Vega Turbocharged November 15, 2014 Share November 15, 2014 http://edition.cnn.com/2014/11/11/tech/innovation/flying-aircraft-carrier/ (CNN) -- Got an idea on how to make a flying aircraft carrier? The Defense Department wants to know about it. The Defense Advanced Research Products Agency has a request out for ideas on how to develop an airborne platform that could both launch and recover other aircraft. But before you start looking for schematics of the Starship Enterprise (NCC-1701) or Battlestar Galactica, or how you might levitate the USS Nimitz, think a little smaller, like B-1, B-52 or C-130. DARPA wants ideas on how to turn those aircraft currently in the Pentagon inventory into platforms that could carry Unmanned Aerial Systems, what most folks call drones, close to their targets. The drones could then go about their business -- bombing, missile strikes, reconnaissance, etc. -- then fly back to the mother ship and head for home. This plan could add to the range of the drones and open up new missions they cannot now undertake because of their limited range, DARPA says. As you consider your ideas, DARPA says you have to keep the cost low and they'd like something they could demonstrate within four years. And don't get long-winded. Your proposal should fit on eight, standard 8.5- x 11-inch pages in 11-point type. And if you're worried your big plans will fall into the hands of your competitors, don't. DARPA promises all ideas will stay inside the Pentagon. The deadline is November 26. Now get to work. quick, still got 10 days to submit your proposal. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear November 15, 2014 Share November 15, 2014 Sounds like avengers that one? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged November 15, 2014 Author Share November 15, 2014 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eOZI3I6uAX4 here is the prototype. I think its possible. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic November 15, 2014 Share November 15, 2014 How much are they paying? Please make cheque to Jamesc. Here's the finished article. If they want a submarine version, I have that too. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic November 15, 2014 Share November 15, 2014 Wouldn't an airborne aircraft carrier too easy target to shoot down??! 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 15, 2014 Share November 15, 2014 Why not a space carrier? Like that it won't violate other countries' air space. SAMs won't be able to reach it. It doesn't require an enormous power plant to keep it floating in the air. There's no gravity in space. What they need is a force shield generator lah. LoL... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic November 15, 2014 Share November 15, 2014 Why not a space carrier? Like that it won't violate other countries' air space. SAMs won't be able to reach it. It doesn't require an enormous power plant to keep it floating in the air. There's no gravity in space. What they need is a force shield generator lah. LoL... Haha....make sure they hab new gen aircraft dat wun burn up on re-entry enroute to IS targets hor 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic November 15, 2014 Share November 15, 2014 Wouldn't an airborne aircraft carrier too easy target to shoot down??! You are absolutely right. That's why I have a design for a submarine version. As soon as the Pentagon sends me the cheque for the flying one I will send them the under water one. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged November 15, 2014 Author Share November 15, 2014 Why not a space carrier? Like that it won't violate other countries' air space. SAMs won't be able to reach it. It doesn't require an enormous power plant to keep it floating in the air. There's no gravity in space. What they need is a force shield generator lah. LoL... But China ever shoot down their own satellite using their own missile leh. so possible to get shoot down even in space. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic November 15, 2014 Share November 15, 2014 You are absolutely right. That's why I have a design for a submarine version. As soon as the Pentagon sends me the cheque for the flying one I will send them the under water one. hokae, hokae....you be main con, I be sub-con....steady bo? 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic November 15, 2014 Share November 15, 2014 (edited) But China ever shoot down their own satellite using their own missile leh. so possible to get shoot down even in space. You can't shoot what you can't see..... I will be the sub-con to supply the invisibility system. When handing over project, Pentagon will see this: Of course Pentagon won't see the carrier cos it is invisible. 100% proof it works! Edited November 15, 2014 by Volvobrick 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged November 15, 2014 Share November 15, 2014 You are absolutely right. That's why I have a design for a submarine version. As soon as the Pentagon sends me the cheque for the flying one I will send them the under water one. You very brave to show your talent here hor.... not scared skali Putin or fat Kim, maybe even head of ISIS sends someone to kidnap you to do projects for them free ahh!!?? Or you'll strike deal with them to reward you with choice xmm from their homeland? [:p] 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged November 15, 2014 Share November 15, 2014 http://edition.cnn.com/2014/11/11/tech/innovation/flying-aircraft-carrier/ quick, still got 10 days to submit your proposal. Normal AC needs other combat vessels to protect else it's just a sitting duck waiting for attacks by enmemy bombers or long range missles etc. If the AC is airbourned, how is it going to be protected, a fleet of flying combat vessels? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged November 16, 2014 Share November 16, 2014 You very brave to show your talent here hor.... not scared skali Putin or fat Kim, maybe even head of ISIS sends someone to kidnap you to do projects for them free ahh!!?? Or you'll strike deal with them to reward you with choice xmm from their homeland? [:p] Nah, so talented the most secretly build his own suit to escape like ironman 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 16, 2014 Share November 16, 2014 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic November 16, 2014 Share November 16, 2014 You can't shoot what you can't see..... I will be the sub-con to supply the invisibility system. When handing over project, Pentagon will see this: images.jpg Of course Pentagon won't see the carrier cos it is invisible. 100% proof it works! I see, so you calling it Project Blue Sky? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic November 16, 2014 Share November 16, 2014 You very brave to show your talent here hor.... not scared skali Putin or fat Kim, maybe even head of ISIS sends someone to kidnap you to do projects for them free ahh!!?? Or you'll strike deal with them to reward you with choice xmm from their homeland? [:p] XMM from Korea or Russia I don't mind. XMM head to toe like Ninja I don't want. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic November 16, 2014 Share November 16, 2014 So cute. Mickey Mouse Death Star ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...