Lala81 Hypersonic October 31, 2014 Share October 31, 2014 i'm comfortable he's able to cope.. if it's really developing him.. we are going to get free enrichment classes? lol! but i'm more concerned if the school is okay.. and if it can take his sibling, else, my administrative nightmare, if i need to drop 2 kids who need to be at 2 different locations at the same time. go ask on kiasuparents? thanks bro... dunno.. i think henry park is another one. ai tong is quite far away.. we're in sengkang/punggol area.. no brainer. rosyth then! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged October 31, 2014 Author Share October 31, 2014 go ask on kiasuparents? no brainer. rosyth then! can't praise u again... but yeah, going to research this school further. thanks bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 31, 2014 Share October 31, 2014 I also made it to round 2 of GEP in the 80s but after going thru' the test in some school they never called me back...hahaha. How I made it to round 2 is I cheated with my classmate. Copied each other answer. No wonder can't make it pass round 2. TS, congrats to your son. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged October 31, 2014 Share October 31, 2014 haha parents care a hoot about kids crying meh. GEP SEND! Haha my parents were disappointed that i didn't get in but also probably a bit relieved. Haha they know i not so tok gong. My parents not kiasuparents.com, plus my mom was a teacher herself. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged October 31, 2014 Share October 31, 2014 if you dun feel comfortable of him coping or the GEP school is too far, opt out. My wife niece was selected to go Tao Nan, she opt out yet able to make it to RGS & NYSG after the PSLE. Your wife's niece not your niece? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 31, 2014 Share October 31, 2014 I also made it to round 2 of GEP in the 80s but after going thru' the test in some school they never called me back...hahaha. How I made it to round 2 is I cheated with my classmate. Copied each other answer. No wonder can't make it pass round 2. TS, congrats to your son. It's ok lah. I was crushed by the round 2 paper. Haha first time in my young life, know that I'm jing di zi wa. Remember telling my parents, "It's very difficult. Everything except the english is very difficult" 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 31, 2014 Share October 31, 2014 Your wife's niece not your niece? not direct one no count 要清清楚楚!明明白白! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 31, 2014 Share October 31, 2014 It's ok lah. I was crushed by the round 2 paper. Haha first time in my young life, know that I'm jing di zi wa. Remember telling my parents, "It's very difficult. Everything except the english is very difficult" You are right man. My only recollection of the round 2 was I couldn't answer many of the questions. Most of them got me. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 31, 2014 Share October 31, 2014 top pf gep can be scholar if become president scholar, can be chief of army can be minister of (fill in the blanks) maybe can be pm can earn big bucks just remeber we all the cmmon folks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 31, 2014 Share October 31, 2014 GEP, go for it ... Can postpone NS again & again & again until more 12 years till graduate with Master ........ get scholarship and proceed with Doctorate Degree by then too old for NS.... got someone did it ... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged October 31, 2014 Share October 31, 2014 When I was a little boy.... I passed the second round and was offered a place in Henry Park Primary. But I didn't want to leave my school/friends so opted out. ...and that's why now I'm classified as "boh tak chek". Look @ the bright side, ehm at least u nvr get a chance to be curse n swear by motorists 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic October 31, 2014 Share October 31, 2014 yeah. failed at round 2 23 years ago lol. Some of them are the smartest people i know. Quite a lot of them are definitely MENSA level or close. think u misread. Gift program is top 1%. Mensa top 2% nia. So the gifted chaps are smrter than 1/2 of mensa. Lol top pf gep can be scholar if become president scholar, can be chief of army can be minister of (fill in the blanks) maybe can be pm can earn big bucks just remeber we all the cmmon folks just curious. Is ah loong or any of the minister. From gifted program ? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic October 31, 2014 Share October 31, 2014 I can't even get pass round 1 cause I don't even understand the English. My angmo was horrible in pri school. Congrats! Hope your son can get in. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator October 31, 2014 Share October 31, 2014 25 year ago, my brother hit gep jackpot Go acs, then ri, NTU bio mech He tell me everything so easy No need study Really is genius What abt yourself? Haha. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 31, 2014 Share October 31, 2014 think u misread. Gift program is top 1%. Mensa top 2% nia. So the gifted chaps are smrter than 1/2 of mensa. Lol just curious. Is ah loong or any of the minister. From gifted program ? Must be lah If how to become scholar Maybe even from illuminati Maybe ish alien What abt yourself? Haha. Me? 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LiuDeHua 4th Gear October 31, 2014 Share October 31, 2014 Hello folks.. Don't know if its good news or something more siong ahead... my kid actually got selected into GEP.. We never prepared him for this at all... we didn't even know he gone for Round 1 until he told us he needed to take Round 2 in another school. Any feedback/recommendations if this is actually beneficial for a kid? If it does, which are the recommended schools in NE area? I got kicked out in round 1. So your son is smarter than me. Thats like something that happens once in few hundred years. Congrats bro. Its damn good news for you. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TJX Turbocharged October 31, 2014 Share October 31, 2014 (edited) If ur child can clear round 2, pls dun deprive him of the opportunity. The curriculum are really different to bring out the best potential in them. Gifted is gifted. Cannot be trained. Only those "fake" and tutioned to be gifted can't cope and have to drop out.. Those parents spent so much money juz to tuitioned their kids to be gifted but at the end their children are the ones to suffer.. My friend who is a scholar was going through some gifted program questions with his child. Out of 10 questions he can only answer 3.. His daughter can answer 9!!! And she says the answers juz appear in her mind..That's really amazing.. And she has photographic memory.. If u asked her to recite a paragraph out of a book that she has read at a random page you chose, she can do it. That is really gifted. I was so amazed.. Edited October 31, 2014 by TJX 15 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boringchap Turbocharged October 31, 2014 Share October 31, 2014 Congrats. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...