Any LED TV to recommend?

kobayashiGT

Please read my post #24. Avoid Sharp please. My Sharp 52" 3D LED TV panel spoil in just 1 year and 10 months. And I don';t even use the TV heavily.

dunno le, i use a sharp 60" LED for more than a year and my dad has been using sharp (same tv for 6 years, he always kpkb my mum wont let him change tv till this one conks out).

so far, they are the cheapest and willing to throw in the most stuff. i dont need so high end, can watch tv can already.

(incidentally, i have a mac mini hooked up to my tv with an app called "tvshowsapp" .. google it if you want to. basically, can auto subscribe and download tv shows. quite convenient. i also use the mac for browsing the internet on my tv. can use ipad or iphone as the remote and input [look for an app called rowmote professional] )

Hahahha. Don't want. No bezel i also scare. Scare my $1000 only can tahan 2 years.

I looking to "invest" this $1,000 for at least 4 to 6 years one. hahha.

Samsung TV comes with no bezel, pictures right to the very edge .. [:)]

I don't know why... but Sharp to me always looked less "sharp" than the others... also lots of ghosting. Seems like a slow panel. And they've had issues with quality. So many bad news about Sharp.

Sharp tvs to me are dam lousy at upscaling especially SD broadcasts.

In japan, many TVs are sharp. And it's really clear. cos they broadcast in 1080p there.

Anyway panel only 1 yr warranty. Stay away from sharp. Especially when everyone else is offering 2-3 yrs all in warranty.

Just for infor, most brands TV LED screens made & supply by Samsung screen factories in various part of Asia.... :ph34r:

Hahahha. Don't want. No bezel i also scare. Scare my $1000 only can tahan 2 years.

I looking to "invest" this $1,000 for at least 4 to 6 years one. hahha.

Ha..ha..ha.... you just missed 'Gain City' Expo Hall sales 2 weeks ago..... [cool]

LED TV very cheap, 52" less than $900/- .... [sunny]

Got 32" sold at $399/- ... [smash]

Just for infor, most brands TV LED screens made & supply by Samsung screen factories in various part of Asia.... :ph34r:

Ha..ha..ha.... you just missed 'Gain City' Expo Hall sales 2 weeks ago..... [cool]

some buy-1-get-1 free, and they give away the 32" [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

TV must be as big as possible. My 42 bought 5 years ago seems too small to me. Will get a 60 inches one when the current one conk out.

But I think it is my eyesight failing me.😳

Mine is 60" Sony 3D TV. Sony promo last year they absorbed the GST, gave me extra 4 glasses (so total 6 active glasses), plus bracket, a 32GB Xperia Tablet Z, a $100 Takashimaya voucher and 3 years warranty for TV.

I also had $400 Harvey Norman vouchers converted from my credit card points. So ended up paying $1800 only. After selling the Tablet Z for $400...

total damage is about $1400 for a 60" 3D Smart TV... ok... its only an R series and not even W... let alone X.... still look good on my wall I think... but must buy 80" next time :D

SONY ...anytime for me...

the longest was over 12 years..BRAVIA..32"

then tried SHARP..so cannot make it..not even 2 years.. [furious]

now back to SONY 47"..display set from Courts..with extended warranty.

but hor...my 21" AKIRA still working fine leh..over 8 years liao! [sweatdrop]

ARE YOU SERIOUS BRO?

projector-tv.gif

Hahhaa. Don't try selling to Gurung Guni hor. Last time when my dad sell this to gurung guni when getting the Panasonic Plasma TV, The projector TV is in working condition, but the gurung guni only eat for $50 bucks.

Dunno now this worth how much. hahah.

If you are lucky they take from you for free, if not they may even charge you $50 now to dispose! :D

ARE YOU SERIOUS BRO?

projector-tv.gif

Hahhaa. Don't try selling to Gurung Guni hor. Last time when my dad sell this to gurung guni when getting the Panasonic Plasma TV, The projector TV is in working condition, but the gurung guni only eat for $50 bucks.

Dunno now this worth how much. hahah.

Ya of course serious

Bought for 3k plus 13 years ago

Still working hardly use so don't see the need to change

Peasant bo bian

If you are lucky they take from you for free, if not they may even charge you $50 now to dispose! :D

Stay hdb no need worry about heavy items disposal lah

Many years ago, when i was into Home theatre,, Skyworth use to be value for money high quality DVD player. Ddin't know they venture into TV liao.

when my son plugged his PS 3 he showed me the diffrence and recently he upgraded to ps4....ya the skyworth picture is darn crisp when playinn ps 4......my toshiba cant compare.....as it was technology of ten yrs back! The only one to compare is durability whether the skyworth can last longer than the 8 yrs my toshiba is doing!

thanks for the info bro,

but u r spot on. I am giving it an excuse to buy new one. LOL

hahaha......i can read a guy like an open book! Repair it......less than 100 bucks and you still can buy that new LED.....the older obe can put inside room, kitchen or toilet for that peaceful and uninterrupted moments........hahaha!

Hahha. I know. Sumsung is the biggest sub-contractor for various TV maker for the LED panel.

Woah! Why my Plasma TV don't spoil earlier?!?!?!? [bigcry]

Hahaha. Last time the 3K damn BIG. Can buy PROJECTOR TV.

hahaha.

Ya of course serious

Bought for 3k plus 13 years ago

Still working hardly use so don't see the need to change

Peasant bo bian

Stay hdb no need worry about heavy items disposal lah

I have a Sony which serve me well and a little in to it's 2nd year of service , the screen had some problems so we called Sony to come have a look.

What was to follow was the most ridiclous thing I had ever heard "Sir , we will have to put in an order for the screen and the part will take 1 year to arrive".

I'll never buy another Sony again.

I have the same experience as you... blue screen after 3 years....

never buy sony again...

Hahaha. Last time the 3K damn BIG. Can buy PROJECTOR TV.

hahaha.

That why last time those people who can buy projector TV are damn big [loaded]. [thumbsup]

My bedroom Samsung 32" LCD is not even FHD, only 720.

Used for so many years already, refused to spoil. Cannot upgrade to new one.. [grin][grin]

Suggestion : turn off the TV mains power. Use a dripping wet cloth to clean the TV, especially those ventilation slots at the top. You will have a chance to upgrade to new TV. Seriously I am joking [smash] , so don't take up my suggestion.

In this case, @kobayashigt Congratulations for the opportunity to upgrade TV [bounce1] .

Toshiba consider high end? Might go down to courts this weekend and see see look look.

toshiba to me is not fantastic and its colour is so-so.

Do report back on any good deal. Maybe help see also 60" got lobang or not... [:p]

there was a lcd repair thread.......guy charges oni 70-80 bucks! Do a search.....will save u the money unless u were actually giving it an excuse to buy new ones.........hahaha!

there's one a ubi , next to the shop that sell stickers...