LTA calls tender to develop next generation Satellite ERP

Dafansu

the finer details of how the system will work is not out... so all educated guesses on whats going to happen is juz that... guesses...

but.. 1 thing for sure is... if the LTA wants to track everywhere i go ... scr*w you

please la... you ppl up there still think we are docile ppl who agree to everything you say/want?

What I meant is if the power supply to the OBU is somehow disconnected. Unlike in our current IU, if we temper with it, the cameras at the gantry can detect and snap a pic immediately and capture my license no.

unless you tow your car away, once you start engine, you will be in the system again... what other proof you need?

i see this more than mere ERP control. parking coupons will be a relic, prob so will auto car parking. illegal parking, illegal u turn will get e-fine.. in future, maybe run red light or even driving on bus lane can also be enforce using a single tool

for light car users, good. for heavy CBD users... dig deep deep [:p]

Im not sure, but Currently, major arterial road and expressway is installed with LTA cameras... Im not surprise if they are gg to install more..

so they save $ on gantries but have to spend more on new cameras? in the end they must have cameras coz its so easy to get signal jammers theres no other way for evidence. they cannot simply charge if u r jamming the signal coz they dont even know u r there unlike the current gantries with detection equipment...

in the end they still need surveillance equipment & back to square one lol.. unless they admit the satellties themselves will do the surveillance... in other words next time ure GF sunbathe, be careful some tiko guy may be staring at her boobs from space lol

What I meant is if the power supply to the OBU is somehow disconnected. Unlike in our current IU, if we temper with it, the cameras at the gantry can detect and snap a pic immediately and capture my license no.

yup theyll still need cameras... end up spedning on ERP satellites... AND new surveillance cameras... end up no cost savings lol

Edited by Duckduck

the finer details of how the system will work is not out... so all educated guesses on whats going to happen is juz that... guesses...

but.. 1 thing for sure is... if the LTA wants to track everywhere i go ... scr*w you

please la... you ppl up there still think we are docile ppl who agree to everything you say/want?

Occupy Shenton Way or Orchard Road? lol

What if I cut the power supply to the OBU? Would the satellite still detect my car? How can they prove my presence since I am not visible on their system? While they theoretically can use existing surveillance cams, imagine hundreds of thousands of vehicles using our roads every day, can their system be so advance to capture each and every license plate?

the OBU will probably have a internal backup battery. Once you cut main power supply to OBU, the unit send a SOS message to LTA, you hoseh liao [rolleyes]

actually our ancestor already thought of the solution

introducing old bro Faraday

michaelfaradayportrait.jpg

Bro Faraday found out about the faraday cage

4461833.jpg

so how is the faraday cage gonna be useful in this stuff?

go take an alumnium foil and warp around your erp unit or even gps machine, ta ta !!!!! [laugh][sly]

or you can go buy one of this [sly]

http://www.popsci.com/gadgets/article/2013-08/how-protect-yourself-your-phone

painting my truck with signal absorbing paint now!!!!

http://www.lessemf.com/paint.html

so powderful, white ants cant shoot me from bridges [sly]

oh wait!!! i aint got no truck no more [bigcry]

Edited by Mustank

News Releases
1 Oct 2014

The Land Transport Authority (LTA) has called a tender today to develop Singapore’s next generation electronic road pricing system. The new system will be based on Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) technology.

New Road Pricing System will be Satellite-based

2. Following an 18-month System Evaluation Test (SET) that concluded in December 2012, LTA has assessed that it is technologically feasible to develop a GNSS-based road pricing system in Singapore. This new system will overcome the constraints of physical gantries, which are costly and take up land space. In addition, it is not practical to continue with the current gantry system, which is almost two decades old and will become increasingly expensive and difficult to maintain.

3. Another key advantage of a GNSS-based system is the ability to implement distance-based pricing along the congested roads where road pricing is to be implemented. Distance-based pricing as opposed to the current gantry-based system, is more equitable as motorists will be charged proportionate to the distance travelled on these congested roads.

Value-added services for motorists’ convenience

4. With the GNSS-based system, motorists can also look forward to an interactive and intelligent on-board unit (OBU) in their vehicle that can support a range of value-added services. These include real-time traffic information tailored to their location, as well as electronic payment for parking fees without today’s paper coupons. Off-peak car users can look forward to new policies which we are considering, which may allow them to pay only for using their vehicles for short periods rather than the whole day, or for using them only on uncongested roads.

Three consortia shortlisted for upcoming tender

5. LTA has shortlisted three consortia to participate in the upcoming tender to develop the next generation road pricing system. They are NCS Pte Ltd & MHI Engine System Asia Pte Ltd, ST Electronics (Info-Comm Systems) Pte Ltd, and Watchdata Technologies Pte Ltd & Beijing Watchdata System Co Ltd.

