How to scrap/deregister car?

Fcar

Tried to read up on what to do with my coming 10 yo car but I am still confused.

Appreciate any help here. 

My car is due for de-registration on 14 Jan 2017. So is the procedure like this:

1. a few days before 14 Jan 2017, apply for LTA Pin.

2. 14 Jan 2017, drive to any LTA scrapyard.

And they will take over the paperwork?

Tried to read up on what to do with my coming 10 yo car but I am still confused.

Appreciate any help here. 

My car is due for de-registration on 14 Jan 2017. So is the procedure like this:

1. a few days before 14 Jan 2017, apply for LTA Pin.

2. 14 Jan 2017, drive to any LTA scrapyard.

And they will take over the paperwork?

I just scrapped my car last week myself.

Very simple:

1) Go to onemotoring and submit online request for Transaction Pin (T-Pin) for your soon-to-be-scraped car.

2) LTA will snail mail you the T-Pin to your residential address based on their records within 5 working days (mine took about 2-3 days).

3) With the T-Pin, drive your car to any of the 3 scrapyard (I went to Kheng Keng Auto at Sungei Kadut based on online good reviews).

4) Within 15mins, all the paperwork settled.

5) Kheng Keng paid me a bit for my car metal body and whereas for your remaining min PARF and COE balance, you would need to go onemotoring again to apply to encash them either to your bank account or via cheque.

6) Road tax balance  will also be refunded back to you.

As simple as that.

Just 2 quick note of advice:

Kheng Keng Auto is quite ulu at Sungei Kadut and I doubt you can hail a cab off the streets, thus you have to call cab.

For me, I leisure walk from the scrapyard to Yew Tee MRT, about 20-30mins walk, simple to walk route, not difficult at all.

The ger at scrapyard told me that nearest bus stop from their scrapyard also is about 15mins walk away anyway.

Dekit whatever you want from your car, so long the engine and car body is still intact lor.

Hope this helps.

Some additional info.

If for some reasons drag until last minute, you can go to LTA sin Ming and get the T-pin (a sealed envelope) over the counter on the spot. Then bring the T-pin together with the form for deregistration (download from one motoring website and fill up) and your NRIC and drive to scrap yard. They will take over from there on. Everything can settle within 1 day. I went kheng Keng auto. They quote me the highest among the 3 scrap yards I called.

Just take note LTA there maybe need to queue. Peak hours are about 11 to 2pm. I went about 3 plus close to 4pm. Got queue but move fast. Less than an hour can get Tpin already.

I just scrapped my car last week myself.

Very simple:

1) Go to onemotoring and submit online request for Transaction Pin (T-Pin) for your soon-to-be-scraped car.

2) LTA will snail mail you the T-Pin to your residential address based on their records within 5 working days (mine took about 2-3 days).

3) With the T-Pin, drive your car to any of the 3 scrapyard (I went to Kheng Keng Auto at Sungei Kadut based on online good reviews).

4) Within 15mins, all the paperwork settled.

5) Kheng Keng paid me a bit for my car metal body and whereas for your remaining min PARF and COE balance, you would need to go onemotoring again to apply to encash them either to your bank account or via cheque.

6) Road tax balance  will also be refunded back to you.

As simple as that.

Just 2 quick note of advice:

Kheng Keng Auto is quite ulu at Sungei Kadut and I doubt you can hail a cab off the streets, thus you have to call cab.

For me, I leisure walk from the scrapyard to Yew Tee MRT, about 20-30mins walk, simple to walk route, not difficult at all.

The ger at scrapyard told me that nearest bus stop from their scrapyard also is about 15mins walk away anyway.

Dekit whatever you want from your car, so long the engine and car body is still intact lor.

Hope this helps.

You really walk from the scrapyard to yew tee mrt! Not say very far and yet still quite a distance to walk le!

Anyway, for those who are scrapping car soon yourself, you should apply the T-pin through online as early as 1 month before the scrap date, dont wait until last minute. Also if possible, drive to scrapyard at least 2-3 days before the de-registered date of the car, to avoid any unforeseen circumstance happen. Lol.

