In-Car Camera Installation

Sparcoray

Connecting it to car battery will not boid your car warranty. :)

My Mazda sales agent told me if I install camera outside, the warranty will be voided. Will double check with the service staff.

According to the website, the Cellink B battery can charge in 1hr 20 mins. I should be spending about 1 hour plus on the road every day (driving to office and back etc...) Does it really charge that fast?

I have the cellink-B connected to my DR650, I drive 1-2 hours a day and the DR650 continues recording in parking mode 8-10 hours through the night, non-stop.

As per Blackvue website the cellink-B can power the DR550 (same power consumption as the DR650) for 18 hours.

So you don't have to force yourself to drive for 1-2 hours per day. Even if your cellink-B is half charge it should be able to record continuously when you park at your car at the car park at night.

My Mazda sales agent told me if I install camera outside, the warranty will be voided. Will double check with the service staff.

GongJiaoWay.jpg

Hmm....i doubt what your Mazda SA said is true. He may be enticing you to go to him for installation instead.

To confirm, best is to refer to your warranty booklet that comes with the car. Whole lot of words, but worth the read.

When i went for my first 1000km servicing, my blackvue DR650 2Ch units were already installed by Blackvue ADs. I had them connected to the battery via the circuit board. SA noticed but did not say anything about warranty void. He even replaced my entire motor fan for free (warranty)

What I am trying to say is that things that may void warranty is if you modify critical parts eg headlights, motor, air con system, etc that may affect the normal performance of a car.

eg if you do install something that exceeds the battery capacity and battery dies as a result, that warranty may likely be void because it goes beyond what the machine is designed for normal use.

Best to read the warranty booklet to familiarise your rights.

Cheers bro, and good luck!

Edited by Cicada1810

Well I guess you guys kena those jialat ones la, this guy came to my aid 3 times already as he was in my area and didn't charge me for it.

Edited by Fizal82

I have the cellink-B connected to my DR650, I drive 1-2 hours a day and the DR650 continues recording in parking mode 8-10 hours through the night, non-stop.

As per Blackvue website the cellink-B can power the DR550 (same power consumption as the DR650) for 18 hours.

So you don't have to force yourself to drive for 1-2 hours per day. Even if your cellink-B is half charge it should be able to record continuously when you park at your car at the car park at night.

I personally think cell link b is just a waste of money lor, might as well I install a separate car battery for my electronics such as my sound system and all! Freaking 400++ for that small battery is rather dumb! Edited by Fizal82

I personally think cell link b is just a waste of money lor, might as well I install a separate car battery for my electronics such as my sound system and all! Freaking 400++ for that small battery is rather dumb!

does your car camera shuts off by itself when you go "boom boom boom"?

and won't you need to change your alternator to a high output one to support dual car battery?

personally for me I went with the Cellink as I do not want to temper with the car electronics.

It is a small price to pay from a non-EE grad perspective.

Dear All,

Does anyone has lobang to install blackvue (2Ch) camera for front and rear? Thanks

Call this guy by the name Sky. He'll go to you and installation at the convenience of your home,. 86821003 Edited by Fizal82
  • Dislike 2

Bros here, I need some advice. I am considering between Blackvue D6650GW and iRoad v7, both with 24/7 capability.

I am told that Blackvue would require 'power magic' (external battery), otherwise it will drain the car's battery.

As for iRoad v7, I need NOT install the 'power magic' as it will not drain the car's battery (by much I presume).

Any comments on these two statements? iRoad v7 would be much cheaper, considering not having the external battery.

Thanks.

Bros here, I need some advice. I am considering between Blackvue D6650GW and iRoad v7, both with 24/7 capability.

I am told that Blackvue would require 'power magic' (external battery), otherwise it will drain the car's battery.

As for iRoad v7, I need NOT install the 'power magic' as it will not drain the car's battery (by much I presume).

Any comments on these two statements? iRoad v7 would be much cheaper, considering not having the external battery.

Thanks.

Most if not all car cameras have 24x7 recording capability, it depends on how you wire up your car camera.

If you connect your car camera directly to the cigarette lighter socket your camera powers down whenever you shut off ignition.

If you connect your car camera to your car fuse, either your camera powers down when you shut off your engine or your camera depletes your car battery (you will have a difficult time starting your car the next day). The Power Magic device functions to shut down your car camera when your car battery voltage drops too low.

