Myxilplix Turbocharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 Why MINDEF so xenophobic? They never listen to garment say we need to integrate with the foreigners meh? They should conduct the courses in Chinese! ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 The 29K works out to be $71 per hour which is not really expensive (like many good private tuition). What is unusual is the 1-to-1 lesson format for the full 360 hrs in this tender, as we all know, languages are best learned with plenty of usage and conversation. The PLA guy must be someone's son. Maybe 1-to-1 learning in KTV too which is most effective! Anyway, the garmen today is no longer same as the earlier respected one which went for value for money and cost-effectiveness. With the revenues collected from COEs, sin taxes, income taxes etc and money flowing out of their ears, they need to spend spend spend on grandiose projects and others. Like MOM now wanting to hire PR consultants to do their job - What is the corporate comms team doing then? Just to select PR consultants? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soho 4th Gear November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 https://www.facebook.com/oursingaporearmy/albums/10152679074201063/ Anyway you all can look at the facebook link above.. Several month ago, one of our army officer also went to China for some command course for 1 year! 114 officers from 60 countries participated in the course. I am sure there is alot of this kind of military networking and course around the world. so we spent $26k on PLA, maybe PLA spent even more on us that why we need to reciprocate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 i tot come here no need engrish resson mah... just need to say:“可以吗?” and "ish can bo?" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 4:48 AM, Myxilplix said: Why MINDEF so xenophobic? They never listen to garment say we need to integrate with the foreigners meh? They should conduct the courses in Chinese! maybe got Korean, Australian Indonesian, Indians.etc. then you have to hire so many different translator... which is more expensive then hiring a tution teacher?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 1:42 AM, Neost said: I don't see anything wrong with mindef do this leh. Just like we sometimes buy makan for our friends or acquaintances. Build relationship. you threat friend makan is from your pocket.. this one ah kong use tax payer money.. see the diff? the breakdown of the cost to $70/hr is just to make it sounds cheap so people can accept it.. what the people is asking is this being too much of being a good host?? so they don't know ang moh we provide courses... if they down there itchy then we provide daughters meh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 6:14 AM, Knoobie said: you threat friend makan is from your pocket.. this one ah kong use tax payer money.. see the diff? the breakdown of the cost to $70/hr is just to make it sounds cheap so people can accept it.. what the people is asking is this being too much of being a good host?? so they don't know ang moh we provide courses... if they down there itchy then we provide daughters meh... foreign delicate to Singapore for ah gong programme. money don't come from ah gong, come from who? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 6:26 AM, Joseph22 said: foreign delicate to Singapore for ah gong programme. money don't come from ah gong, come from who? you say logistics expenses like transport, hotel, food.. people can understand.. not say cannot spend.. he don't know ang moh then is his problem mah.. if so happen got medical condition must piak every hour.. we must provide also?? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 6:29 AM, Knoobie said: you say logistics expenses like transport, hotel, food.. people can understand.. not say cannot spend.. he don't know ang moh then is his problem mah.. if so happen got medical condition must piak every hour.. we must provide also?? so you rather spend more on translator?? I am glade you are not our foreign affair officer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianake 2nd Gear November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 (edited) On 11/6/2014 at 6:32 AM, Joseph22 said: so you rather spend more on translator?? I am glade you are not our foreign affair officer. Our army officer dun know how to speak mandarin meh? if die die want to speak english, our chinese officer cannot help to translate meh? if really want to build relationship with that PRC army officer, then our officers should make an effort to speak in that PRC native language so that that PRC officer can understand better. Edited November 6, 2014 by Tianake 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 (edited) On 11/6/2014 at 6:32 AM, Joseph22 said: so you rather spend more on translator?? I am glade you are not our foreign affair officer. why not? very hard to find in our own country that knows mandarin and english meh? all born/breed chinese here are educated with both english and chinese. throw stone also can tio one... who can guarantee that this officer will definitely rise and be beneficial to our country in future? our forefathers also no bend their back unnecessary to dominant countries.. Edited November 6, 2014 by Knoobie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 6:35 AM, Tianake said: Our army officer dun know how to speak mandarin meh? if die die want to speak english, our chinese officer cannot help to translate meh? if really want to build relationship with that PRC army officer, then our officers should make an effort to speak in that PRC native language so that that PRC officer can understand better. So if there are other nationality officer in the class, our officer have to know how to speak how many language?? On 11/6/2014 at 6:37 AM, Knoobie said: why not? very hard to find in our own country that knows mandarin and english meh? all born/breed chinese here are educated with both english and chinese. throw stone also can tio one... who can guarantee that this officer will definitely rise and be beneficial to our country in future? our forefathers also no bend their back unnecessary to dominant countries.. you guarantee the officer is Chinese?? cannot be indian or malay? you sure inside the class only have PRC officer? no officer of other nation?