127-year-old lunatic asylum discovered in SGH

Stooky

SINGAPORE: One of the perimeter walls of a 127-year-old obsolete lunatic asylum has been discovered in the compound of the Singapore General Hospital (SGH), at the side of a hill near Macalister Road.

The National Heritage Board (NHB) said on Monday (Nov 17) that it was alerted to the discovery of the New Lunatic Asylum by Mr Charles Goh - co-founder of the Asian Paranormal Investigators - in September.

The New Lunatic Asylum was built in 1887 and had 300 beds for 250 male patients and 50 female patients. Singapore's third psychiatric hospital was constructed on cottage principles comprising a series of detached buildings, and offered both accommodation as well as work facilities.

The NHB leveraged on Google Glass technology to document the remaining wall of the New Lunatic Asylum. The public can watch the documentary from Tuesday on NHB’s YouTube channel.

The NHB said it will be working closely with SGH to assess the condition of the remaining perimeter wall and jointly explore potential preservation and commemorative efforts to showcase the heritage of the site.

-TODAY/kk

first we discovered old reservoir and now we discovered an old hospital!!

one of the craziest news in 2014:

300 beds in 1887 is quite big deal; also the 3rd psychiatric hospital. Now then 'discovered", What happened to the record keeping? Any earlier KK hospital yet to be discovered? haha

• The New Lunatic Asylum was built in 1887 and had 300 beds for 250 male patients and 50 female patients. Singapore's third psychiatric hospital was constructed on cottage principles comprising a series of detached buildings, and offered both accommodation as well as work facilities

New ideas for TCS 8 horror shows..

they shd go filming at the old Changi hospital site....then shiok :D

one of the craziest news in 2014:

300 beds in 1887 is quite big deal; also the 3rd psychiatric hospital. Now then 'discovered", What happened to the record keeping? Any earlier KK hospital yet to be discovered? haha

• The New Lunatic Asylum was built in 1887 and had 300 beds for 250 male patients and 50 female patients. Singapore's third psychiatric hospital was constructed on cottage principles comprising a series of detached buildings, and offered both accommodation as well as work facilities

earlier KK shd be at Dairy farm lo....Cows barn [scholar]:D:D

they might find it under this...

270px-Dalhousie_Obelisk_2,_Jan_06.JPG

read some where abt these obelisks in singapore....hmmm

http://www.guidegecko.com/singapore-obelisks/c,103

err....boss....maybe they will think that the obelisk was used as a spacecraft landing site.....the obelisk itself gets inserted into the saucer maciam u know what......hahaha!

But seriously....50-150 yrs old documented sites can lost into history and found again....seems like the some people likes to lose and find things!

err....boss....maybe they will think that the obelisk was used as a spacecraft landing site.....the obelisk itself gets inserted into the saucer maciam u know what......hahaha!

But seriously....50-150 yrs old documented sites can lost into history and found again....seems like the some people likes to lose and find things!

whn i think of obelisks, i think of asterix...hahah

somemore obelisks...hmmm reminds me of transformers, where they plant all these..kekeke

Dalhousie was a high-ranking Freemason. The Freemasons love their symbols, and the obelisk is one of the more popular ones.

It's used as a 'marker' for their presence, much like a dog marks its territory by peeing on it.

obelisks.jpg

The three big cities where they control the world's finance, military and religion.

whn i think of obelisks, i think of asterix...hahah

somemore obelisks...hmmm reminds me of transformers, where they plant all these..kekeke

Dalhousie was a high-ranking Freemason. The Freemasons love their symbols, and the obelisk is one of the more popular ones.

It's used as a 'marker' for their presence, much like a dog marks its territory by peeing on it.

obelisks.jpg

The three big cities where they control the world's finance, military and religion.

wah.....freemasons! Must find the 3rd eye.....Illuminati.....New World Order.....SG got 2 obelisk......conspiracy theory liao......hahaha!

When i was younger my dad gave me Asterix in Spain.....damn funny siak!

Edited by Eviilusion

Knowing that we now have many siow langs, they built it well in advance. Kudos to the 1887's goberment foresight.

Once again....singapore ain't a fishing village before 1965....300 beds? An advance horsepeter wor..

How is it that a 300 bed hospital go unnoticed? :blink::huh: Very small meh?

300 beds...arent we in shortage of hospital beds as reported last year. Damn...if they had found it earlier the shortage would have been solved.....hahaha! Maybe the gov got selective amnesia.....hehehe! Edited by Eviilusion

300 beds...arent we in shortage of hospital beds as reported last year. Damn...if they had found it earlier the shortage would have been solved.....hahaha! Maybe the gov got selective amnesia.....hehehe!

Yup, can seriously ease bed shortages [laugh]

Still, I don't understand how it was "hidden" for so long. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop] It's not like SGH is in some ulu place.

Yup, can seriously ease bed shortages [laugh]

Still, I don't understand how it was "hidden" for so long. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop] It's not like SGH is in some ulu place.

ya lor....and sgh is so old liao....most prob it was forgotten and not lost.