Ktglfc Hypersonic October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 Yahoo news: A bad taste in the mouth: Hawker food prices jumped 20% since 2012, reveals new study Can average consumers still afford it? Singapore is known for its excellent and affordable food, but a survey released today by the Consumers Association of Singapore revealed that hawker food prices have increased by 10-20% for most food items since 2012. The survey was conducted in July 2014 and covered 503 hawker food stalls selling five common food items--Chicken Nasi Briyani, Chicken Rice, Fishball Noodles, Roti Prata and Mixed Vegetables Rice. Compared with the previous price survey conducted in December 2012, the mode prices have increased by 10 cents to 50 cents for all dishes except Fishball Noodles. The survey also found that the percentage of hawkers selling food below the mode price has decreased. Most of the hawkers have moved to sell their food at higher mode prices over the past two years. "Nonetheless, we believe that hawker food prices are generally affordable to the average consumer because there are still substantial numbers of stalls selling hawker food below the most common price," noted the report. link: https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/bad-taste-mouth-hawker-food-071500275.html Our salary does not jump 10% but food jump 20%... The rich will feel nothing, the middle class will feel itchiness, but the really poor, will be the ones that suffer in pain :( Some are already only having 2 meals a day.. and with this increase, can't imagine whether some of the less forunate ones will actually skip a meal further or not... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 Even hawker the want to have pay increment. I guarantee u if u email to destination box no one read. Just email directly to minister in charge. If it make sense they will get someone to follow up. Then... U will see things done. My uncle selling satay once told me, increasing 5cent per stick, he took back $150 more per day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 Ohh, so you mean to say you have the ability to buy an Altis for each of your family members la (lets assume yourself, wife, and maybe 2 kids), at 60k a pop without COE? If no Coe Altis less than 40k. I can buy 1 altis then buy another i20 for my wife. Then buy a r2 for my daughter. All with less than 100k. Now I pay 100k buy 1 car. Suddenly can buy 3 car. Very cheap. Plus no coe mean can drive for life. I keep all my car. Then keep buying new car every 5 years. Very soon I got a fleet liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 Our puny land size has no need of GRCs and who's in charge of where. Its a joke, really. I'll just repeat what I have said before. Even without COE, the unker/aunty living in the flat next to you is not going to suddenly own a car the next day. The teenage kid (who has a licence) doing part-time jobs whilst waiting for NS, or even serving NS, isn't going to be able to afford a car also. Removing COE doesn't magically make a car cost only $1. So after removing COE how to solve problems arising from over population of cars? Are you sure you have a good way that is realistically useful. And I remembered that back when COE is low, every Tom dick and hairy also buy cars, what make you think that overcrowding won't happen? So after removing COE how to solve problems arising from over population of cars? Are you sure you have a good way that is realistically useful. And I remembered that back when COE is low, every Tom dick and hairy also buy cars, what make you think that overcrowding won't happen? Omg, this is no COE thread, OT already Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 muahahaha ... COE related to everything under the sun hearsay, COE also cause low fertility in singapore .... in order to boost fertility ... must give free COE .... lol Omg, this is no COE thread, OT already Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 If no Coe Altis less than 40k. I can buy 1 altis then buy another i20 for my wife. Then buy a r2 for my daughter. All with less than 100k. Now I pay 100k buy 1 car. Suddenly can buy 3 car. Very cheap. Plus no coe mean can drive for life. I keep all my car. Then keep buying new car every 5 years. Very soon I got a fleet liao. How did you arrive at 40k? New costs 121k leh, and now Cat B is 72K ... so its should be ard 50k liao, including some more additional mark up by dealer to compensate. (My bad, I thought Altis was Cat A in my earlier post). But still, lets say a range of 100k-150k for 3 cars. You able to fork out for all 3 at one go? I assume the rules will change IF there's no more COE, and would probably include things like almost full-cash policies etc etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 How did you arrive at 40k? New costs 121k leh, and now Cat B is 72K ... so its should be ard 50k liao, including some more additional mark up by dealer to compensate. (My bad, I thought Altis was Cat A in my earlier post). But still, lets say a range of 100k-150k for 3 cars. You able to fork out for all 3 at one go? I assume the rules will change IF there's no more COE, and would probably include things like almost full-cash policies etc etc. The mark up extra is due to lesser car sold. If no Coe no limit of car they will lower margin to attract more buyer. Then u just take a look at their Omv and do a mark up. Won't be 50k. Plus don't have to buy altis can buy lancer which is cheaper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 Hawker centre for common folks, Food Court and Above no need to say. So common folks, best to start cooking @ home n go feast at hawker centre during festive season. Unfortunately for them "common folks", buying groceries, meat, veggie and other daily necessities from the supermarkets is also very expensive, compared to across the causeway, or even compared to US. Every layer of business is demanding high margins to cover the high business costs (rental, logistics, transport (no thanks to COE and ERP) various fees). High labour costs is OK since the workers are paid more and they have more to spend. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldbug 6th Gear October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 Our puny land size has no need of GRCs and who's in charge of where. Its a joke, really. I'll just repeat what I have said before. Even without COE, the unker/aunty living in the flat next to you is not going to suddenly own a car the next day. The teenage kid (who has a licence) doing part-time jobs whilst waiting for NS, or even serving NS, isn't going to be able to afford a car also. Removing COE doesn't magically make a car cost only $1. GRC win big, lose also lose big Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 So after removing COE how to solve problems arising from over population of cars? Are you sure you have a good way that is realistically useful. And I remembered that back when COE is low, every Tom dick and hairy also buy cars, what make you think that overcrowding won't happen? Back then, every Tom dick and hairy bank had almost full-loan schemes available. Now, with COE we already have the 40/50% dp rule liao. I foresee 90/Full cash if COE is removed. And also, not everyone drives to work. I certainly don't do it on a daily basis. Am a petrolhead by nature so my ride is mainly for spirited driving at night/weeeknds. Season parking in CBD area is freaking ex, and its also limited. Not everyone who owns a ride is going to be able to park at where they work, so the situation isn't going to be as bad as everyone thinks. And with the reasons stated, not everyone is going to feel a need to buy a car and turn Singapore into Jakarta. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 Back then, every Tom dick and hairy bank had almost full-loan schemes available. Now, with COE we already have the 40/50% dp rule liao. I foresee 90/Full cash if COE is removed. And also, not everyone drives to work. I certainly don't do it on a daily basis. Am a petrolhead by nature so my ride is mainly for spirited driving at night/weeeknds. Season parking in CBD area is freaking ex, and its also limited. Not everyone who owns a ride is going to be able to park at where they work, so the situation isn't going to be as bad as everyone thinks. And with the reasons stated, not everyone is going to feel a need to buy a car and turn Singapore into Jakarta. Problem is. That is what u think. When Coe is cheap ppl just complain say gahmen didn't build enough car park. U think no Coe they will not say the same??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 Problem is. That is what u think. When Coe is cheap ppl just complain say gahmen didn't build enough car park. U think no Coe they will not say the same??? You can always make it such that only when you have a valid season parking in your estate only then can you buy a car lor. So, in a way, its first come first serve/luck/etc. Most people treat their cars as just a tool to get from point A to point B. I don't ... my ride is my pride and joy, and I certainly hate to see it go after 10yrs, or to have to pay an exorbitant amount just to extend its lifespan by another 10yrs. Its precisely because of this that's why we don't have much of a car culture here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 Most people treat their cars as just a tool to get from point A to point B. I don't ... my ride is my pride and joy, and I certainly hate to see it go after 10yrs, or to have to pay an exorbitant amount just to extend its lifespan by another 10yrs. Its precisely because of this that's why we don't have much of a car culture here. if noe 10yr coe forcing pple to scrap or renew, imagine the # of old cars jamming up hdb n condo parking lots n roadside lots... basically we'll end up like boleh, indo n tomyam Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 if noe 10yr coe forcing pple to scrap or renew, imagine the # of old cars jamming up hdb n condo parking lots n roadside lots... basically we'll end up like boleh, indo n tomyam Huh? How would no COE lead to rusting cars in HDB/Condo parking lots? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 You can always make it such that only when you have a valid season parking in your estate only then can you buy a car lor. So, in a way, its first come first serve/luck/etc. Most people treat their cars as just a tool to get from point A to point B. I don't ... my ride is my pride and joy, and I certainly hate to see it go after 10yrs, or to have to pay an exorbitant amount just to extend its lifespan by another 10yrs. Its precisely because of this that's why we don't have much of a car culture here. So we become like hong kong?? Meaning car park lot next time we can sell for 100k?? Sound like another form of coe to me. Huh? How would no COE lead to rusting cars in HDB/Condo parking lots? Because there will be ppl that won't buy new car. And since don't need to scrap just leave it even if buy new car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolad 5th Gear October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 The low birth rate was mainly due to the fact that they were too successful in the birth control 40 years ago............so successful that LKY did mentioned it himself............it is a chain of effect......... Tat was to LKY's credit...but the new "management" seems totally incapable of solving core issues... just like this low birth-rate thing... they have been trying to reverse it for at least the last 10-15years.... but getting no where... it's their emphasis on GDP, Pro-MNC, zero safety net for pple's job tat caused the birth rate to go downhill then ever... Most of their policies of late are really shallow and not well-thought off... even the COE, CEV thing also prata... issues on FT... go restrict FW which we need and not those trash PMET that are flooding the country... now even introduce wat VC thing to endanger national security.... and despite all these .... still taking hm their million dollar salaries.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 (edited) So we become like hong kong?? Meaning car park lot next time we can sell for 100k?? Sound like another form of coe to me. Because there will be ppl that won't buy new car. And since don't need to scrap just leave it even if buy new car. Right now, if you are in a populous estate and your car park is always full, you still have to LLST and wait for a slot to be opened up. No difference. And if you sell your car park lot, where do you intend to park your own ride? Also if you leave your old car in the lot to rust, you are also losing one slot for your new car. Don't think anyone in their right mind would just leave it there and LPPL??? Edited October 21, 2014 by Hotshot85 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear October 21, 2014 Share October 21, 2014 I expect much better analysis coming from a businessman, not the "motherhood" statements and the obvious without the specifics. Nothing new..., we know all that. For those who are more mature in age or years, you would have heard or known about The Far East Economic Review (FEER) and HKP. Not reading too much into it with this article coming out around this time. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...