Pmet 3rd Gear January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 I dun ascribe to change of citizenship. I m born here and i m not a quiters, unlike the MIW's children who moved overseas.. Why should I change the country I live in juz because the political system is screw up. It's the political party that needs to be changed.. Vote wisely guys.. Not for us but for our children. Exactly! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 I dun ascribe to change of citizenship. I m born here and i m not a quiters, unlike the MIW's children who moved overseas.. Why should I change the country I live in juz because the political system is screw up. It's the political party that needs to be changed.. Vote wisely guys.. Not for us but for our children. Well said bro!!!!!! Well said!!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 I dun ascribe to change of citizenship. I m born here and i m not a quiters, unlike the MIW's children who moved overseas.. Why should I change the country I live in juz because the political system is screw up. It's the political party that needs to be changed.. Vote wisely guys.. Not for us but for our children. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TJX Turbocharged January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 Former professor Cherian George challenges NTU to reveal why he was denied tenure — twice Yahoo Newsroom Jeffrey Oon 1 hour 11 minutes ago Cherian George has had enough. After almost a year skirting around the issue, the former Nanyang Technology Univesity professor has challenged his previous employer to lay bare the facts behind his denial of tenure in 2013 that forced him to seek employment abroad. George, who has been working at Hong Kong's Baptist University as an Associate Professor since last August, wrote on his blog late on Tuesday that he had no choice but to speak up after NTU President Bertil Andersson's latest comments to influential education website Times Higher Education. "I have moved on, but unfortunately the NTU president’s unprovoked smear left me no choice but to respond with the facts. I have done so and have nothing more to add," said George in an email to Yahoo Singapore on Wednesday. Andersson said in the interview via Times Higher Education that George's refusal of tenure — a position of full and continued employment with the university — was down to "academic" reasons and not "political". Dr George “was subjected to the same scrutiny as everyone else” and that “one can have different opinions if that academic decision [by] our tenure committee was right or not. That is an academic decision. But the decision was not political,” said Andersson. George, through a blog post titled simply as "A Clarification", said he had immediately asked Andersson to "retract his misspoken words" as it cast doubt on his impeccable 10-year academic record during his time with NTU. Although the NTU president did eventually issue a clarification that “there was no intention to lower the reputation or standing of Dr George in his field of work”, George said it failed to "reduce the sting of his published remarks". "They amount to a statement by the NTU president that the reason I was forced to leave his university was that I was unable to meet its academic standards required for tenure," wrote George in a post that's been shared over 3,000 times on Facebook. "His comments are thus... incorrect, insensitive and injurious to the reputation of a Singaporean forced to reestablish his career outside his home country by his employer’s failure to treat him like other academics," he added. He has now challenged NTU to disclose all documents relevant to his tenure case, either to the general public or to education experts. He has also agreed to waive any confidentiality rights if full disclosure is made, ending his post with "If NTU declines, that is its prerogative — but any embarrassment it avoids would not be mine." NTU has replied in a statement that it has "already stated its position on several previous occasions and will not be making any further comments", reported The Straits Times. George, who was a reporter and editor with Singapore's flagship newspaper The Straits Times during the 1990s, joined NTU's school of communication and information in 2004. A frequent critic of the government during his days at ST and well after, he was promoted in 2009 to associate professor but denied tenure, despite meeting the university's academic and scholastic criteria and consistently high performance appraisals. He revealed that in 2009 he was only told of a “perception” that his critical writing could pose a “reputational risk” to the university in the future. A year later, NTU blocked the school's attempt to renew his position as head of journalism, a faculty that trains and grooms potential journalists. He was again denied tenure in 2013 despite being urged to reapply, and his appeal was subsequently rejected. His contract ended in February last year with no possibility of renewal. When he left Singapore, he issued through his blog a stinging rebuke of the powers that be that denied his tenure twice. "Let me be clear that the handful of decision-makers who have made it impossible for me to continue on the academic track in Singapore have no say over my sense of belonging to my country or my vocation. That power resides instead in those whom I care about and respect, like the many, many friends, professional peers, students, fellow citizens and strangers who spoke up and reached out," he wrote. