Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 they send malay/indian who cannot speak Chinese to Taiwan before for training hor. Taiwan officers can speak English cos they always converse with US soldiers.... Even PLA officers comes from many provinces and their Mandarin also got mix accent. Shangtong mandarin slightly different from Beijing and at times when communicating with themn, I tries very hard to understand them.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 (edited) i feel that it is ok to pay for their english lessons and course fees. All these are in the name of international relations. I am sure SAF officers or civil servants also go overseas for course and these course might also be paid for by hosting countries. All these are networking, international relations and good will. when you are handling a country which is the next up coming super power or has alot of investment or trade, you cant be so giam to make them pay for their staff. what is $26k compared to the good relationship and intel don't be so narrow minded Singaporean.... I think alot ppl will be shocked when they know the amount of $$ Singapore spend on troops deployed overseas and even diplomats who are stationed overseas... All these small small things add up to what Singapore is today.. When USA's fleet come to Singapore, they will always host various Singapore groups and government agencies on board their aircraft carriers and other ships.. Various countries also send their warship to Singapore for display.. All these also alot of $$$.. u think what, Singapore pay for it ar? Wanna save on this kind of things ar... then we can be hermit North Korea... We gift bad debts written off in return we get "quality air "? I don't begrudge spending when required but we can proclaim we are one of the better countries in Asean where education is concerned Yet we hv to spend $26.9K to teach English which Ah猪Ah狗 knows that language is not something that can learnt overnight excluding Hokkien profanities. I dono abt the rest but by doing so, it is implying that MOE don't hv Quality English Teacher. Edited November 6, 2014 by Qpik Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 appreciate the thumbs up!!!.. that probably = 1000 likes.. i believe the conditions to fulfill in order to receive PA is very strict.. these ministers wont appreciate the fact of being in that situation since they will never have that type of shitty feeling.. no body wants to and intend to be ... was there an answer to how much do you want? .. $10 per day to eat is more than enough.. hawker centre.. Why he overshot his budget for YOG and his tone not like that ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 for your benefit on the exchange His tone was not like that when YOG budget overspend by 3 times ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 PLA occifer hor... hi revel one lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soho 4th Gear November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 We gift bad debts written off in return we get "quality air "? I don't begrudge spending when required but we can proclaim we are one of the better countries in Asean where education is concerned Yet we hv to spend $26.9K to teach English which Ah猪Ah狗 knows that language is not something that can learnt overnight excluding Hokkien profanities. I dono abt the rest but by doing so, it is implying that MOE don't hv Quality English Teacher. By your argument on MOE , can i say that we should bring oversea diplomat to eat in SAF cook house or Shatec rather than having it is Shangri- La Dialogue? Should we ask oversea delegates to take our MOT public transports rather than getting a limousine to fetch them around? should they be staying in SAF bunks rather than hotels when they come for conference? Personally i do not know what kind of collaboration is there between the different ministries. Will ppl complaint that why are they using OUR MOE teacher to teach AT??? and in case you dun know, courses in civil service college, MOE , Universities and more often conducted by external private vendors instead of MOE teachers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 Taiwan officers can speak English cos they always converse with US soldiers.... Even PLA officers comes from many provinces and their Mandarin also got mix accent. Shangtong mandarin slightly different from Beijing and at times when communicating with themn, I tries very hard to understand them.... you will be surprise.... I have to speak Chinese to them when I am there. appreciate the thumbs up!!!.. that probably = 1000 likes.. i believe the conditions to fulfill in order to receive PA is very strict.. these ministers wont appreciate the fact of being in that situation since they will never have that type of shitty feeling.. no body wants to and intend to be ... was there an answer to how much do you want? .. $10 per day to eat is more than enough.. hawker centre.. its actually very loose. I seen many con man getting government aids in my working place. personally I think government should just stop giving up those aid. instead channel those aid to the real charity organisation and let them decide. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 By your argument on MOE , can i say that we should bring oversea diplomat to eat in SAF cook house or Shatec rather than having it is Shangri- La Dialogue? Should we ask oversea delegates to take our MOT public transports rather than getting a limousine to fetch them around? should they be staying in SAF bunks rather than hotels when they come for conference? Personally i do not know what kind of collaboration is there between the different ministries. Will ppl complaint that why are they using OUR MOE teacher to teach AT??? and in case you dun know, courses in civil service college, MOE , Universities and more often conducted by external private vendors instead of MOE teachers I c where u r cmg fm. By linking to accommodation, dining, tpt abit out of context as we hv to be a gd host. Yes, I know some MOE program are outsourced n parents r payg alot @ tertiary level to hv their kids attendg lectures conducted by speakers w poor command