Wooden shelves for Storeroom/Shelter Rack

Lala81

It's not mould. My house is not damp.

It's already in bomb shelter with no exposure to water. I don't think so. It's purely a defective product.

IMHO,

The level of humidity in Singapore is high at certain times of the day.

High humidity can cause particle board to disintegrate as the wood component absorbs water.

Smell may be an indication of high humidity - my storeroom exhibits that previously.

While plywood may be more tolerant to humidity, if moisture is really present, it will cause havoc to leather products.

Thus, the product is not really defective - just not intended for your purpose.

Edited by Kklee

no need lamination also can last more than 10 years leh....................as long mia tio zhui (dont kena water)............I had those 6mm thickness ply wood for my storeroom racking............assemble using angle beams.............sibei tahan one...........

Don't Ngiao lar ... Use those cheap laminate so you won't kena splinter ... Can slide stuff across cos it's smoother ... Kena water or other fluids also nvm ...

Use those cheap laminate white color one ... They use it for kitchen & wardrobe internal compartments ... 😄

It's not mould. My house is not damp.

It's already in bomb shelter with no exposure to water. I don't think so. It's purely a defective product.

Use thirsty hippo ... Or your leather stuff will grow mushroom 的 ... 😂

Don't Ngiao lar ... Use those cheap laminate so you won't kena splinter ... Can slide stuff across cos it's smoother ... Kena water or other fluids also nvm ...

Use those cheap laminate white color one ... They use it for kitchen & wardrobe internal compartments ... 😄

Use thirsty hippo ... Or your leather stuff will grow mushroom 的 ... 😂

hmmmmmmmm.................sound got dao li............fa kor .....you do it yourself or you ask the ply wood supplier to laminate for you???............you do one side only or top and bottom .................or all round???................ [grin] [grin]

Ask them to do all round ... I think one plank another extra $5 or something like that ... Very long already, can't remember ...

if your storeroom is moist, i would advise no wooden planks since it might turn mouldy. happened to my ikea racks.

switched to those full metal ones. serving me well since 2005 and sitll looks like brand new.

think i got from thianlee as one bro lad listed earlier. price wise in 2005 only slightly more expensive than the wooden ones.

IMHO,

The level of humidity in Singapore is high at certain times of the day.

High humidity can cause particle board to disintegrate as the wood component absorbs water.

Smell may be an indication of high humidity - my storeroom exhibits that previously.

While plywood may be more tolerant to humidity, if moisture is really present, it will cause havoc to leather products.

Thus, the product is not really defective - just not intended for your purpose.

Erm my parent's flat is beside a canal. I know when the area has high humidity.

Yes mould will grow. All my metal parts will tarnish very fast.

Yeah lah, do i really care??? If plywood cannot make it, then all my built in furniture also will rot and crumble lah. Duuuhhhh [rolleyes][rolleyes][rolleyes]

Yes i will get laminated planks this time.

Last time is i really shack out by renovation and cleaning the house, so never pick my rack supplier carefully. Just called one of the pamphlets stuck onto my house door.

Shouldn't have gotten the particle board ones. I realised now retrospectively from the suppliers i shortlisted before my renovation, most offer plywood ones.

My storeroom is dry lah. I go inside, i already know that it's dry.

The ambient humidity there is quite low compared to other areas of my house.

Erm my parent's flat is beside a canal. I know when the area has high humidity.

Yes mould will grow. All my metal parts will tarnish very fast.

Yeah lah, do i really care??? If plywood cannot make it, then all my built in furniture also will rot and crumble lah. Duuuhhhh [rolleyes][rolleyes][rolleyes]

Canal not so bad lar ... It's when you live beside the Sea, then you will have a problem with Rust ...

Ply wood is ok one lar ... Another thing I do is to purchase strong boxes first & use them to hold small items ... With these boxes, you will know how much to space for every shelve level ... 😉

Canal not so bad lar ... It's when you live beside the Sea, then you will have a problem with Rust ...

Ply wood is ok one lar ... Another thing I do is to purchase strong boxes first & use them to hold small items ... With these boxes, you will know how much to space for every shelve level ... 😉

All my electronic stuff last time tarnish very fast. Rust is just natural to me when i was living in my parents place.

Only after i started comparing to my friend's computer and audio stuff. then i realised it's not natural lol.

Connectors, faceplates everything.

if your storeroom is moist, i would advise no wooden planks since it might turn mouldy. happened to my ikea racks.

switched to those full metal ones. serving me well since 2005 and sitll looks like brand new.

think i got from thianlee as one bro lad listed earlier. price wise in 2005 only slightly more expensive than the wooden ones.

So as to not waste the slotted angle rack, i will not get metal ones for now. Thanks.

I'm using ikea wooden rack for 3 or more years. But they are chips wood. Hence I coated them with varnish to water proof them.

Ikea things are fairly long lasting. Think u like that can last 20 yrs. ha

My old room is all Ikea stuff.

Ikea things are fairly long lasting. Think u like that can last 20 yrs. ha

My old room is all Ikea stuff.

A can of varnish or laquer is cheap. An additional $10 for a can goes a long way. I'm worried on the feet touching the floor. Had bad experience with my aquarium when the feet bloated up due frequent mopping of the floor.

My storeroom is dry lah. I go inside, i already know that it's dry.

The ambient humidity there is quite low compared to other areas of my house.

Dry, must be the particle board absort the moisture lor.

Hmm... that's a very good idea !

Spent most of my day yesterday changing the shelves.

Particle board with dust/mould/whatever lah. This "mould" also will flake off and covered ALL my items inside with a layer of dust. Had to clean all the boxes and items inside there so that it won't transfer the dust back into the bomb shelter.

DSC_0474.jpg

IMG-20141118-WA0003.jpg

Got the shelves changed at Yee Sin.

http://www.yee-sin.com/

Cost $88 and self transport.

DSC_0478.jpg

Finally no more chemical smell. I can't decide which was more irritating, the dust or the chemical smell. Lesson learnt never to use this particle board crap...

Spent most of my day yesterday changing the shelves.

Particle board with dust/mould/whatever lah. This "mould" also will flake off and covered ALL my items inside with a layer of dust. Had to clean all the boxes and items inside there so that it won't transfer the dust back into the bomb shelter.

DSC_0474.jpg

IMG-20141118-WA0003.jpg

Got the shelves changed at Yee Sin.

http://www.yee-sin.com/

Cost $88 and self transport.

DSC_0478.jpg

Finally no more chemical smell. I can't decide which was more irritating, the dust or the chemical smell. Lesson learnt never to use this particle board crap...

that's mould if i am not wrong. dust cannot be spots. if you wipe it off and it comes back almost same location, it is likely mould. i kanna before. in the end, metal racks the best.

Edited by Kxbc

that's mould if i am not wrong.

Like i said, I don't really care. I just wanted to solve the problem.

Whether it's mould or defective product or not doesn't change the problem.

I try the plywood shelves first lor since the slotted angle is already in situ.

Like i said, I don't really care. I just wanted to solve the problem.

Whether it's mould or defective product or not doesn't change the problem.

I try the plywood shelves first lor since the slotted angle is already in situ.

I got mine from Gawa industries. Website Gawa.com

Very good shelf made of steel with epoxy powder coating. Very beautiful shelf but can get a little costly. I got the ready to install one instead of made to measure because it is a lot cheaper.

I got mine from Gawa industries. Website Gawa.com

Very good shelf made of steel with epoxy powder coating. Very beautiful shelf but can get a little costly. I got the ready to install one instead of made to measure because it is a lot cheaper.

if the plywood shelves also fall to the mould issue then i'll switch to steel racks