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 Former professor Cherian George challenges NTU to reveal why he was denied tenure — twice Yahoo Newsroom Jeffrey Oon 1 hour 11 minutes ago Cherian George has had enough. After almost a year skirting around the issue, the former Nanyang Technology Univesity professor has challenged his previous employer to lay bare the facts behind his denial of tenure in 2013 that forced him to seek employment abroad. George, who has been working at Hong Kong's Baptist University as an Associate Professor since last August, wrote on his blog late on Tuesday that he had no choice but to speak up after NTU President Bertil Andersson's latest comments to influential education website Times Higher Education. "I have moved on, but unfortunately the NTU president’s unprovoked smear left me no choice but to respond with the facts. I have done so and have nothing more to add," said George in an email to Yahoo Singapore on Wednesday. Andersson said in the interview via Times Higher Education that George's refusal of tenure — a position of full and continued employment with the university — was down to "academic" reasons and not "political". Dr George “was subjected to the same scrutiny as everyone else” and that “one can have different opinions if that academic decision [by] our tenure committee was right or not. That is an academic decision. But the decision was not political,” said Andersson. George, through a blog post titled simply as "A Clarification", said he had immediately asked Andersson to "retract his misspoken words" as it cast doubt on his impeccable 10-year academic record during his time with NTU. Although the NTU president did eventually issue a clarification that “there was no intention to lower the reputation or standing of Dr George in his field of work”, George said it failed to "reduce the sting of his published remarks". "They amount to a statement by the NTU president that the reason I was forced to leave his university was that I was unable to meet its academic standards required for tenure," wrote George in a post that's been shared over 3,000 times on Facebook. "His comments are thus... incorrect, insensitive and injurious to the reputation of a Singaporean forced to reestablish his career outside his home country by his employer’s failure to treat him like other academics," he added. He has now challenged NTU to disclose all documents relevant to his tenure case, either to the general public or to education experts. He has also agreed to waive any confidentiality rights if full disclosure is made, ending his post with "If NTU declines, that is its prerogative — but any embarrassment it avoids would not be mine." NTU has replied in a statement that it has "already stated its position on several previous occasions and will not be making any further comments", reported The Straits Times. George, who was a reporter and editor with Singapore's flagship newspaper The Straits Times during the 1990s, joined NTU's school of communication and information in 2004. A frequent critic of the government during his days at ST and well after, he was promoted in 2009 to associate professor but denied tenure, despite meeting the university's academic and scholastic criteria and consistently high performance appraisals. He revealed that in 2009 he was only told of a “perception” that his critical writing could pose a “reputational risk” to the university in the future. A year later, NTU blocked the school's attempt to renew his position as head of journalism, a faculty that trains and grooms potential journalists. He was again denied tenure in 2013 despite being urged to reapply, and his appeal was subsequently rejected. His contract ended in February last year with no possibility of renewal. When he left Singapore, he issued through his blog a stinging rebuke of the powers that be that denied his tenure twice. "Let me be clear that the handful of decision-makers who have made it impossible for me to continue on the academic track in Singapore have no say over my sense of belonging to my country or my vocation. That power resides instead in those whom I care about and respect, like the many, many friends, professional peers, students, fellow citizens and strangers who spoke up and reached out," he wrote. Cannot praise you yet, but thanks so much for reminding us of Cherian George's case and why this country's political system is oh-so-broken. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 this is indeed a sucker punch. local parents are paying through their nose for the children's education and even resorting to cpf for help. others can just take and 拍拍屁股走人。。。enough said. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super366 2nd Gear January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 (edited) this is indeed a sucker punch. local parents are paying through their nose for the children's education and even resorting to cpf for help. others can just take and 拍拍屁股走人。。。enough said. If we do not give free hamburgers...would you come into my house and play with my kids so that they have a chance to pick up tips from you? Sucker punch? Or big box? This C George only lite and lite so, he can swing a deal to bring in 18 Science Park? For the peons like me trying to make good, it is a no brainer. Other people can teach my kids how to write angmo. I think buay song is neber ask us permission for house party. But then again, do your parents or betters ask us for permission. Do they need to? Maybe mom will make me kneel on rocks. our culture our ways. Not angmo way. Edited January 7, 2015 by Super366 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 If we do not give free hamburgers...would you cone into my house and play with my kids so that they have a chance to pick up tips from you? Sucker punch? Or big box? This C George only lite and lite so, he can swing a deal to bring in 18 Science Park? For the peons like me trying to make good, it is a no brainer. Other people can teach my kids how to write angmo. I have to say that I am having extreme difficulty in understanding what you're writing. Perhaps it's not just your kids that need to be taught how to write "angmo". