Utilities bill for 3-room HDB

Bluepica

hmm.. looks like my electricity consumption super low compared to u guys..condo -3A+2C, 2hr tv daily , induction cooker, aircon nightly.~$160 mthly. Maid home 24 hrs.

2 points to contribute. .

1)One time, I switched off electric appliances( unplug) in the house except for fridge. only to find the meter to be racing.. After check the switches and plug, I found the heater still on. After the heater is off.. The meter slow down significantly.. so I think heater is probably a bigger factor than inventor aircon.

2) I was using a "electric saver" after my 2nd child. My wife bought it frm some mummy forum..and I dun think much about it. Some months this year , i decided to "test" it and unplug it..The bill went up by 20-30 for a couple of mth. and after I plug it back.. It went down again. So I think it probably works

Edited by ShepherdPie

hmm.. looks like my electricity consumption super low compared to u guys..condo -3A+2C, 2hr tv daily , induction cooker, aircon nightly.~$160 mthly. Maid home 24 hrs.

2 points to contribute. .

1)One time, I switched off electric appliances( unplug) in the house except for fridge. only to find the meter to be racing.. After check the switches and plug, I found the heater still on. After the heater is off.. The meter slow down significantly.. so I think heater is probably a bigger factor than inventor aircon.

2) I was using a "electric saver" after my 2nd child. My wife bought it frm some mummy forum..and I dun think much about it. Some months this year , i decided to "test" it and unplug it..The bill went up by 20-30 for a couple of mth. and after I plug it back.. It went down again. So I think it probably works

That is low, do you stay in HDB or private?

And which heater are you referring to? water storage heater? Usually i just on this during shower and off otherwise.

That is low, do you stay in HDB or private?

And which heater are you referring to? water storage heater? Usually i just on this during shower and off otherwise.

condo... my cooker is electric , my helper cooks 3 meals a day. :)

storage heater.

Edited by ShepherdPie

condo... my cooker is electric , my helper cooks 3 meals a day. :)

storage heater.

Wow, indeed very low then, 1 aircon nightly on or 2 aircons?

Mine is almost exactly like yours in terms of usage, but 2 aircons on nightly, bill about 230-250/mo

I'm using an electricity meter to monitor usage. It's called efergy. around 430kwh of power every month which is approx $120. 2 a/c every night about 10-11 hrs. 2 adults and 3 young kids. But we hardly cook and during weekdays no one is home in the day. The a/c are pretty efficient daikin units and I guess the main contributing factor is that the rooms do not not get much sun and it's rather cool most of the time. With the energy meter you can see that the inverter switches to low power mode quite fast.

Edited by Mkl22

Wow, indeed very low then, 1 aircon nightly on or 2 aircons?

Mine is almost exactly like yours in terms of usage, but 2 aircons on nightly, bill about 230-250/mo

1 aircon -temp ard 27 degree.. ha ha.. not sure it make a big difference. ;)

I'm using an electricity meter to monitor usage. It's called efergy. around 430kwh of power every month which is approx $120. 2 a/c every night about 10-11 hrs. 2 adults and 3 young kids. But we hardly cook and during weekdays no one is home in the day. The a/c are pretty efficient daikin units and I guess the main contributing factor is that the rooms do not not get much sun and it's rather cool most of the time. With the energy meter you can see that the inverter switches to low power mode quite fast.

Bro mine is Inc of water...hmm if just electricity ...is abt yours.. 440-450kwh. And we love to cook.. so weekend , fresh steam fish , double boil soup is normal.

Edited by ShepherdPie

Yes a/c at 27c saves about 20% compared with 25c. If you are anal about usage. An energy meter like mine really helps to track consumption.

Folks... one area u may wanna look into is your ac itself.

Like.. how long ago it was getting cleaned internally.

For mine.. longest time I tried 'service' myself, thought just washing the filter is good enough, then one fine day the cooling efficiency became noticably poor.

The Operation indicator was ON constantly despite the temp at 26deg.

Then to a point even at 18deg the room took a long while to cool. Buay tahan..Called for servicing.

The tech took out the cover, cleaned the filters and drum, which I never touched for the past over 10 years, and vacummed the outside drainage pipe.

Guess what.. even at 26deg the room cooled down in a mere couple minutes, and the Operation indicator only came on occasionally.

But at 27 degree is there a need to use aircon at all? I find my house ambient temperature at night is also around 27-28 degrees already. If set at 27 degrees might as well leave the windows open and use fan instead. Saves even more electricity.

there's still a difference especially if the natural breeze is not consistent. Aircon not matter how, is still more comfortable for sleep especially for infants. Mine set at 27C too even though outside temp could be 25/26C. It actually feels quite chilling towards the 4am time.

But at 27 degree is there a need to use aircon at all? I find my house ambient temperature at night is also around 27-28 degrees already. If set at 27 degrees might as well leave the windows open and use fan instead. Saves even more electricity.

Edited by Kangadrool

errr.. efergy, how much is it? and how does it helps for applications that does not get plug in to wall socket such as aircon ?

my 2 babies are little ovens..when they are in the room.. the temp raise by 2 degree :P

In any case, they dun like to use the blankets.. so we keep the temp at 26-27 so they catch cold.

The killer seems to be fridge. No a/c, most e bill seems to be $100. Does fridge need $40 - $50/mth to run ?

Also which activity at home use the most water?

nope. not the fridge. if you get the 4ticks models, consumption is very low.

the guzzlers are the following.

1. storage heater

2. hot water flask

3. aircon

4. computers that are on 24/7

5. TVs that are on for long periods

the aircon compressor units consume approx 50w even when they are off. there is an internal heater that keeps the compressor oil mixed in the system. so if you do not use your aircon for long periods its better to turn off the compressor at the mains. but note that you need approx 3-4hours after you switch on the mains to use the aircon so that the heater can heat up the oil not allow it to settle in the compressor oil reservoir.

the rest like fans and lights do not really consume that much.

errr.. efergy, how much is it? and how does it helps for applications that does not get plug in to wall socket such as aircon ?

http://sg.rs-online.com/web/p/digital-power-meters/6903863/

cheap la..

i use AA and AAA lithium batteries for the units and they easily last 1-2years.

Edited by Mkl22

nope. not the fridge. if you get the 4ticks models, consumption is very low.

the guzzlers are the following.

1. storage heater

2. hot water flask

3. aircon

4. computers that are on 24/7

5. TVs that are on for long periods

the aircon compressor units consume approx 50w even when they are off. there is an internal heater that keeps the compressor oil mixed in the system. so if you do not use your aircon for long periods its better to turn off the compressor at the mains. but note that you need approx 3-4hours after you switch on the mains to use the aircon so that the heater can heat up the oil not allow it to settle in the compressor oil reservoir.

the rest like fans and lights do not really consume that much.

http://sg.rs-online.com/web/p/digital-power-meters/6903863/

cheap la..

i use AA and AAA lithium batteries for the units and they easily last 1-2years.

Looks interesting. How is it being used?

last night there was a door-to-door guy selling " electricity savers"

claiming to "save up to 30%" less on usage per month..

had a whole book of receipts to show alot of customers signed..

i just put it down to snake oil.. and rejected politely..

waas thinking might as well sell to HDB better right.. save them alot $$..

hmm...