Yup, no need prior appointment. But you may want to just give them a buzz beforehand just to ask them how much your car metal body and see if you happy not. Apparently the rate changes every month.

Yah lor, not far yet not near from scrapyard to Yew Tee mrt. For me, I just pretend I at overseas walking and sightseeing (minus the luggage lor haha).

Bunch of XMMs at Kheng Keng auto from Bolehland based on their accent, quite efficient and fast actually.

I drove and reached there at 830am on the dot, so in fact was the very first one. After 5mins later few cars start streaming in liao.

Yup, no need prior appointment. But you may want to just give them a buzz beforehand just to ask them how much your car metal body and see if you happy not. Apparently the rate changes every month.

Yah lor, not far yet not near from scrapyard to Yew Tee mrt. For me, I just pretend I at overseas walking and sightseeing (minus the luggage lor haha).

Bunch of XMMs at Kheng Keng auto from Bolehland based on their accent, quite efficient and fast actually.

I drove and reached there at 830am on the dot, so in fact was the very first one. After 5mins later few cars start streaming in liao.

Good la, you can still pretend the walk from scrapyard to mrt as if like overseas sightseeing. The service at kheng kheng indeed quite efficient and fast, they can get it done quite fast on paperwork and before you know it, the worker there already taken you car into their holding area liao. Lol.

Want to scrap Liao so not expecting much for the metal. But Simeone msg me that they can collect the car and settle the payment so I dun hv to drive down to scrapyard. What shd I look out for if I choose this method?

read this so many times, wonder how true.

For eg, can I just ask workshop to take out whatever they can, as long as left engine and body ? Doors can remove ?  [laugh]

read this so many times, wonder how true.

For eg, can I just ask workshop to take out whatever they can, as long as left engine and body ? Doors can remove ? [laugh]

Yup. Just chassis and engine. No need wheels, axles even. But you need to transport it there la.

You can even remove the engine and it's parts and just leave the block where the engine number is stamped. LTA Scrap yards have no right to reject you. Just that they might give you a dirty look cause you give them nothing to sell.

Edited by Mkl22

Want to scrap Liao so not expecting much for the metal. But Simeone msg me that they can collect the car and settle the payment so I dun hv to drive down to scrapyard. What shd I look out for if I choose this method?

at least a few hundred for the metal, if u think not worth the trouble then let others earn lor

If next ride the wheel PCD same same, can take out and use as spare wheel/tyre since new cars now mostly come without. Extra 3, sell online as spare wheel/tyre also. [laugh] 

Edited by Kangadrool

Yup. Just chassis and engine. No need wheels, axles even. But you need to transport it there la.

You can even remove the engine and it's parts and just leave the block where the engine number is stamped. LTA Scrap yards have no right to reject you. Just that they might give you a dirty look cause you give them nothing to sell.

Wonder anyone actually does that? So can take the rims, brakes etc.....then ask tow truck to tow to scrapyard?

yup. but of course you need a place to store all the stuff la. when was the last time you replaced a door, the bonnet the brake caliper, wheel hub? space is a premium in SG. if you live in a large house to store stuff you are probably rich enough not to bother about such parts. if you are like me, too poor, then you have to think about paying storage cost for something which you might never use for a long long time.

Theoretically yes. But if unforeseen delays happen and you didn't manage to scrap on 01feb which is the last day... First, you have to pay a late charge, could be $100 can't recall. Second, from 02feb onwards you can't drive to scrapyard. You have to pay for tow truck to tow your car to scrapyard.

Tks. If my car is due on say 01Feb, can I go to the scrapyard on 01Feb and scrap?

yup. but of course you need a place to store all the stuff la. when was the last time you replaced a door, the bonnet the brake caliper, wheel hub? space is a premium in SG. if you live in a large house to store stuff you are probably rich enough not to bother about such parts. if you are like me, too poor, then you have to think about paying storage cost for something which you might never use for a long long time.

Tks, wonder if I can go to scrapyard and dekit at the same time? Any scrapyard does that?