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TJX Turbocharged January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 (edited) Give free hamburgers to others at the expense of your kids not having enough to eat?? Would you?? As a parent, the well being of my children is my top priority. A parent who gives free hamburgers to others while his children are starving... Does it make sense to you?? I believe charity begins from hm.. If you are not even charitable to you own family members, dun act generous in front of others. Edited January 7, 2015 by TJX 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 If we do not give free hamburgers...would you come into my house and play with my kids so that they have a chance to pick up tips from you? Sucker punch? Or big box? This C George only lite and lite so, he can swing a deal to bring in 18 Science Park? For the peons like me trying to make good, it is a no brainer. Other people can teach my kids how to write angmo. I think buay song is neber ask us permission for house party. But then again, do your parents or betters ask us for permission. Do they need to? Maybe mom will make me kneel on rocks. our culture our ways. Not angmo way. i rather think the mum and dad threw an all expense paid party for the guest....use each room including the children's...use the family's money..but the children was not invited....or the children need to pay for their own food n drinks but sent away to the neighbours'. How the children feel siak? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super366 2nd Gear January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 i rather think the mum and dad threw an all expense paid party for the guest....use each room including the children's...use the family's money..but the children was not invited....or the children need to pay for their own food n drinks but sent away to the neighbours'. How the children feel siak? The apple fell fall from the tree? Or you mean our neighbors up north who sent their children, i might add talented children this way...siak? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 The apple fell fall from the tree? Or you mean our neighbors up north who sent their children, i might add talented children this way...siak? sorry.....now u really dont make sense.....and your ....siak....is use in a wrong way! U local? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TJX Turbocharged January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 sorry.....now u really dont make sense.....and your ....siak....is use in a wrong way! U local? Perhaps he is using google translate from chinese to English... Local will say durian drop from tree. Not Apple.. 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 I dun ascribe to change of citizenship. I m born here and i m not a quiters, unlike the MIW's children who moved overseas.. Why should I change the country I live in juz because the political system is screw up. It's the political party that needs to be changed.. Vote wisely guys.. Not for us but for our children. Well said Bro :)) We are all borned here, our roots are here, we are citizens on this piece of land called Singapore ! We should not be migrating to any other country becos of the political power here, else we are no different from those FTs that migrated here and whom we locals do not like... We should change the policies so that we locals will continue to stay here and so do our children and grand-children :) This is afterall our land, our Home :) 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 Perhaps he is using google translate from chinese to English... Local will say durian drop from tree. Not Apple..i also use apple as an example.....durian to big and spiky! But ya....i think he is a foreigner trying to be a local. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged January 13, 2015 Share January 13, 2015 http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/govt-set-more-anti-corruption-measures-public-service-pm-lee since need to have MORE anti-corruption measure... does it mean that those public service officials HAVE to return their ''anti-corruption pay'' if they are caught?? or are they juz trying to cook up a story to give themselves a pay rise again?? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged January 15, 2015 Share January 15, 2015 me thinks next big erection is cumming this yr end after NDP or 1q16 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
antelop 5th Gear January 15, 2015 Share January 15, 2015 http://m.ibtimes.com/chinas-president-xi-jinping-makes-just-1600-month-1180885 Politcians in other major economies are taking home less than one quarter vs Singapore ministers. For PAP to perform better than the 2011 election, our multi millionaire ministers have to cut their salary to the global norms, otherwise it is very difficult for them to earn the respect from the public, despite all the enviable track record in the last 50 years of successfully building this country with one of the best infrastructure and prosperous economic models in the world. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...