Chowyunfatt Turbocharged September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 On 9/30/2014 at 2:07 AM, Eviilusion said: this never come to mind....i love to serve my country......and i hope my country love me too! During my time ... people were not so Educated then ... its not that they don't want to serve their Nation ... But they needed to work to contribute to their families back home ... & the army pay was not enough to feed their 5-6 siblings or pay for their bills back home ... You know lar ... We never Study is like that one ... 😂 Now the Military improve already ... Not like last time ... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 On 9/30/2014 at 2:20 AM, Chowyunfatt said: During my time ... people were not so Educated then ... its not that they don't want to serve their Nation ... But they needed to work to contribute to their families back home ... & the army pay was not enough to feed their 5-6 siblings or pay for their bills back home ... You know lar ... We never Study is like that one ... 😂 Now the Military improve already ... Not like last time ... The pay now also cannot pay 5-6 siblings hor. [laugh] Still need to save a many months to buy a 128GB iPhone 6+ [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 On 9/30/2014 at 2:20 AM, Chowyunfatt said: During my time ... people were not so Educated then ... its not that they don't want to serve their Nation ... But they needed to work to contribute to their families back home ... & the army pay was not enough to feed their 5-6 siblings or pay for their bills back home ... You know lar ... We never Study is like that one ... 😂 Now the Military improve already ... Not like last time ... ya i know....some of my ns mates were really in a tight situation....got to go awol as money not enough for their family! Usually OC will emphatise with the situation. Luckily i was the youngest in my family.......and my parents were watching out for ky sisters who were doing their A levels and U. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 On 9/30/2014 at 2:20 AM, Chowyunfatt said: During my time ... people were not so Educated then ... its not that they don't want to serve their Nation ... But they needed to work to contribute to their families back home ... & the army pay was not enough to feed their 5-6 siblings or pay for their bills back home ... You know lar ... We never Study is like that one ... Now the Military improve already ... Not like last time ... I rememberred during my time in 1975 at Demsey Rd, running from Blk to Blk for reporting and medical check-up during a raining day..... First report to Blk. 1 at 8.30am, then go behind to Blk 4, therafter back to Blk. 2 to wait for them to issue forms. Go to Blk.6 to see some RSM and had to strip to see body got 'ang kong'. Go to Blk 8 take weight and eye sight test. Wait to see doctor at Blk 7. After medical check-up go Blk. 4 again to handover forms and left CMPB at 1.45pm. Have a quick lunch at Blk. 10 All in all, takes about 5 hrs ... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 On 9/30/2014 at 2:32 AM, Picnic06 said: I rememberred during my time in 1975 at Demsey Rd, running from Blk to Blk for reporting and medical check-up during a raining day..... First report to Blk. 1 at 8.30am, then go behind to Blk 4, therafter back to Blk. 2 to wait for them to issue forms. Go to Blk.6 to see some RSM and had to strip to see body got 'ang kong'. Go to Blk 8 take weight and eye sight test. Wait to see doctor at Blk 7. After medical check-up go Blk. 4 again to handover forms and left CMPB at 1.45pm. Have a quick lunch at Blk. 10 All in all, takes about 5 hrs ... 1975? No joke! That may made you the most senior in this forum! My salute to you almost Pioneer Gen Starched Temasek Green 前辈! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 On 9/30/2014 at 2:23 AM, Vid said: The pay now also cannot pay 5-6 siblings hor. [laugh] Still need to save a many months to buy a 128GB iPhone 6+ [laugh] Aiyo ... Still way better than last time lar ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 On 9/30/2014 at 2:26 AM, Eviilusion said: ya i know....some of my ns mates were really in a tight situation....got to go awol as money not enough for their family! Usually OC will emphatise with the situation. Luckily i was the youngest in my family.......and my parents were watching out for ky sisters who were doing their A levels and U. Your Sisters still got money to go school very good already ... Last time the Eldest sure kena go work one ... only the younger ones get to go to school if there was enough money ... And if you are a Girl ... Sometimes got money also don't let you go school because they say Girls will marry out of the family, so no need so much education ... Aiya, you know lar, last time is like that one ... 