Lala81 Hypersonic October 10, 2014 Share October 10, 2014 btw,just asking,if we regularly switch 'on' & 'off' for those power 'vampires' like Starhub box,routers,etc; will it shorten their lifespan? and will those hot water washing machines consume MUCH more electricity than normal ones.coz the one i have is default using hot water. if really significant difference, have to change laundry pattern already. currently once a day. i believe yes to the former question. But save electricity lor. Unless it's something like modem which is being used at least half the time... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged October 10, 2014 Share October 10, 2014 my 5rm flat mthly utilities bill is average $130....electricity is 2/3 of the bill...5 persons in the household... aircon 2 rms on from 9pm till 5.30pm... modem on 24hrs, fridge 24hrs...washing machine once/day...storage water heater on 30mins before bathtime and off after 1 hr daily Wow, how did you do it? My average bill is $200 !!! 5rm & 5 pax also.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic October 10, 2014 Share October 10, 2014 LOL, every 2 years when renew contracts or new service providers evaluation, you get new sets. Don't worry about spoiling... btw,just asking,if we regularly switch 'on' & 'off' for those power 'vampires' like Starhub box,routers,etc; will it shorten their lifespan? and will those hot water washing machines consume MUCH more electricity than normal ones.coz the one i have is default using hot water. if really significant difference, have to change laundry pattern already. currently once a day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 10, 2014 Share October 10, 2014 +1 seriously... I thought my usage alright... but it looks like I'm getting shafted somewhere by someone. This thread give me heartache... mine is 230++ with ac on only once in a while......waliao......how sia? Wow, how did you do it? My average bill is $200 !!! 5rm & 5 pax also.... mine is 2 adult 1 child + 1 who comes back on weekend......nb......more than yours.....sianz! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged October 10, 2014 Share October 10, 2014 If the power for the electric heater (for shower) is turned on 24hr everyday, will the increase in electricity usage be very significant? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged October 10, 2014 Share October 10, 2014 mine is 230++ with ac on only once in a while......waliao......how sia? mine is 2 adult 1 child + 1 who comes back on weekend......nb......more than yours.....sianz! Wau pian eh......you more jialat than me!! You use airpot? You on PC 24/7 ? How come ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latio2005A Turbocharged October 10, 2014 Share October 10, 2014 (edited) I also live in three bedrooms unit. -5 people (with three children). -Cook most of the week-day nights and some weekend afternoons. - Big fridge, lightings mostly LED, fans, ceiling fans, 2 x LCD TVs, 5 x notebooks plus 1 desktop PC (all always in used) etc - 3 x split AC for rooms with one compressor, 1 x big BTU unit for living room with a separate compressor, nightly 2 bedrooms AC for first few hours, living room AC when hot during dinner - three toilets - Front load washing machine, using dryer almost everyday - 1 x central water heater And we use City gas. Total av bill for the past year or so: $220 (I don't even bother to turn off those devices on standby mode.) Edited October 10, 2014 by Latio2005A Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear October 10, 2014 Share October 10, 2014 4 room,3 pple,cook everyday aircon on usually 2-3 hr before sleep for 2 rooms average $110-$120 last time 2 person also $130-$140 dont know why dropped for pass 2 years..maybe its the tv and lights that save the cost after reno.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged October 10, 2014 Share October 10, 2014 I think if you have a front-loading washing machine with heater, that also suck a lot of power. When I switch from front to top loading (non-heated) water, the bill seemed to go down quite a fair bit. Front load can choose to use cold water too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged October 10, 2014 Share October 10, 2014 If the power for the electric heater (for shower) is turned on 24hr everyday, will the increase in electricity usage be very significant? It should. Heating appliances usually uses a lot of electricity. Same as kettle, iron and airpot. If you left it on 24/7, then it is even worse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 10, 2014 Share October 10, 2014 Wau pian eh......you more jialat than me!! You use airpot? You on PC 24/7 ? How come ah? airpot........24/7 switched on! Ya hor........maybe thats the culprit! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latio2005A Turbocharged October 10, 2014 Share October 10, 2014 If the power for the electric heater (for shower) is turned on 24hr everyday, will the increase in electricity usage be very significant? Yes, of course. Try to time the family bathing time - i.e. heat up one drum load, and it shd be able to provide hot water for all in the family. Turn the switch off after that. Even then, the remnant of the hot water inside the tank can stay hot for at least a few more hours without the need to turn on the switch. This is from my experience, and it should save us quite a bit, and prolong the life of the water heater. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryanyusoff 2nd Gear October 10, 2014 Share October 10, 2014 LOL, every 2 years when renew contracts or new service providers evaluation, you get new sets. Don't worry about spoiling... IF it lasts that 2 years..before 2 yrs still must LLST replace. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryanyusoff 2nd Gear October 10, 2014 Share October 10, 2014 Front load can choose to use cold water too. but my washer indicates higher temp, lesser time to wash. lower temp,takes longer to wash. which one saves more electricity? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear October 10, 2014 Share October 10, 2014 Yes, of course. Try to time the family bathing time - i.e. heat up one drum load, and it shd be able to provide hot water for all in the family. Turn the switch off after that. Even then, the remnant of the hot water inside the tank can stay hot for at least a few more hours without the need to turn on the switch. This is from my experience, and it should save us quite a bit, and prolong the life of the water heater. That's for the storage heater type. Turning on 24 hours is a massive waste of electricity. I installed a mechanical countdown timer switch (similar to the picture) so that whoever goes in for a shower, will have just enough hot water for their shower (usually 5 to 7 minutes of heating). 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueblueman 4th Gear October 10, 2014 Share October 10, 2014 maybe she mean 609 for half a year or every quarter She meant to say, minus the 0 Wuhahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear October 10, 2014 Share October 10, 2014 using the same thing too. how long have u been using yours ? @others: you can get this at selected homefix stores. That's for the storage heater type. Turning on 24 hours is a massive waste of electricity. I installed a mechanical countdown timer switch (similar to the picture) so that whoever goes in for a shower, will have just enough hot water for their shower (usually 5 to 7 minutes of heating). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic October 10, 2014 Share October 10, 2014 She meant to say, minus the 0 Wuhahahaha Why you talk about my mom like that! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...