Singapore to build more barriers to deter illegal landings

Duckduck

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/singapore-to-build-more-barriers-to-deter-illegal-landings-082605799.html

"He also shared that 46 vessels were seized over the past three years for intruding into Singapore, while 144 people were arrested for entering our waters illegally or attempting to land illegally by sea. 49 of them were arrested last year alone."

i wonder how many didnt get caught & are now wandering our island...

When I NS that time my unit in Sungei Gedong we sometimes got passby Sarimbun Reservoir can see 2 or 3 fellows in sampan just berth there and walk to Neo Teo. I dunno whether they are local or from Johor coz no way of telling. They see us also it's like norm. If I tell my occifer also no use coz we are just NSF, "stay out of trouble" is our motto. Anyway my occifer also not blind, he saw what I saw.

What do you expect? I mean we are so close to Johor coast, coast guard can't be everywhere also lah. Surely there will be ppl who get caught and some who got away. Who knows? Ppl from Sgp side also illegally enter Johor the same way? It's just that Johor dun bother much. LoL...

On 10/19/2014 at 2:57 PM, Duckduck said:

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/singapore-to-build-more-barriers-to-deter-illegal-landings-082605799.html

"He also shared that 46 vessels were seized over the past three years for intruding into Singapore, while 144 people were arrested for entering our waters illegally or attempting to land illegally by sea. 49 of them were arrested last year alone."

i wonder how many didnt get caught & are now wandering our island...

...why come by sampan when you can take flight and come in thru' changi...of coz can

get a free degree from their own country first... aneh, ationg ,pinoy and mynmar have been doing that...many are not spotted in their work place....till now.

  On 10/19/2014 at 4:23 PM, Watwheels said:

When I NS that time my unit in Sungei Gedong we sometimes got passby Sarimbun Reservoir can see 2 or 3 fellows in sampan just berth there and walk to Neo Teo. I dunno whether they are local or from Johor coz no way of telling. They see us also it's like norm. If I tell my occifer also no use coz we are just NSF, "stay out of trouble" is our motto. Anyway my occifer also not blind, he saw what I saw.

What do you expect? I mean we are so close to Johor coast, coast guard can't be everywhere also lah. Surely there will be ppl who get caught and some who got away. Who knows? Ppl from Sgp side also illegally enter Johor the same way? It's just that Johor dun bother much. LoL...

the CO of 46 SAR has caught some ii during live firing at basic main range.

while the BX are firing, they spotted ii hiding for cover. must be a scary experience for the ii...... [sweatdrop]

On 10/20/2014 at 1:16 AM, Vega said:

while the BX are firing, they spotted ii hiding for cover. must be a scary experience for the ii...... [sweatdrop]

wahaha... maybe chase them back into their sampans using section live firing on real targets!

On 10/20/2014 at 1:40 AM, Picnic06 said:

Might as well build this around the whole of Singapore .... [sly]

This kind of walls look more like against zombies in world war Z [:p]

On 10/20/2014 at 1:08 AM, Kezg1 said:

...why come by sampan when you can take flight and come in thru' changi...of coz can

get a free degree from their own country first... aneh, ationg ,pinoy and mynmar have been doing that...many are not spotted in their work place....till now.

coz the illegal immigrants may also b drug n contraband runners...

  On 10/20/2014 at 1:36 AM, Duckduck said:

wahaha... maybe chase them back into their sampans using section live firing on real targets!

the ii too scared to run liao. legs like jelly already.

should ask these ii for feedback.................how is the fire power of our BX? [laugh]

On 10/20/2014 at 1:16 AM, Vega said:

When issit ? So got report them to police or not ? Or use them as live target ? Good training for the soldiers.

Great Wall of Merlion?

Great idea! 1 stone kills 2 birds - keep rising sea level from intruding, at the same time keep out illegal immigrants.

On 10/20/2014 at 1:40 AM, Picnic06 said:

Might as well build this around the whole of Singapore .... [sly]

Edited by Kangadrool

  On 10/20/2014 at 3:57 AM, Rollagt said:

When issit ? So got report them to police or not ? Or use them as live target ? Good training for the soldiers.

1999 or 2000 can't remember. CO use bino to check target bun before firing and saw people walking. gather 1 section of nsf with live rounds into rover and drive to the target bun that is 1 to 2 klicks away. Brought them back to camp and hold them at guard house until police came.

Not bx yet, still m113 with 25mm chaingun, 12.5mm hmg and 40mm agl. Spotted them before firing starts.

If not for CO spot them, iis become pizza.

Edited by Pocus

  On 10/20/2014 at 4:09 AM, Pocus said:

1999 or 2000 can't remember. CO use bino to check target bun before firing and saw people walking. gather 1 section of nsf with live rounds into rover and drive to the target bun that is 1 to 2 klicks away. Brought them back to camp and hold them at guard house until police came.

Not bx yet, still m113 with 25mm chaingun, 12.5mm hmg and 40mm agl. Spotted them before firing starts.

If not for CO spot them, iis become pizza.

should be around that time. CO was Tham Cheong Yen. My OC during my active days.

actually, my ex colleague told me this incident who happened to be under his command during that time.

you from 46 SAR?

On 10/20/2014 at 4:26 AM, Vega said:

should be around that time. CO was Tham Cheong Yen. My OC during my active days.

actually, my ex colleague told me this incident who happened to be under his command during that time.

you from 46 SAR?

Eh ! my CO is also him ! But I din hear about this episode leh. Me from HQ Medic. :)

On 10/20/2014 at 5:48 AM, Rollagt said:

Eh ! my CO is also him ! But I din hear about this episode leh. Me from HQ Medic. :)

maybe that time they were short of FT construction workers so they ended up with work permits? LOL