TVT Supercharged October 22, 2014 Share October 22, 2014 I used a Swift 1.5 on track for 3 hours using decent trackday tyres n brake pads. It handled well on the limits in corners and could have gone faster if there's more power to push it!! On track for 3 hours non-stop without any break huh ?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged October 22, 2014 Share October 22, 2014 (edited) On track for 3 hours non-stop without any break huh ?? How can??? The driver needs to rest, pee !!!! Did you drive non-stop from sin to kl 3 hrs but repeat the same corners every 3 minutes??? Boleh?? Kekeke Edited October 22, 2014 by Super7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged October 22, 2014 Share October 22, 2014 Every thread asking for recommendations on cars will finally end up with people preaching about prudence Complete package with extras thrown in?? :-) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged October 22, 2014 Share October 22, 2014 The good thing is the FC, even I often use my heavy right foot whenever I can to whack the gas pedal, is still good eg 13km/l !! So far no major repairs, touch wood. Mai how siao lah bro LOL, how you get 13kml even with heavy foot? You live in Malaysia 90% highway road? I'd happy to get 13kml. It was possible in the first few years when I travel light and super lightfooted. Engine oil choose w30. But it's torturing and did the car's handling no justice. Now? I can get 11kml very happy liao. Suspect my MAF sensor whonky and fuel mix not good. CM say no problem...haiz Ain't these items all wear n tear of every cars? Bottom line ...yes, Swift might be a little rough after a number of yrs and might not age as well as JAZZ but...it is a damn tough cheap car. My wife likes to be driven in my 5 series but when I ask if she would change car with me, she said she is happi with her $60 full tank as compare to mine which is easily more than $100 per fill up. Swift good and cheap la. Err... Ignition Coil and MAF sensors is not exactly wear and tear. More like poor design or quality. Or maybe I whacked too hard. But beside these it's not too bad lah. Could be better. Anyway to be fair, it's still a tough little car by it's own right. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged October 22, 2014 Share October 22, 2014 (edited) I used a Swift 1.5 on track for 3 hours using decent trackday tyres n brake pads. It handled well on the limits in corners and could have gone faster if there's more power to push it!!The gearbox is the bane of the 1.5l AT else it could have performed better. I used to shift to D2 when entering the corners and back to D after I passed the apex. It was perfect, improved tiptronic lol. I dare to say I get more feedback from my swift than my colt. I think I wouldn't even get the colt turbo if I had jump straight to Swift Sport. Btw when did you get your swift? Mine was the 3rd batch in 2006. The 1st shipment that is equipped with steering control buttons. You from Swiftclub sg? Edited October 22, 2014 by Pocus 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
cllq 6th Gear October 23, 2014 Share October 23, 2014 Honestly, I would suggest a Vios. Comfy to drive, good FC. Been driving one and now mileage above 260k km for 8 yr old car, going well. Of coz there r parts to replace due to high wear and tear rate. FYI, im doing 2500-3000km a month. FC varies with the way I drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic October 23, 2014 Share October 23, 2014 I think when my office & home season parking exp Dec 2014, I will make a sales pitch.......swop car......the swift has coe till Q3 2015 over my current's start of Feb 2015....Kana poison... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heman75 Supercharged October 23, 2014 Share October 23, 2014 My advice is get a used car with <5years left .. is this your first sales job? how sure are you to stay in this line or in this company? what is after 2year you don't like sales and want to change? will car be your liability then? I have been in sales job for 20years and I hate it. if not because of the money I wont stay in sales. if you can pull through for the first 3 to 5years then I am sure you should be able to adapt. after that then consider a new car. just get a decent jap used car like vios. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged October 23, 2014 Share October 23, 2014 The gearbox is the bane of the 1.5l AT else it could have performed better. I used to shift to D2 when entering the corners and back to D after I passed the apex. It was perfect, improved tiptronic lol. Sorry typo. I meant "improvised", not "improved". Swift 1.5 AT zc21s has no tiptronic. only standard 4AT. I think when my office & home season parking exp Dec 2014, I will make a sales pitch.......swop car......the swift has coe till Q3 2015 over my current's start of Feb 2015.... Kana poison... What is your current ride? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged October 23, 2014 Share October 23, 2014 Every thread asking for recommendations on cars will finally end up with people preaching about prudence The Question next is ... Does everyone practice what they preach ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged October 23, 2014 Share October 23, 2014 I think when my office & home season parking exp Dec 2014, I will make a sales pitch.......swop car......the swift has coe till Q3 2015 over my current's start of Feb 2015.... Kana poison... LOL, BOOM BOOM ICE included? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged October 23, 2014 Share October 23, 2014 Mai how siao lah bro LOL, how you get 13kml even with heavy foot? You live in Malaysia 90% highway road? I'd happy to get 13kml. It was possible in the first few years when I travel light and super lightfooted. Engine oil choose w30. But it's torturing and did the car's handling no justice. Now? I can get 11kml very happy liao. Suspect my MAF sensor whonky and fuel mix not good. CM say no problem...haiz Err... Ignition Coil and MAF sensors is not exactly wear and tear. More like poor design or quality. Or maybe I whacked too hard. But beside these it's not too bad lah. Could be better. Anyway to be fair, it's still a tough little car by it's own right. Bro, bo hao siao!! A 1.5 is better than smaller engine for purpose of good FC coz it works less hard to go quick. I do travel mainly on CTE, KPE, MCE a lot and keeping to constant 80 to 100kmh after accelerating hard to reach such speeds, then cruise at these speeds. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged October 23, 2014 Share October 23, 2014 The Question next is ... Does everyone practice what they preach ... Ahh, I do learn n get good results from an over weigh dietitian on weigh loss. So... :-) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged October 23, 2014 Share October 23, 2014 Mine 1.5 has 5AT Sorry typo. I meant "improvised", not "improved". Swift 1.5 AT zc21s has no tiptronic. only standard 4AT. What is your current ride? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged October 23, 2014 Share October 23, 2014 My advice is get a used car with <5years left .. is this your first sales job? how sure are you to stay in this line or in this company? what is after 2year you don't like sales and want to change? will car be your liability then? I have been in sales job for 20years and I hate it. if not because of the money I wont stay in sales. if you can pull through for the first 3 to 5years then I am sure you should be able to adapt. after that then consider a new car. just get a decent jap used car like vios. Good advise, going beyond technical aspects, but including medium terms finacial / career considerations! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged October 23, 2014 Share October 23, 2014 How can??? The driver needs to rest, pee !!!! Did you drive non-stop from sin to kl 3 hrs but repeat the same corners every 3 minutes??? Boleh?? Kekeke Oh I see... No, I don't think I had driven non-stop for 3 hours before, even during my road trips up North. The most is 2 hours plus, probably, IIRC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged October 23, 2014 Share October 23, 2014 You may be aware that he was driving mostly without traffic jams (highway driving). Perhaps he also took wrong drugs, so took over 2 years to do calculation Honest mistake: first time drove with powered steering... You can really see the pictures clearer than most of us :-) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged October 23, 2014 Share October 23, 2014 (edited) Mine 1.5 has 5AT Huh? 5AT cannot be! Which is your swift? This? Or this? Edited October 23, 2014 by Pocus ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...