Road hoggers ... what to do with them

Lotr

Encountered this persistent road hogger on AYE this morning, was behind him all the way from Telok Blangah to West Coast.

This fella just drive at <70km/h on the extreme right lane and keeping at least 3 car lengths from the car in front of him by braking early just to keep the distance.

High beamed him a few times but of course he is not bothered.

Really cannot understand why these jokers are so inconsiderate.

Encountered this persistent road hogger on AYE this morning, was behind him all the way from Telok Blangah to West Coast.

This fella just drive at <70km/h on the extreme right lane and keeping at least 3 car lengths from the car in front of him by braking early just to keep the distance.

"undertake" them? There isnt much you can do but to pass them.

High beamed no use, because hogger never see rear mirror, horn lah,

ovetake then suddendly cut in with signal, then jam brake, teach him a lesson :D

Edited by Quantum

high beam + horn long long non stop until he move, if not stick behind him continue to horn until someone call police.

ovetake then suddendly cut in w/o signal, then jam brake, teach him a lesson :D

yeah I just "undertake" but with proper signalling. I don't think I need to jam brake, the joker probably already start to brake when I moved into his lane to keep his distance.

All I want is a smooth drive and the roads are already crowded enough without these jokers.

Edited by Lotr

ovetake then suddendly cut in with signal, then jam brake, teach him a lesson :D

I think horn also no use, cause they are deaf as well. These people simply have the bochap attitude, and drive at the speed they want.

Just overtake and move on. Don't let any drivers spoil your day.

Jam brake we wrong lei. If he got cam then we jialat.

And if he crash into us, we waste our time also.

Just undertake and let our car roll to an 'almost' halt will do.

"Do onto others what we don't want others to do to us"...

Once he changed to lane 2, just maintain same speed as him and don't let him have chance to come back lane 1 lar.

Usually when there're taxis in lane 1 along AYE doing 80+. I just flash a couple of times and they signal liao.

So far so good.

Edited by Kingkong

Just over take him loh, since u said he got 3 car length in front of him. I personally feel the rest of actions are childish and unnecessary. Some people just have low EQ and situational awareness while driving.

Cant do anything about them, there is always road hoggers. Either bear with it or just undertake them, Just take it that they are doing you a favor. Confirm no speeding ticket de :D

Wait...

He hogging or he maintaining a consistent three car gap in heavy traffic?

If consistent three car gap is not hogging - is driving safe.

Wait...

He hogging or he maintaining a consistent three car gap in heavy traffic?

If consistent three car gap is not hogging - is driving safe.

Agreed - if there are cars in front of him, not considered hogging leh ...

If there is a long empty stretch of road in front, then yes, I agree he is road hogging.

then it will just bring you down to their level.

try to over take on the left loh.

basis your description, it's not road hogging.

The driver is practicing safe driving by keeping a safe distance.

If it's road-hogging, the fact that you've been following behind him also may be considered as you are also road hogging by road users behind you.

Jam brake we wrong lei. If he got cam then we jialat.

And if he crash into us, we waste our time also.

Just undertake and let our car roll to an 'almost' halt will do.

"Do onto others what we don't want others to do to us"...

Once he changed to lane 2, just maintain same speed as him and don't let him have chance to come back lane 1 lar.

Usually when there're taxis in lane 1 along AYE doing 80+. I just flash a couple of times and they signal liao.

So far so good.

if you really want to be nasty, dun jam brake. use engine brake~! [sly]

auto also can do that, just down shift to L. confirm engine brake. [sly]

but dun practise this kinda thing lah. makes for bad driving habits.

there is always some one else out that that will teach these inconsiderate louts their lesson.

just dun be the one.

like my CSM used to say... make heroes. dun be the hero.

basis your description, it's not road hogging.

The driver is practicing safe driving by keeping a safe distance.

If it's road-hogging, the fact that you've been following behind him also may be considered as you are also road hogging by road users behind you.

keeping a safe distance is a good thing.

but if you are driving under the speed limit on lane 1, that is the hogging portion. no?

If the road in front of me, as far as the eye can see, is filled with cars all driving on lane 1 below the speed limit, why is that considered hogging?

I will just follow along like everyone else, unless there is an ambulance behind me with lights flashing ...

if you really want to be nasty, dun jam brake. use engine brake~! [sly]

auto also can do that, just down shift to L. confirm engine brake. [sly]

but dun practise this kinda thing lah. makes for bad driving habits.

there is always some one else out that that will teach these inconsiderate louts their lesson.

just dun be the one.

like my CSM used to say... make heroes. dun be the hero.

Isn't that what the handbrake is for?