Turning a Router into a Bridge

Darryn

Wah lau...

You ask me I ask who?

Really no idea man

What you are trying to do is essentially to make your router into a wireless repeater. Your router supports bridge mode, which you correctly got the wired clients to connect to your new router via wireless. What your router probably does not support is the wireless bridge + Access Point mode.

This can be overcome by using the DD-WRT firmware, if it's available for your model. TP-Link has been labelled as cheap Chinese crap with unstable firmware, many have turned to DD-WRT. However, it can be daunting to get it to work. I know, as I have flashed DD-WRT onto my crap TP-Link repeater.

Alternatively, save yourself some headache and buy a proper repeater. For spanking new AC class repeater on the cheap, buy the D-Link DAP 1665: http://www.dlink.com.sg/product/dap-1665-wireless-ac-1200-access-point/ I'm using this to wirelessly repeat my router in the study room, to get coverage to my furthest bedroom.

Some basic wireless facts:

2.4 GHz - Good range, stable connections, but very congested, every neighbour around you is hogging some channel.

5GHz - Fast speed, short range, sometimes unstable connection if you are at borderline signal range.

For the D-Link repeater I'm using, I set the 2.4GHz to talk to my main router, and beam the 5GHz signal for coverage. This is better than the normal 2.4GHz-only repeaters, which will half your network speed because everything runs off the same channel.

Hope you are not confused by the geek-speak. Good luck.

Hi all, sorry to dig up an thread...need IT assistance...

Just gotten a new router Linksys EA8100 and would like to use the old Linksys EA7500 V2 as repeater.

I tried as per this step-by-step link https://smallbusiness.chron.com/add-second-linksys-router-network-47471.html

but couldn’t find the option to change internet connection type to “bridge”...let alone type in info of subnet mask etc pertaining to the new primary 8100 router.

Which part have I missed or is there another way to set this up?

TIA

Just gotten a new router Linksys EA8100 and would like to use the old Linksys EA7500 V2 as repeater.

I tried as per this step-by-step link https://smallbusiness.chron.com/add-second-linksys-router-network-47471.html

but couldnât find the option to change internet connection type to âbridgeâ...let alone type in info of subnet mask etc pertaining to the new primary 8100 router.

TIA

Hmm it's hard to comment without being able to look through your old router access page etc.

If you really cannot find how to convert it to bridge or be a wireless access point to the main router, then I would suggest maybe u try to update the firmware of your ea7500.

Sometimes the newer firmware is easier to find these options.

Any router can be a bridge. Only ones with very primitive firmware like those plug in or travel routers cannot.

but couldn’t find the option to change internet connection type to “bridge”...let alone type in info of subnet mask etc pertaining to the new primary 8100 router.

TIA

Your new router Linksys EA8100 from Starhub may have disable or hide the bridge function 

https://www.linksys.com/sg/support-article?articleNum=291981#s6

2.  What is the default IP address and password of the Linksys EA8100?

The default IP address for this router is 192.168.1.1 and admin is the default password.

3.  How do I set up my Linksys EA8100 to Bridge Mode using my Linksys cloud account?

Contact StarHub for assistance.  Changing the mode other than router mode may interfere with StarHub equipment and/or connectivity. 

4.  How do I configure the Wireless Repeater mode on my Linksys EA8100?

Contact StarHub for assistance.  Changing the mode other than router mode may interfere with StarHub equipment and/or connectivity.

5.  How do I configure the Wireless Bridge mode on my Linksys EA8100?

Edited by Mahjong74

Hmm it's hard to comment without being able to look through your old router access page etc.

If you really cannot find how to convert it to bridge or be a wireless access point to the main router, then I would suggest maybe u try to update the firmware of your ea7500.

Sometimes the newer firmware is easier to find these options.

Any router can be a bridge. Only ones with very primitive firmware like those plug in or travel routers cannot.

I’ve managed to change the internet connection on the new 8100 (supposedly my new primary router) to “bridge mode” using the Linksys SmartWiFi apps but now the laptop is connected to 7500 wifi (supposedly my new secondary router) but no internet connection.

Your new router Linksys EA8100 from Starhub may have disable or hide the bridge function

https://www.linksys.com/sg/support-article?articleNum=291981#s6

2. What is the default IP address and password of the Linksys EA8100?

The default IP address for this router is 192.168.1.1 and admin is the default password.

3. How do I set up my Linksys EA8100 to Bridge Mode using my Linksys cloud account?

Contact StarHub for assistance. Changing the mode other than router mode may interfere with StarHub equipment and/or connectivity.

