Lala81 Hypersonic December 1, 2014 Share December 1, 2014 When Amri scored that equaliser, you have to be in the national stadium to feel the energy and madness. The 2 ang mo seated in front of me were taking video all rounds. My son and I had a great evening. It would have been even better if we had won or draw the match. I've only watched singapore live once before. Also Tiger cup years ago. I have to say really for 1 minute, everyone just went wild. Dam shiok! Football is like that right? Lose and finger pointing starts, win and the Coach is a genius, players played with their hearts on their sleeve etc. S'pore team too used to Raddy's tactics and when Stange came in, it was a revolutionary change. He wanted a pressing, high tempo game which is alien to us. To be fair, this is how modern football is played but whether we have the players to do it is another matter. To play the pressing game you need fitness and a change in mindset which includes diet etc. Will our players welcome it? I'm not sure. Do we continue to perservere with this tactic or discard it and go back to the basic, tried and trusted way we have been used to. A lot of questions and FAS has to get it right especially if they want to start filling up seats in our new Stadium as nothing beats a successful National Football Team!! Fitness is relative. I don't think the malaysians are fitter than us. In all fairness, the game was a 1-1. No team deserved to win. To reach that level of fitness, u need a very coordinated effort all the way from when a player is 13-14. Live right, eat well, and very specific targeted training to improve all levels of fitness. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic December 1, 2014 Share December 1, 2014 (edited) Damn...i miss the shout...kek...karipop....drinks.....! And the karipops sold outside the stadium especially at the overhead bridge was fresh as they come. cakes...karipop....popiah....drinks! I've only watched singapore live once before. Also Tiger cup years ago. I have to say really for 1 minute, everyone just went wild. Dam shiok! Fitness is relative. I don't think the malaysians are fitter than us. In all fairness, the game was a 1-1. No team deserved to win. To reach that level of fitness, u need a very coordinated effort all the way from when a player is 13-14. Live right, eat well, and very specific targeted training to improve all levels of fitness. i think the whole of SG would love a draw.....hahaha! Edited December 1, 2014 by Eviilusion 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 1, 2014 Share December 1, 2014 hee.....I kind of agree with you although I must confess I don't follow their exploits that closely. but I can offer 2 opposing points of view 1) some managers believe there is a best way to play or is it his best way for his team to play. but really things aren't so straightforward. a style of playing that cannot be carried out by your own players means there's effectiveness lost somewhere out there which may set the team back more. example LVG tried to change the formation for Man U after he took over. but the results have not been encouraging and he reverted to a formation with slightly more resemblance to the one his man u players have been used to. 2) it is also not going to improve things if the managers decides the strategy completely basing on his current players' skills. furthermore, this mindset is very self-limiting and very much looking at maintaining close to status quo. a case to point is the arsenal team after the likes of viera have departed. I do want to say, where 1) on football club team is concerned, it is still possible to achieve it by buying the rights players (like Chelsea this season). But where national team is concerned,it not possible to buy players and made even harder if the talent pool of players is small. Football is like that right? Lose and finger pointing starts, win and the Coach is a genius, players played with their hearts on their sleeve etc. S'pore team too used to Raddy's tactics and when Stange came in, it was a revolutionary change. He wanted a pressing, high tempo game which is alien to us. To be fair, this is how modern football is played but whether we have the players to do it is another matter. To play the pressing game you need fitness and a change in mindset which includes diet etc. Will our players welcome it? I'm not sure. Do we continue to perservere with this tactic or discard it and go back to the basic, tried and trusted way we have been used to. A lot of questions and FAS has to get it right especially if they want to start filling up seats in our new Stadium as nothing beats a successful National Football Team!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged December 1, 2014 Share December 1, 2014 saw a headline that players are revolting against stange ? After a bad match, the dirt vomit out. By the way, which foreign lions coach had the bestest relationship? