you are speeding....

wah this wah that....

Bro , not saying its your fault , but you are driving too fast approaching a junction . Can see a pedestrian also siam at end of video .

soon you will kanna comments like...

wah you never slow down approaching a junction....

Haha, I posted when you are typing yours .

Bro , not saying its your fault , but you are driving too fast approaching a junction . Can see a pedestrian also siam at end of video .

the pedestrian deserves it even kanna hit lah.. walking on the road knn...

i turn off sound recording for the DVR for privacy purposes

would video without sound be less valid as evidence?

i turn off sound recording for the DVR for privacy purposes

would video without sound be less valid as evidence?

sound would be more helpful in cases where you get side swiped or rear ended. at least got the metal sound.

or it could help boost your defence (you horned but the bugger still turned out, etc)

I put a few CDs to reflect headlights from other cars as my "awareness" lights for other drivers to see my car is there!!! Very environmentally friendly. Learned from old uncle cyclists in Chinatown.

Thats surely ECO friendly....haha

U rushing to toilet huh !! Drive so fast for what ? [sweatdrop]

lol this reminds me of the time i was in suntec's basement carpark and i was turning out from one of the smaller roads onto the "main road (2-way traffic)" in the carpark.

took a quick look and was halfway through my right turn when i had to jam brake when i realised i didnt spot this grey swift with his lights off driving from my left to right. so i waved an apology and commented to my gf:

"dark grey car, lowly lit environment.. ppl can see his car meh"

and the moment i said it, a merc from the next smaller road almost T-boned the swift like how i did. [laugh]

and no he still didn't turn his lights on after that.. so i guess he hasn't learnt his lesson yet

Exactly, black car without light at night and grey car without light in mscp is the same killer combo. Mscp a lot of walls blocking view when turning, why would anyone not switch on their headlight.

Edited by Coltplussport

There have been quite a few accidents at this particular junction. Cars coming down the slope go a little faster, while the long queue to turn towards Hillview cause the drivers to be more impatient and take risks.

Nice video tour of the neighbourhood centre that I frequent! Kurty must have just finished dinner at one of the 2 food courts!