Ktglfc Hypersonic November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 I am sure there are more than 10 countries in the world that english is not the official language... So if these countries were to send their ppl here, we also got to spend that amt of amount (10 times) to teach them english?! Well...something is not right somewhere somehow... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neost 6th Gear November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 I don't see anything wrong with mindef do this leh. Just like we sometimes buy makan for our friends or acquaintances. Build relationship. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldbug 6th Gear November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 1:34 AM, Soho said: i feel that it is ok to pay for their english lessons and course fees. All these are in the name of international relations. I am sure SAF officers or civil servants also go overseas for course and these course might also be paid for by hosting countries. All these are networking, international relations and good will. when you are handling a country which is the next up coming super power or has alot of investment or trade, you cant be so giam to make them pay for their staff. what is $26k compared to the good relationship and intel don't be so narrow minded Singaporean.... I think alot ppl will be shocked when they know the amount of $$ Singapore spend on troops deployed overseas and even diplomats who are stationed overseas... All these small small things add up to what Singapore is today.. When USA's fleet come to Singapore, they will always host various Singapore groups and government agencies on board their aircraft carriers and other ships.. Various countries also send their warship to Singapore for display.. All these also alot of $$$.. u think what, Singapore pay for it ar? Wanna save on this kind of things ar... then we can be hermit North Korea... the thing is Vivian argued with Lily over additional $30 per month to welfare recipients... you must have a sense of proportion hor 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 1:42 AM, Goldbug said: the thing is Vivian argued with Lily over additional $30 per month to welfare recipients... you must have a sense of proportion hor if got 100K recipients then the amount become 3 mil liao. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldbug 6th Gear November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 1:47 AM, Joseph22 said: if got 100K recipients then the amount become 3 mil liao. you do know that only 3000 people in Sg get monthly welfare right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrmilktooth Supercharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 1:47 AM, Joseph22 said: if got 100K recipients then the amount become 3 mil liao. then will come around eventually to the youth olympics budget ... few hundred M leh.. not enough for welfare for 30years?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldbug 6th Gear November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 1:50 AM, Mrmilktooth said: then will come around eventually to the youth olympics budget ... few hundred M leh.. not enough for welfare for 30years?? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 1:50 AM, Mrmilktooth said: then will come around eventually to the youth olympics budget ... few hundred M leh.. not enough for welfare for 30years?? That is why he kenna drill in parliament by pap mah. On 11/6/2014 at 1:50 AM, Goldbug said: you do know that only 3000 people in Sg get monthly welfare right? if you raise this one. the other type of welfare will follow. you think only affect one meh?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrmilktooth Supercharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 1:55 AM, Joseph22 said: That is why he kenna drill in parliament by pap mah. if you raise this one. the other type of welfare will follow. you think only affect one meh?? i dont follow the boring parliament hor.. only read from MCF.. hehe.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 1:56 AM, Mrmilktooth said: i dont follow the boring parliament hor.. only read from MCF.. hehe.. MCF also got report leh... you didn't go read meh 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldbug 6th Gear November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 1:55 AM, Joseph22 said: That is why he kenna drill in parliament by pap mah. if you raise this one. the other type of welfare will follow. you think only affect one meh?? In light of blowing $25k on PLA officiers, I think we rather stingy in giving additional $30 to Singaporeans Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soho 4th Gear November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 1:42 AM, Goldbug said: the thing is Vivian argued with Lily over additional $30 per month to welfare recipients... you must have a sense of proportion hor I do not know what was the case about Vivian and Lily. however, what i can say is every ministry has its budget. if i am not wrong, defense budget its the biggest. There is a reason why the govt emphasis so much on defense. i can think of 1 million ways how these monies spent on oversea govt officials could have used to benefit Singaporean. But i just need to know that we are a small county, surrounded by BIG and sometime "siao" neighbors. our defense capability is limited. only way out is deterence through international relationship and bilateral relationship. of course, Singapore is smart. They don't just invite any tom dick and harry country here to study for free.. I believe only strategic partners. That being said, i hope that Singaporean should not be a frog in the well. they should look at things in a bigger picture. The international arena is always spending tons of $ on each other. PS: Do you know that US, UK and Germany is spending hundreds of millions of dollars to fund developing countries, international research, UN and Interpol? I am sure these monies are used on other country. why didnt they just keep it within their country and spend it on their own citizen???