6. The contract to design and develop the system is expected to be awarded in the second half of 2015. LTA aims to implement the system from around 202

LTA Press Release

http://app.lta.gov.sg/apps/news/page.aspx?c=2&id=40e3e181-37ff-4d65-a8c8-3ed2f6ac99b0

When They Have C.O.E. yet can't control the growth of number of cars, then they throw in E.R.P. (means indirectly admitting C.O.E. Doesn't work), now they are going for G.N.S.S. which means E.R.P. can't solve problem too.

If one on the road everyday know that problems are still there. Sometime solutions do not need Expensive technologies to solve, less car own means less cars on the road, spend this Budget on improving Public Transport, personally I think the result will turn out better.

Above are just my opinions.

actually our ancestor already thought of the solution

introducing old bro Faraday

michaelfaradayportrait.jpg

Bro Faraday found out about the faraday cage

4461833.jpg

so how is the faraday cage gonna be useful in this stuff?

go take an alumnium foil and warp around your erp unit or even gps machine, ta ta !!!!! [laugh][sly]

or you can go buy one of this [sly]

http://www.popsci.com/gadgets/article/2013-08/how-protect-yourself-your-phone

painting my truck with signal absorbing paint now!!!!

http://www.lessemf.com/paint.html

so powderful, white ants cant shoot me from bridges [sly]

oh wait!!! i aint got no truck no more [bigcry]

how to paint your windscreen?? [smash]

Not to mention all these schemes are going to add to the cost of living here. Today expats already complaining high cost of living in Spore let alone puny citizens like us.

It is going to make Spore less attractive for foreign investors/businesses.

how to paint your windscreen?? [smash]

you get metallic based window film [sly]

the uno part leave a hole in the window film

when you dont want the uno to work, use cheap aluminium foil to wrap the uno [sly]

then you can shout uno!!! [laugh]

all thanks to the great man: Faraday [thumbsup]

you dont beleive?

ownself go get a cheap alumiium foil and wrap your own phone or gps unit, see whether it still works

if it still works, you can scold me: mustank!!!! moi gonna stuff some of these aluminium foil up your arse!!!!! [grin]

problem is gps jammer is that if you get caught with one

ho seh liao, jit tao lip long

but if they catch you holding a priece of aluminium foil

cant do no shiit, bro!!! heh heh

million dollar tech kena foil by cheapo low tech aluminium foil

all hail Faraday!!!!

I see something positive of this new OBU. Dealers cannot temper with odometer liao.

teksi lau also cannot temper

hehe

Edited by Mustank

GPS ERP is fundamentally flawed and yet LTA continue to push ahead.

There are many ways, a receiver can lose signal, either intentionally or due to nature and environment.

So what is the system going to do ?

Penalize you every time something else cause the receiver to go haywire or make you carry a transmitter and cause other kinds of problems ?

you get metallic based window film [sly]

the uno part leave a hole in the window film

when you dont want the uno to work, use cheap aluminium foil to wrap the uno [sly]

then you can shout uno!!! [laugh]

all thanks to the great man: Faraday [thumbsup]

you dont beleive?

ownself go get a cheap alumiium foil and wrap your own phone or gps unit, see whether it still works

if it still works, you can scold me: mustank!!!! moi gonna stuff some of these aluminium foil up your arse!!!!! [grin]

all hail Faraday!!!!

teksi lau also cannot temper

hehe

If you are cau ght on the spot with a piece of Alu foil cannot fault u. But if they put the GPS receiver in the engine bay and open bonnet wah la receiver wrapped up nicer than christmas present then honk gan liao. ha ha .

all hail Faraday!!!!

no shiit that this gahment cant do bro

they can simply ban aluminium foils in cars then [dizzy][dizzy][dizzy]

If you are cau ght on the spot with a piece of Alu foil cannot fault u. But if they put the GPS receiver in the engine bay and open bonnet wah la receiver wrapped up nicer than christmas present then honk gan liao. ha ha .

your engine bay heat shield inside, you go put giant aluminuium foil lor [laugh]

but i diont think the uno will put in engine bay one lah

the car's aluminium body already act as a faraday cage

i think it is more likley that the gps unit is place like the teksi lau one

then you will need colourless metallic paint liao [sly]

engine bay? can everyday "wrap" the bloody thing in engine oil until it kaput?

engine old liao leaking oil bobian [sly]

no shiit that this gahment cant do bro

they can simply ban aluminium foils in cars then [dizzy][dizzy][dizzy]

then you bring out copper foil lor [laugh]

copper lagi more power than aluminium [sly]