Section of Orchard Road to be closed

Mockngbrd

Orchard takes pedestrian route to recapture traffic

In its effort to remain Singapore's premier shopping belt, Orchard Road may well undertake the next phase of its journey by foot.

The iconic street could become fully pedestrianised in the future to attract shoppers to its malls, while hosting lifestyle activities and events to keep the buzz alive.

While making the stretch completely car-free is a possibility in the longer term, the road will start to expand its pedestrian spaces before that, Minister for Trade and Industry (Industry) S. Iswaran said at a tourism industry conference yesterday.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/orchard-takes-pedestrian-route-to-recapture-traffic

Interesting, these chaps still think this is the way to bring people to Orchard Road. Orchard Road is now simply too expensive to eat and shop and park. That is the fundamental issue. 

In its effort to remain Singapore's premier shopping belt, Orchard Road may well undertake the next phase of its journey by foot.

The iconic street could become fully pedestrianised in the future to attract shoppers to its malls, while hosting lifestyle activities and events to keep the buzz alive.

While making the stretch completely car-free is a possibility in the longer term, the road will start to expand its pedestrian spaces before that, Minister for Trade and Industry (Industry) S. Iswaran said at a tourism industry conference yesterday.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/orchard-takes-pedestrian-route-to-recapture-traffic

Interesting, these chaps still think this is the way to bring people to Orchard Road. Orchard Road is now simply too expensive to eat and shop and park. That is the fundamental issue.

True. At least it was the place to be then for tourists but now there are LV shops too in jakarta, hanoi etc. And malls that are identikits of neighbourhood ones.

Then why are the carparks always full during the weekends?

No idea. For me I find it ex so I don't go.

If really need to go will take MRT.

Think SG got a lot of people richer than me lor.  [:p]

No idea. For me I find it ex so I don't go.

If really need to go will take MRT.

Think SG got a lot of people richer than me lor. [:p]

Some places offer complimentary parking for spend of x dollars [:p]

most of the time my spending along Orchard Road is < 0.25x dollars, so I don't meet the free parking conditions.

4ever so crowded, unless got purpose else quite bo hua to spend on the parking [:p]

That day bo bian, went for a seminar, parked at oue Bayfront only for 2+ hrs, made ne $17.xx poorer

4ever so crowded, unless got purpose else quite bo hua to spend on the parking [:p]

That day bo bian, went for a seminar, parked at oue Bayfront only for 2+ hrs, made ne $17.xx poorer

What kind of seminar only 3 hrs? You ran off halfway right..

Hehe....Wah...u r so Super sharp but didn't run off lah, just late [:p]

Eat buffet Liao run away ha ha

Wah....hahahaa....no lah....reached there, just nice they were having their buffet tea break, didn't join leh

Cannot jiak n jiak [:p][laugh]

Please close Orchard Road permanently to all traffic.

I hate to be caught in a traffic jam there.