Berncsp76 6th Gear October 20, 2014 Share October 20, 2014 This is the correct way of moving off from a side road to the main road, the same rule applies to junctions too..as I remember from the old school type private instructor that guides me. Many times motorists learn the wrong way of merging from a side road to main road and looking at the traffic instead of the car in front, eg using the same rule on expressways. The STOP line is there for a reason. So TS, do pray hard that the teksi uncle dun chut pattern ok?claim whip lash and bumper damage. Lucky that you had your video. One very good rule of thumb (or maybe call it a hard lesson) is never look at main road traffic as long as there is a car in front of you that hasn't cleared. Eyes must be fixed firmly on vehicle in front. Only after he's merged should you check for major road traffic and even then check your blind spots on both sides before moving because some absolute idiots on motorbikes choose to play games with their lives and your licence/freedom by hugging the side of your car at a turn. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KaKiLang 4th Gear October 20, 2014 Share October 20, 2014 You mean get 3rd party, and everyday 提心吊胆when driving? No, dont have to, when driving just bear in mind my "right of way" is always share with so many others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged October 20, 2014 Share October 20, 2014 Good question, no idea... lol In fact, my premium is pretty cheap, $772. (NCD 55%) May be next year double ba. For someone w a clean record n NCD @ 50%+5%COM, I would expect u to be prudent to buy NCD protector. There will be 2 grps of thot regarding purchase of NCD but I trust myself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged October 20, 2014 Share October 20, 2014 any experienced driver can easily stage accident like this, thus, i don't rule out the taxi driver did it on purpose to enjoy the claim benefits, but no one can be sure if it is true. This uncle must hv ready cash else his deposit w Comfort will be wiped out and he will hv to pay another round of deposit. Even if found not to be his fault, his first deposit will not be refunded so fast. My fren was involved in an accident with a bus, his taxi was parked and he was clearing his stuff when a bus came ramming him. This happened in Jan. Ruled not his fault, till now he hasn't got his first deposit back nor seen any settlement $$ including his hospitalization bills which he had to pay himself. Therefore, do some justice to those driving TD and stop having such tots. Cos staging accident amongst workshop is more common then what u mentioned. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic October 20, 2014 Share October 20, 2014 (edited) Most Taxi drivers are very unreasonable,you hit them from the back,they sure said you are in the wrong,claim huge amount of money,i still remember my worker riding Moto,just slightly hit a taxi,because he stopped suddenly to pick up pax,he claimed $4000.00 for damages,but the moto,did not damage at all,his claim are damaged bumper & brake lights,i told my insurance company,"IF" my moto caused such damages,my worker should be dead by now ... if they[taxi] hit your back,they sure got alot of excuses... ..that is why, i stay clear of Taxis..while driving... Edited October 20, 2014 by ER-3682 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged October 20, 2014 Share October 20, 2014 No, dont have to, when driving just bear in mind my "right of way" is always share with so many others. After driving for so many yrs or maybe I old liao, I don't believe in "right of way". Even if I hv right of way, I will opt for win win way. I strongly believe in not letting workshop, insurance n lawyer ripping us off even if the other driver don't hv right of way. If by giving way to the other driver with bigger ego n I can prevent an accident, I will do it though he/she might be wrong. Most Taxi drivers are very unreasonable,you hit them from the back,they sure said you are in the wrong,claim huge amount of money,i still remember my worker riding Moto,just slightly hit a taxi,because he stopped suddenly to pick up pax,he claimed $4000.00 for damages,but the moto,did not damage at all,his claim are damaged bumper & brake lights,i told my insurance company,"IF" my moto caused such damages,my worker should be dead by now ... if they[taxi] hit your back,they sure got alot of excuses... ..that is why, i stay clear of Taxis..while driving... The way the general public n u put it, sound like the TD driver decides the compensation quantum. Don't forget who are @ the top of foodchain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fibo 4th Gear October 20, 2014 Share October 20, 2014 This uncle must hv ready cash else his deposit w Comfort will be wiped out and he will hv to pay another round of deposit. Even if found not to be his fault, his first deposit will not be refunded so fast. My fren was involved in an accident with a bus, his taxi was parked and he was clearing his stuff when a bus came ramming him. This happened in Jan. Ruled not his fault, till now he hasn't got his first deposit back nor seen any settlement $$ including his hospitalization bills which he had to pay himself. Therefore, do some justice to those driving TD and stop having such tots. Cos staging accident amongst workshop is more common then what u mentioned. I am sorry I didn't know much how claiming works in Comfort. But according to what you said, why the taxi driver chose not to settle privately when the damage is minor? Perhaps he doesn't know the 'unfair' claim practice at Comfort? btw, may I clarify what do you mean by 'his first deposit will not be refunded so fast'? I don't know much but I assume when one register as a taxi driver with a taxi company, he pays a deposit and the deposit will only be refunded when he de-register with the company? Perhaps that is your friend's situation? That is why it took longer than usual (because he got accident and then de-register from the company immediately). Otherwise, if he continues to drive with the taxi company after it ruled that the accident is not his fault, his deposit will not be affected, i.e. no 'another round of deposit' to be paid. ? I am sorry if I made all the wrong assumption but I would like to know the clarifications. Great day! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