of English which no choice cos locally we might not hv professional from that fields. But, I hv faith that we can find qualified teacher. The way I see it, it is just tapping on internal resources for English. Sure, there will be internal billing btween the ministry but @ least it is reasonable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soho 4th Gear November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 Of course , ppl. that being said, I feel that spending money on defense is a total issue with spending money on PA or YOG. for YOG.. i do feel that it is quite F up to over spend budget by so much.. then what is budget for? and i do not know how effective did YOG did bring Singapore to the international arena as compared to Olympic or world cup. for PA, i am not for a welfare state too. it is call a Public assistance but Public salary. to me, it is an assistance to supplement people's pay, savings or CPF pay out. Although i do feel sad that we do have old ppl in this society struggling to meet their meals and that more $ could be given to them, i think a balance have to be met. I confess that i do not know much about this PA. But now what i am talking about is that this 2 incidents are from different ministry with different budget and for different purpose Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldbug 6th Gear November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 you think Comfort Delgro build the bus themselves without local sme support?? they still need local sme support. Go check up local Bus Enthu group to find out more who are the one doing the integration for them. The many years they know how to declare profit, dunno how to buy new buses end up taxpayers have to subsidise their share holders profit ahh Of course , ppl. that being said, I feel that spending money on defense is a total issue with spending money on PA or YOG. for YOG.. i do feel that it is quite F up to over spend budget by so much.. then what is budget for? and i do not know how effective did YOG did bring Singapore to the international arena as compared to Olympic or world cup. for PA, i am not for a welfare state too. it is call a Public assistance but Public salary. to me, it is an assistance to supplement people's pay, savings or CPF pay out. Although i do feel sad that we do have old ppl in this society struggling to meet their meals and that more $ could be given to them, i think a balance have to be met. I confess that i do not know much about this PA. But now what i am talking about is that this 2 incidents are from different ministry with different budget and for different purpose The money dun come from taxpayers? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 The many years they know how to declare profit, dunno how to buy new buses end up taxpayers have to subsidise their share holders profit ahh The money dun come from taxpayers? comfort delgro don't operate bus, nice try. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldbug 6th Gear November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 you will be surprise.... I have to speak Chinese to them when I am there. its actually very loose. I seen many con man getting government aids in my working place. personally I think government should just stop giving up those aid. instead channel those aid to the real charity organisation and let them decide. Can beat PAP FT poster boy Yang Ying boh? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 Can beat PAP FT poster boy Yang Ying boh? he got poster meh.. don't try to con me hor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrmilktooth Supercharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 you will be surprise.... I have to speak Chinese to them when I am there. its actually very loose. I seen many con man getting government aids in my working place. personally I think government should just stop giving up those aid. instead channel those aid to the real charity organisation and let them decide. maybe those are the black sheep leh.. cant be 100% fool proof.. humans are always very smart to engineer somehing out from nothing.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 maybe those are the black sheep leh.. cant be 100% fool proof.. humans are always very smart to engineer somehing out from nothing.. since that as long as 1person go through everyone blame gahmen. Might as well don't do right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 That $26k is money well spent. Just based on my NS knowledge, to get nominated to attend Staff College means that the person is slated for bigger appointments. And to send an invite and have it accepted by PLA means that this Chinese officer is also up and coming. SAF officers will build network and relationship with other nation's officers during the course. That is invaluable, esp in times of future crisis when they can just pick up a phone call and get some assistance. So, is it worth it? Sure is for me. And replying to one of the forumer, the Min of Defense, like all Ministries and Stat Boards, do get audited by the Auditor General Office. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 Send for Hokkien %$%#$^(*$#^* crash course betterer. What the *beep*? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 appreciate the thumbs up!!!.. that probably = 1000 likes.. i believe the conditions to fulfill in order to receive PA is very strict.. these ministers wont appreciate the fact of being in that situation since they will never have that type of shitty feeling.. no body wants to and intend to be ... was there an answer to how much do you want? .. $10 per day to eat is more than enough.. hawker centre.. PA card holder comes with very strict terms. My stupid uncle refuses to sell his HDB flat so that he can be entitled to PA card. Meanwhile trying to borrow money constantly from his brothers/sisters. Really Actually to learn a foreign language 1 on 1. The cost is roughly there. I enquired about something similar few years back. Per hour is roughly there. Lol maybe the language teacher is some hot babe sent to seduce the Chinese officer into becoming spy hohoho. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...