4. How do I configure the Wireless Repeater mode on my Linksys EA8100?

Contact StarHub for assistance. Changing the mode other than router mode may interfere with StarHub equipment and/or connectivity.

5. How do I configure the Wireless Bridge mode on my Linksys EA8100?

At the shop SH staff said they wouldn’t do it and I have to get someone external to set it up. I guess that’s because they are selling Google repeaters.

Please also see my reply to Lala81...

Iâve managed to change the internet connection on the new 8100 (supposedly my new primary router) to âbridge modeâ using the Linksys SmartWiFi apps but now the laptop is connected to 7500 wifi (supposedly my new secondary router) but no internet connection.

At the shop SH staff said they wouldnât do it and I have to get someone external to set it up. I guess thatâs because they are selling Google repeaters.

Please also see my reply to Lala81...

I don't own linksys router.

What u want is your 8100 to the the router. Your 7500 strictly speaking should be called a wireless access point (serving as a bridge).

Maybe look at this video for help?

I don't own linksys router.

What u want is your 8100 to the the router. Your 7500 strictly speaking should be called a wireless access point (serving as a bridge).

Maybe look at this video for help?

That’s what I’d like to achieve. That setup link seems to suggest adding another router as secondary while retaining the existing one as primary. Unless my comprehension has failed.

Thatâs what Iâd like to achieve. That setup link seems to suggest adding another router as secondary while retaining the existing one as primary. Unless my comprehension has failed.

Yeah. So if u want to set up your 8100 as primary. U need to completely set it up as your new home network by itself first. Later when the setup is completed, Then add your 7500 as a wireless access point.

Ask your kids to settle it lah. Haha

Yeah. So if u want to set up your 8100 as primary. U need to completely set it up as your new home network by itself first. Later when the setup is completed, Then add your 7500 as a wireless access point.

That’s what I did....

Now no internet connection and can’t go back into the Linksys smart WiFi app to change the connection mode even though all devices are still connected to the WiFi via 8100 router.

Thatâs what I did....

Now no internet connection and canât go back into the Linksys smart WiFi app to change the connection mode even though all devices are still connected to the WiFi via 8100 router.

Oh ok. I would advise while setting up your network, to use a lan cable connection via a pc or laptop. If your router is being set up, u won't get wireless access.

Thatâs what I did....

Now no internet connection and canât go back into the Linksys smart WiFi app to change the connection mode even though all devices are still connected to the WiFi via 8100 router.

Oh ok. I would advise while setting up your network, to use a lan cable connection via a pc or laptop. If your router is being set up, u won't get wireless access.

That’s what I did....

Now no internet connection and can’t go back into the Linksys smart WiFi app to change the connection mode even though all devices are still connected to the WiFi via 8100 router.

Your 8100 had been set up as a bridge liao, cannot access the setup page as it does not have a IP address.  You got to start all over again, i.e. press the hard reset button to back to factory default.

Your 8100 had been set up as a bridge liao, cannot access the setup page as it does not have a IP address. You got to start all over again, i.e. press the hard reset button to back to factory default.

This red button? Tried plus power down but nothing happen to the router and the internet connection still not available.

post-163127-0-91128700-1557035310_thumb.jpeg

Did u run a lan cable from New Main Router to yr 2nd router.. In the 1st place?

Lan cable as in the Ethernet cable? Nope, didn’t do that.

I used the laptop (connected to 7500 via Ethernet cable but used 8100 router for WiFi) to get into the Linksys Smart WiFi portal then change the mode to “bridge”. I couldn’t find that option to make the change when I tried using the apps on my iPhone. Should be the same isn’t it?

So your main router is 8100?

Supposedly yes. My old one is 7500. Was going to use the 7500 as repeater or access point or booster...whichever is the right term to it. But I’ve already set the 8100 as the new router using that Linksys apps.

Then I used the laptop to change the mode to bridge- I guess (as suggested by Ender) the 8100 is now a bridge with no IP address.

So you wanna put 7500 away from 8100?

7500 to be near bed room?

Draw a diagram.. Easier to understand haha

Edited by AndrewLee72

So you wanna put 7500 away from 8100?

7500 to be near bed room?

Draw a diagram.. Easier to understand haha

Yes. The aim is to use 7500 in the study room to boost WiFi signal in other bedrooms.

thanks to Ender...I got the 8100 to work again. Typing this using that router now. Enough for 4 hours of itchy backside for the day. I shall tackle the setup again another day. I think I know how it should work liao.

Thanks all for the valuable inputs thus far.