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 6:41 AM, Joseph22 said: So if there are other nationality officer in the class, our officer have to know how to speak how many language?? you guarantee the officer is Chinese?? cannot be indian or malay? you sure inside the class only have PRC officer? no officer of other nation?? It was made clear on the media and on the tender that the course is for PLA Officer who is a Chinese. Presenter chinese or not I don't care. Very hard to find another officer to help this PLA beside him? so like that all country come here got problem with engrish, we need to open tender for all to learn engrish?? like that UN must have many tender for language courses sia.. some more those attend are lagi high post one!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 6:13 AM, Joseph22 said: maybe got Korean, Australian Indonesian, Indians.etc. then you have to hire so many different translator... which is more expensive then hiring a tution teacher?? Sibeh headache ah this integration thing. Anyways as long as we don't teach our secret Windtalking army language can already, still got tactical advantage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 5:59 AM, Soho said: https://www.facebook.com/oursingaporearmy/albums/10152679074201063/ Anyway you all can look at the facebook link above.. Several month ago, one of our army officer also went to China for some command course for 1 year! 114 officers from 60 countries participated in the course. I am sure there is alot of this kind of military networking and course around the world. so we spent $26k on PLA, maybe PLA spent even more on us that why we need to reciprocate. The PLA has standby-ed 114 "swallows" like good old KGB. With photos and videos archived for future use.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 (edited) On 11/6/2014 at 6:48 AM, Knoobie said: It was made clear on the media and on the tender that the course is for PLA Officer who is a Chinese. Presenter chinese or not I don't care. Very hard to find another officer to help this PLA beside him? so like that all country come here got problem with engrish, we need to open tender for all to learn engrish?? like that UN must have many tender for language courses sia.. some more those attend are lagi high post one!! did it mention who are the other people attending ?? no right? (referring to the actual course not the English tution) for all you know PLA actually pay Singapore for the English cost. this one we also don't know right? everything 1/2 past six information and yet want to yell. funny right? On 11/6/2014 at 6:51 AM, Myxilplix said: Sibeh headache ah this integration thing. Anyways as long as we don't teach our secret Windtalking army language can already, still got tactical advantage. you mean the singlish ah?? Edited November 6, 2014 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 (edited) On 11/6/2014 at 6:54 AM, Joseph22 said: did it mention who are the other people attending ?? no right? (referring to the actual cost not the English tution) for all you know PLA actually pay Singapore for the English cost. this one we also don't know right? everything 1/2 past six information and yet want to yell. funny right? you mean the singlish ah?? report never say other people attending. but is to refute your assumption mah.. you said maybe got Korean, Australian Indonesian, Indians.etc. no one yelling.. just trying to let you know why people see liao unhappy.. we receive such 1/2 past six information already is bonus liao.. if PLA is paying for it, then MINDEF should and would've mentioned since it is on the press already. for all you know, maybe we are really spending tax payer money unnecessarily.. we also don't know right?? yes indeed it is funny for such arrangements to happen.. if PLA want to train their opicer for angmo, their country also not say cannot find.. Edited November 6, 2014 by Knoobie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 7:03 AM, Knoobie said: report never say other people attending. but is to refute your assumption mah.. you said maybe got Korean, Australian Indonesian, Indians.etc. no one yelling.. just trying to let you know why people see liao unhappy.. we receive such 1/2 past six information already is bonus liao.. if PLA is paying for it, then MINDEF should and would've mentioned since it is on the press already. for all you know, maybe we are really spending tax payer money unnecessarily.. we also don't know right?? yes indeed it is funny for such arrangements to happen.. if PLA want to train their opicer for angmo, their country also not say cannot find.. report also never say only PLA attending. seriously, they don't have to tell us anything about cross country agreement especially when it come to defend related. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...