😂 Life was harder then ... On 9/30/2014 at 2:39 AM, Volvobrick said: 1975? No joke! That may made you the most senior in this forum! My salute to you almost Pioneer Gen Starched Temasek Green 前辈! Now then you know har ... He got so much White Hair that some people mistake him for Kenny Rogers from the back view ... 😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 On 9/30/2014 at 2:50 AM, Chowyunfatt said: Your Sisters still got money to go school very good already ... Last time the Eldest sure kena go work one ... only the younger ones get to go to school if there was enough money ... And if you are a Girl ... Sometimes got money also don't let you go school because they say Girls will marry out of the family, so no need so much education ... Aiya, you know lar, last time is like that one ... 😂 Life was harder then ... Now then you know har ... He got so much White Hair that some people mistake him for Kenny Rogers from the back view ... 😂 i still got eldest sister and eldest bro.......so they were helping out my parents. My parents some sort like gave up on me and my bro.....hahaha! Even kana scold when i say i want to study again after ns.......lucky my eldest bro who was some sort of an enemy during my teenage yrs supported the idea.....he even signed as a guarantor for my education! After that we were more like friends! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 More land for housing, 10 million huat ah! Who cares if it's between the defence towers, just need to lease out defence towers to businesses can liao. Profit gao gao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HermanGuoh 1st Gear September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 On 9/30/2014 at 3:04 AM, Myxilplix said: More land for housing, 10 million huat ah! Who cares if it's between the defence towers, just need to lease out defence towers to businesses can liao. Profit gao gao. definitely wun be for housing or retail....land still belongs to MINDEF. maybe for some secret age development Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged September 30, 2014 Author Share September 30, 2014 On 9/30/2014 at 2:08 AM, Picnic06 said: Errrrrr............ Joint Command (Army, Navy & Air Force) for reservist...... Clementi Ave 6 piece of land can build many many condos you know ... The new site also look like prime land. Near MRT station. They give face man. _ _ _ _ _ The new Central Manpower Base (CMPB) will sit across upcoming Cashew MRT station, which will be part of the new Downtown Line 2. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 makes more sense actually. CMPB and Mindef all in one location.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 On 9/30/2014 at 2:32 AM, Picnic06 said: I rememberred during my time in 1975 at Demsey Rd, running from Blk to Blk for reporting and medical check-up during a raining day..... First report to Blk. 1 at 8.30am, then go behind to Blk 4, therafter back to Blk. 2 to wait for them to issue forms. Go to Blk.6 to see some RSM and had to strip to see body got 'ang kong'. Go to Blk 8 take weight and eye sight test. Wait to see doctor at Blk 7. After medical check-up go Blk. 4 again to handover forms and left CMPB at 1.45pm. Have a quick lunch at Blk. 10 All in all, takes about 5 hrs ... Ehhh ... You forgot the best part ... Take home pay how much ... 😂 ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 On 9/30/2014 at 3:06 AM, HermanGuoh said: definitely wun be for housing or retail....land still belongs to MINDEF. maybe for some secret age development Nothing is sacred, money is everything. Cemetery can clear out, army camp can tear down. We need space to bring more people in. 10 million huat ah! GDP huat ah! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 (edited) On 9/30/2014 at 3:48 AM, Chowyunfatt said: Ehhh ... You forgot the best part ... Take home pay how much ... ... First 3 months $75/- (BMT)...... After BMT $105 and send for vocation course. Thereafter added in Vocation Pay after completing the course = $$170/- Three months later promote to Lpl = $185/- (knn Lcp (one ikan billis) worth on $15/- per month Seven months before ROD promote to CPL = $225/- but service extend by another 6 months ... Cpl covered BOS duty (Sgt) ....... Edited September 30, 2014 by Picnic06 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 On 9/30/2014 at 3:48 AM, Chowyunfatt said: Ehhh ... You forgot the best part ... Take home pay how much ... ... One thing forget to add, Those Hokkien speaking with PSLE or below, go Blk 5 Those with GCE 'O' English & Chinese edu go Blk 4... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 On 9/30/2014 at 3:56 AM, Picnic06 said: First 3 months $75/- (BMT)...... After BMT $105 and send for vocation course. Thereafter added in Vocation Pay after completing the course = $$170/- Three months later promote to Lpl = $185/- (knn Lcp (one ikan billis) worth on $15/- per month Seven months before ROD promote to CPL = $225/- but service extend by another 6 months ... Cpl covered BOS duty (Sgt) ....... Wah 1975 CPL already $225, quite good leh. I 2000 CPL pay only around $400, but thing are a few times more expensive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vidz 6th Gear September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 (edited) maybe parts of Mindef will move to new location... Edited September 30, 2014 by Vidz ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...