I am a happy Blackvue user, never tried the iRoad.

Thanks.

If you look around including amazon , some people already complaining about DR650GW having lens fogging issues in humid weather same as previous versions of blackvue .

On the other hand i think Thinkware is under-rated and you should try giving it a look. It uses the same processor as GoPro ( ambarella ) which in my opinion gives better video quality , 1080p for both front and rear and also better reliability. Also packed with alot of other features . Also the camera comes with inbuilt powerpack which means you dont need to buy an additional one.

However , price wise it may not be the best option. But i would say if you have the budget for a blackvue then you should just go thinkware.

My friends and i bought it at the march IT show and ever since we didnt have any regrets . [thumbsup]

Never tried iroad too so cant comment =)

Edited by Bape85

somewhere in Oct I ask them to help me change car key battery, they charge $10 for 2 batteries.... my car was parked further away, after battery change, I went back to car, still indicate car key battery low, I drove up to them and tell them my car indicate battery low, the fella say my key spoil liao... I say rubbish... then he brought my car key into the shop, came back out... say he help me open and polish/rub clean dunno simi thing....and it worked fine... so I left.... in 2-3 weeks, my key indicate low batt again...... was in JB and went to a workshop change 2 battery for rm16... now still working fine.. no low batt warning

I suspect, they did not change my battery the first time... I already tried my best to ensure it was really changed by looking at what they were doing.... 2nd time I went back, I suspect they change either 1 or 2 used batteries for me

small money wasted no problem.... but I have doubts on their integrity....... so this is a place to avoid for me

f

You may try testing using the multi tester whether it read 3volts, if yes probably they gave you a different brand. Mine was the battery price was two and a half times cheaper volts the same but weak both make in Japan so throw away n get the right brand type n back to normal.

Thanks.

V7 has the 'power magic' built-in to the set.

you may select the cut off voltage through the app in your smart phone. same goes for downloading or transferring of clips/photos.

anyone using itronics itb-100 spw?

i got a new unit running firmware 1.2 and i got problem saving the setting.

i need to downgrade to firmware 1.1 and it's not available in ipass website already.

anyone downloaded v1.1 firmware before? can upload to a hosting site and share? thanks!

https://forum.dashca...k-v1-4-0.11327/

latest version is 1.2 > http://ipassmall.co....t&ss=ITB-100SPW

Below are some guide for camera installation done by workshop (excluding using lighter):

Method 1 - Cheap Solution cost $20.00

Make a small cut on one of the power cable and tap the power from the cable for the camera. The problem is this can cause power cable to be overload and this is why some car goes into frame. Also this will void your new car warranty.

Method 2 - Using fuse box cost $50-$80 depend on the type of car (continental car such as WW usually cost more)

Using a power box with voltage protection and connect the camera to the car fuse box using a low profile mini fuse box tap. This method is more professional and prevent issue of overloading and voiding new car warranty.

Method 3 - Connect direct to Battery - Self-fix or workshop charging $25- $30 (price does not include power box)

Connect the camera to the car battery using power box (with low voltage protection). This is good if you run the car everyday and if your car does not have a lot of electronic (not suitable for new car as new car usually have a lot of electronic such as auto light, remote lock etc.).

I would recommend you go for a professional installation especially if you are driving a new car.

Since car are expensive these days, I believe you do not want to pay so much for a camera? The important of a car camera is able to operate reliably and capture clear image both day and night, I would like to recommend you i66A (see website www.inspirland.com for more detail). The i66A can do what the "branded" does at a much lower cost, it come with a promotion of $138 (usual price $168.00) which include 32G MicroSD card and Power Box now. If you want a park recording, we offer battery pack which coming in early Aug 15 that not only works but also flexibility and low maintenance cost. If you don't trust this new brand, look at the review by some of our users or ask for a 7day free trial yourself. Customer who trial getting one because they do not want to pay for over price one which does the same thing since car today already every expensive. Interested to try it out, PM me. :)

Hi all,

Yesterday I was quoted $568 for Blackvue DR650GW - 2 ch + $60 power magic + $120 installation.

I am quite overwhelmed by the prices quoted, especially the installation.

I had initially wanted to buy a local set from agent for the warranty and support. But amazon or qoo10 seems to be really much cheaper.

I read through this entire thread and it was inactive since July this month. I wonder if there are any newer and better products during these 3 months that you have experienced.

Thanks.

Vicp