renhau 3rd Gear October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 Siao liau. At least 3k. I kena b4. Taxi some more. God bless u, Bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 should have just offer taxi lao no less than 300 to settle on the spot. Agreement must be signed though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 I am sorry I didn't know much how claiming works in Comfort. But according to what you said, why the taxi driver chose not to settle privately when the damage is minor? Perhaps he doesn't know the 'unfair' claim practice at Comfort? btw, may I clarify what do you mean by 'his first deposit will not be refunded so fast'? I don't know much but I assume when one register as a taxi driver with a taxi company, he pays a deposit and the deposit will only be refunded when he de-register with the company? Perhaps that is your friend's situation? That is why it took longer than usual (because he got accident and then de-register from the company immediately). Otherwise, if he continues to drive with the taxi company after it ruled that the accident is not his fault, his deposit will not be affected, i.e. no 'another round of deposit' to be paid. ? I am sorry if I made all the wrong assumption but I would like to know the clarifications. Great day! TD aside, how many times have our trust being misplaced after opting for private settlement? Perhaps, this could be the reason why some drivers don't want private settlement. And for this case, this driver happen to be driving a taxi. Iirc for my fren's case, he hv to pay 1k deposit. Not sure now still the same. Upon accident, the Company call him down to pay another 1k before he gets another vehicle to drive. He was issued with another vehicle as Corona was being phased out. He might be compensated for loss of income for that period of time but he walked away with permanent damage like inability to sit down for long without feeling aching and numbness in his hip and leg. It does affect his income but this is something that he has to put up with. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 Add to situation awareness, some people will stop even at those filter roads without the give way lines. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swifter78 2nd Gear October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 TS, don't be surprised by the amount the Taxi driver will claim you. Be prepared! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thegodzilla 1st Gear October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 One thing driving instructor don't teach u Don't ever look at right side until the car in front of u has already join the lane. I see many drivers didn't look at front in this situation instead look at right traffic. There isnt a need for them to do that as its not ur turn entering the lane. Yes u beat me to it haha Also must observe ur left side before u move on, many idiot bikes overtake ur left during this situation. UP this AGAIN! IF there's only 2 things I remember firmly from my instructor's tips from over a decade ago (ok.. I know not as long as most ppl here), THIS is one of them. 1) Do not look right when turning from filter lane as long as there's a car in front of you. Only after you see that it has clearly merged and driven off, do you look to your right when its your turn. I cannot stress how important this tip is. The other not as important. 2) As long as you can see the full front of the car behind you (on either your right or left lane) in your middle rear view middle, you should have enough space to cut across. Safely of course. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 i don't understand how can 1 admit to be 100% at fault but feel that the other driver is the kayu one? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 Hi Bro & Sis, Due to my careless, bang into taxi backside. https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=22CE05F99DB75C62!900&authkey=!AFDqSvPPungs218&ithint=folder%2cpdf I admit it is my fault for not observing the taxi closely. If you view the photos taken, in fact, the taxi has no impact rather my japanese car. Well, he don't wish to private settle, he says go report.... I had watched the video repeatedly, i personally feel that he could have filtered out. Sharp or smooth break, Watch the video the comment it ba. (It all depends on how drivers view it). I know you guys would ask me how come i did not brake, because i am looking at right side, knowing that there is no incoming car, slowly let go brake who knows he sharp brake, and if you watch the video there is no incoming car at all. One of the video he walked out and said there is incoming car. I shall be reporting tomorrow morning, just want to see how forumers response, of course, i know i am paying tho. no need to think so much, 1) hit any car backside means one's fault, even minor damage. taxi driver confirm will go get MC to claim loss of income. If no report, how to claim? 2) lesson learnt, at slip road, NEVER take your eyes off the front car until he moves off, THEN check the main road traffic. All of accidents result from this mistake. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 Siao liau. At least 3k. I kena b4. Taxi some more. God bless u, Bro. u are too kind, 8k more likely Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tian6970 1st Gear October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 TS just your luck was not with you that day. Go & invest Ah gong pool, hope you can get some returns I must thank TS too, from his video, we learn or start to remember what we should aware when we are at the junction. Sometimes we are so use to our habit of driving, that forget some precaution or points we learn before. Have a good day Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivanpaseo 2nd Gear October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 common mistake for newbie or even season driver. i tio once.... and learn from it.. Always always remember if there is car in front of you, u make it a habit to only look front until when the car full filter out then you should check your right... Eyes must always look front!!!!!! and make sure car in front completely filter out then u check right!!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...