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 (edited) On 11/6/2014 at 1:57 AM, Goldbug said: In light of blowing $25k on PLA officiers, I think we rather stingy in giving additional $30 to Singaporeans 25Kgot to local company. person earning is still local registered company. I wont want welfare aid price to go too high. we are not welfare state. On 11/6/2014 at 2:00 AM, Soho said: I do not know what was the case about Vivian and Lily. however, what i can say is every ministry has its budget. if i am not wrong, defense budget its the biggest. There is a reason why the govt emphasis so much on defense. i can think of 1 million ways how these monies spent on oversea govt officials could have used to benefit Singaporean. But i just need to know that we are a small county, surrounded by BIG and sometime "siao" neighbors. our defense capability is limited. only way out is deterence through international relationship and bilateral relationship. of course, Singapore is smart. They don't just invite any tom dick and harry country here to study for free.. I believe only strategic partners. That being said, i hope that Singaporean should not be a frog in the well. they should look at things in a bigger picture. The international arena is always spending tons of $ on each other. PS: Do you know that US, UK and Germany is spending hundreds of millions of dollars to fund developing countries, international research, UN and Interpol? I am sure these monies are used on other country. why didnt they just keep it within their country and spend it on their own citizen???? it also float down to a lot of local sme. defend is some of local company main source of regular income. (note talking about ST Group. but rather their varies suppliers) Edited November 6, 2014 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldbug 6th Gear November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 (edited) On 11/6/2014 at 2:00 AM, Soho said: I do not know what was the case about Vivian and Lily. however, what i can say is every ministry has its budget. if i am not wrong, defense budget its the biggest. There is a reason why the govt emphasis so much on defense. i can think of 1 million ways how these monies spent on oversea govt officials could have used to benefit Singaporean. But i just need to know that we are a small county, surrounded by BIG and sometime "siao" neighbors. our defense capability is limited. only way out is deterence through international relationship and bilateral relationship. of course, Singapore is smart. They don't just invite any tom dick and harry country here to study for free.. I believe only strategic partners. That being said, i hope that Singaporean should not be a frog in the well. they should look at things in a bigger picture. The international arena is always spending tons of $ on each other. PS: Do you know that US, UK and Germany is spending hundreds of millions of dollars to fund developing countries, international research, UN and Interpol? I am sure these monies are used on other country. why didnt they just keep it within their country and spend it on their own citizen???? for your benefit on the exchange Edited November 6, 2014 by Goldbug 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neost 6th Gear November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 2:02 AM, Joseph22 said: 25Kgot to local company. person earning is still local registered company. I wont want welfare aid price to go too high. we are not welfare state. Agreed with you totally.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldbug 6th Gear November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 2:04 AM, Joseph22 said: 25Kgot to local company. person earning is still local registered company. I wont want welfare aid price to go too high. we are not welfare state. it also float down to a lot of local sme. defend is some of local company main source of regular income. (note talking about ST Group. but rather their varies suppliers) didn't Comfort Delgro get a $1,1 billion corporate welfare to buy buses? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 (edited) On 11/6/2014 at 2:08 AM, Goldbug said: didn't Comfort Delgro get a $1,1 billion corporate welfare to buy buses? you think Comfort Delgro build the bus themselves without local sme support?? they still need local sme support. Go check up local Bus Enthu group to find out more who are the one doing the integration for them. Edited November 6, 2014 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrmilktooth Supercharged November 6, 2014 Share November 6, 2014 On 11/6/2014 at 2:05 AM, Goldbug said: for your benefit on the exchange appreciate the thumbs up!!!.. that probably = 1000 likes.. i believe the conditions to fulfill in order to receive PA is very strict.. these ministers wont appreciate the fact of being in that situation since they will never have that type of shitty feeling.. no body wants to and intend to be ... was there an answer to how much do you want? .. $10 per day to eat is more than enough.. hawker centre.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...