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic December 1, 2014 Share December 1, 2014 (edited) After a bad match, the dirt vomit out. By the way, which foreign lions coach had the bestest relationship? Raddy lor.....fella a disciplinarian....all those that he deems unruly were booted out when he took over. He replaced them with those that is disciplined and follows his instructions...including those that were mediocre at best....there was a right winger that was a joke...i forgot his name....cant run cant keep ball cant dribble byt Raddy stuck with him!I think his name was Ridhuan something! Edited December 1, 2014 by Eviilusion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 1, 2014 Share December 1, 2014 After a bad match, the dirt vomit out. By the way, which foreign lions coach had the bestest relationship? hehe raddy I supposed? or barry whitbread? to be frank I wasn't too impressed with barry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator December 1, 2014 Share December 1, 2014 (edited) hee.....I kind of agree with you although I must confess I don't follow their exploits that closely. but I can offer 2 opposing points of view 1) some managers believe there is a best way to play or is it his best way for his team to play. but really things aren't so straightforward. a style of playing that cannot be carried out by your own players means there's effectiveness lost somewhere out there which may set the team back more. example LVG tried to change the formation for Man U after he took over. but the results have not been encouraging and he reverted to a formation with slightly more resemblance to the one his man u players have been used to. 2) it is also not going to improve things if the managers decides the strategy completely basing on his current players' skills. furthermore, this mindset is very self-limiting and very much looking at maintaining close to status quo. a case to point is the arsenal team after the likes of viera have departed. I do want to say, where 1) on football club team is concerned, it is still possible to achieve it by buying the rights players (like Chelsea this season). But where national team is concerned,it not possible to buy players and made even harder if the talent pool of players is small. 'Wow, couldn't agree more with you!! Football Club is very different from National team and yes can just buy the players to suit the coach's style for FC. Actually betwen the 2 points of 1)playing to the coach's expected style and 2)playing to the players' strength, I suppose 2) would be easier but as I had mentioned, modern football has evolved to this pressing, high tempo game which most of the top teams adopt these days. If the FAS has resolve, they will perservere with this style which will involve this method of play to be instilled into the grassroots like school soccer, the different age groups etc but this involves alot of sacrifice and time which I'm not sure the general public are patient enough to accept. Years ago, Germany faced the same problem when their team didn't do well at the World Stage and also the different age groups. They decided ro revamp everything and had setbacks before they finally succeeded with not only winning the World Cup but their different age group teams have been very successful at the U-21, U19, U17 Euros. I hope we can move in the same direction albeit at Asian levels, Good Luck!! Edited December 1, 2014 by Spring 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 1, 2014 Share December 1, 2014 Germany's model is a very good one for aspiring footballing countries association to follow. and it shows the importance of high level planning and broad based implementation. yet I think Singapore can only find limited success even if follow it to a T. 1) football career in Europe is lucrative but not in Singapore. very hard to persuade more people to play football and thereby enlarging the talent pool 2) Singapore is a small country with limited talent pool. we have to accept the harsh fact also that Asian genes are not so much designed for physical game like football. there are not many Asian players that are world beaters......kagawa, nakata, park ji sung, ali daei and company alto are decent, never are they world beaters and even if they are, they are the exception rather than the norm for Asian players. football is a team game, you can't do well if just 1 solitary outstanding player 'Wow, couldn't agree more with you!! Football Club is very different from National team and yes can just buy the players to suit the coach's style for FC. Actually betwen the 2 points of 1)playing to the coach's expected style and 2)playing to the players' strength, I suppose 2) would be easier but as I had mentioned, modern football has evolved to this pressing, high tempo game which most of the top teams adopt these days. If the FAS has resolve, they will perservere with this style which will involve this method of play to be instilled into the grassroots like school soccer, the different age groups etc but this involves alot of sacrifice and time which I'm not sure the general public are patient enough to accept. Years ago, Germany faced the same problem when their team didn't do well at the World Stage and also the different age groups. They decided ro revamp everything and had setbacks before they finally succeeded with not only winning the World Cup but their different age group teams have been very successful at the U-21, U19, U17 Euros. I hope we can move in the same direction albeit at Asian levels, Good Luck!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator December 1, 2014 Share December 1, 2014 Germany's model is a very good one for aspiring footballing countries association to follow. and it shows the importance of high level planning and broad based implementation. yet I think Singapore can only find limited success even if follow it to a T. 1) football career in Europe is lucrative but not in Singapore. very hard to persuade more people to play football and thereby enlarging the talent pool 2) Singapore is a small country with limited talent pool. we have to accept the harsh fact also that Asian genes are not so much designed for physical game like football. there are not many Asian players that are world beaters......kagawa, nakata, park ji sung, ali daei and company alto are decent, never are they world beaters and even if they are, they are the exception rather than the norm for Asian players. football is a team game, you can't do well if just 1 solitary outstanding player Actually I'll be happy with being amongst the top in Asean and say top 8 in Asia ie qualify for Asian Cup regularly and progress to the k/o stages. I not like GCT want to qualify for WC, that one is maybe decades later but let's aim for Asia first!! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 1, 2014 Share December 1, 2014 Actually I'll be happy with being amongst the top in Asean and say top 8 in Asia ie qualify for Asian Cup regularly and progress to the k/o stages. I not like GCT want to qualify for WC, that one is maybe decades later but let's aim for Asia first!! I am somewhat sad that last time we were like the kingpins of asean.... only thailnd is better than us......we could brush aside the rest of competition with ease... now.......every team in asean is about same standard as us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic December 1, 2014 Share December 1, 2014 Raddy lor.....fella a disciplinarian....all those that he deems unruly were booted out when he took over. He replaced them with those that is disciplined and follows his instructions...including those that were mediocre at best....there was a right winger that was a joke...i forgot his name....cant run cant keep ball cant dribble byt Raddy stuck with him! I think his name was Ridhuan something! Thot he could dribble down the flanks but can't cross for nuts?! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic December 1, 2014 Share December 1, 2014 Thot he could dribble down the flanks but can't cross for nuts?! ya...he could dribble...but without the ball........hahaha! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Uluwatu06 2nd Gear December 1, 2014 Share December 1, 2014 After a bad match, the dirt vomit out. By the way, which foreign lions coach had the bestest relationship? I was thinking, maybe Douglas Moore? Felt he did a good, decent job back then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 1, 2014 Share December 1, 2014 I was thinking, maybe Douglas Moore? Felt he did a good, decent job back then. oh yeah almost forgotten him! yep I think he would be the one. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiario 5th Gear December 1, 2014 Share December 1, 2014 I was thinking, maybe Douglas Moore? Felt he did a good, decent job back then. he might had done a great job in the malaysia cup against the state teams of malaysia but i don't recall him having much success in the international stage...or did we participate in any international tournament during that time? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Uluwatu06 2nd Gear December 1, 2014 Share December 1, 2014 he might had done a great job in the malaysia cup against the state teams of malaysia but i don't recall him having much success in the international stage...or did we participate in any international tournament during that time? I think there wasnt any because the SEA Games didnt have any age restrictions back then. If my memory does not fail me, we had all these Tiger/Suzuki Cup after the SEA Games imposed the under-23 age limit. I might be wrong. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic December 1, 2014 Share December 1, 2014 ya...he could dribble...but without the ball........hahaha! [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 https://my.news.yahoo.com/blogs/what-is-buzzing/parody-video-pokes-fun-at-singapore-goalie-for-unguarded-net-at-aff-suzuki-cup-103829944.html Parody video pokes fun at Singapore goalie for unguarded net at AFF Suzuki CupYes, we know that Singapore exited the AFF Suzuki Cup after an embarrassing 3-1 loss against Malaysia last Saturday. The defending champions’ shocking defeat at the National Stadium was due mainly to a controversial penalty kick given to Malaysia and a goal into an unguarded net. Where was Singapore goalkeeper Hassan Sunny during the last strike? He was coming out from a corner, but couldn’t reach the net in time, which gave Malaysian substitute Indra Putra the golden chance for a strike. The loss inevitably left Singapore fans bitter, disappointed and heartbroken. In view of a recent parody video, Malaysia’s supporters, however, can’t seem to help but gloat. Uploaded on Monday by Malaysian YouTubers “Lawak Sentral”, the video, which was inspired by Hassan Sunny and Taufik Batisah’s latest Malay hit “#AwakKatMane” or “Where Are You?” in Malay, has since gotten over 18,000 views. The hilarious one-minute clip titled “#KeeperKatMane” or “Where is the Keeper?”, pokes fun at Hassan by featuring a man wearing green goalkeeper gear, with his name and jersey number printed on it. The guy appeared lost and was seen wandering about at parks, a market and a fitness corner, among others, with Taufik’s catchy hip hop tune playing in the background. The video garnered even more attention after Malaysian actress, known as ChaCha Maembong, shared it on her Facebook page, garnering over 7,000 Likes, over 14,000 shares and more than 1,000 comments. While some felt that the clip was funny, there were people who thought it was rude. “I didn’t know that Malaysian people are so rude,” said a Shafika Nordin. There were also some who took a hit at the tragedy that hit Malaysia’s national airline, MH370. “We already found our goalkeeper, where’s your MH370 airline?” said a Faiz Amy in Malay. What do you think of the video? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...