cllq 6th Gear September 15, 2014 Share September 15, 2014 Hello brothers, Just wondering if it is ok to mix engine oil? Example, I check dip stick, oil is abit low, but still got quite a bit to go b4 next servicing. Like currently I m using Motul E.O, but if i use another brand to top up. Wont have much negative effect right? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic September 15, 2014 Share September 15, 2014 I have done it many times. Of course I have asked the mechanic before. They also said no problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F355 Turbocharged September 15, 2014 Share September 15, 2014 Its OK la ; just like mixing different brands of petrol . Plus, the topping up probably less than 10% . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Naimed 5th Gear September 15, 2014 Share September 15, 2014 Definitely okay. However, try to use an EO that is closest in weightage to what you are currently using. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
cllq 6th Gear September 15, 2014 Author Share September 15, 2014 thank u brothers... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 15, 2014 Share September 15, 2014 i even mixed 5w20 and 5w30 to form 5w25.............also mixed 5w30 and 5w40 to form 5w35...........all run for 10,000km..........no problem ...............lol.......... [laugh] 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic September 15, 2014 Share September 15, 2014 engine cant tell what and which oil is poured in. They only know things get smoother... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaronlkl Supersonic September 15, 2014 Share September 15, 2014 Its ok though not recommended. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JaydenSTI 1st Gear September 15, 2014 Share September 15, 2014 no issue, been there done that. Motul is a waste of $$..... felt cheated for the first 3 years of my ride......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged September 15, 2014 Share September 15, 2014 As genie47 would say, your engine just need engine for pressure. Couldn't care less if it came from 2 brands. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
cllq 6th Gear September 16, 2014 Author Share September 16, 2014 i even mixed 5w20 and 5w30 to form 5w25.............also mixed 5w30 and 5w40 to form 5w35...........all run for 10,000km..........no problem ...............lol.......... [laugh] Tianmo, u power la. Only guys will do that... as for me, I dont really bother mixing. Haha no issue, been there done that. Motul is a waste of $$..... felt cheated for the first 3 years of my ride......... Haha, dont like Motul H-Tech, LM still nicer. LOL 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic September 16, 2014 Share September 16, 2014 (edited) I would add a cheaper oil for top up, like any leftovers or even mineral oil. Since, it's used as top up only and need to change soon enough. Edited September 16, 2014 by Kb27 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Naimed 5th Gear September 16, 2014 Share September 16, 2014 Haha, dont like Motul H-Tech, LM still nicer. LOL I feel different engines react somewhat differently to various EOs. Without a UOA, you basically do not know the quality of the oil at the end of the 10k kms. Also need to trial and error to get the EO you prefer most (butt feel?). For example, the Motul-TRD is great for Toyota cars, but average on Mazda. The same Red Line 5W30 may feel very different in an Altis compared to a CTR. However, a good fully syn EO will work excellently on its own without the need for additional additives. There are some who will say Motul 300v is overkill and Turtle oil is enough but when one is paying $150k on a car, what is the benchmark? And then there is Bridgestone... or Roadstone? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear September 16, 2014 Share September 16, 2014 http://youtu.be/_gZj98cKK8g mix is ok most important must have chio bu change for u Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 16, 2014 Share September 16, 2014 Tianmo, u power la. Only guys will do that... as for me, I dont really bother mixing. Haha Haha, dont like Motul H-Tech, LM still nicer. LOL test try test try mah...............if cannot just drain out lor...........i ever mix 3 different brands of the same weight of oil............ run for 5000km and drain it off as a flush.............(because i got 0.5Q balance every time I change oil, so I just mix all the balance ) anyway i change my own EO...........so I can play ard with it lor........... [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
cllq 6th Gear September 16, 2014 Author Share September 16, 2014 I feel different engines react somewhat differently to various EOs. Without a UOA, you basically do not know the quality of the oil at the end of the 10k kms. Also need to trial and error to get the EO you prefer most (butt feel?). For example, the Motul-TRD is great for Toyota cars, but average on Mazda. The same Red Line 5W30 may feel very different in an Altis compared to a CTR. However, a good fully syn EO will work excellently on its own without the need for additional additives. There are some who will say Motul 300v is overkill and Turtle oil is enough but when one is paying $150k on a car, what is the benchmark? And then there is Bridgestone... or Roadstone? Hey... I tested a few oil but personally like LM. Anyway what matter most is the car is being frequently serviced to avoid any break down. That will do. If one is rich, go for high end oil la, if not normal brand work too.. So long as one is happy. U can spend a bomb but no one cares. LOL http://youtu.be/_gZj98cKK8g mix is ok most important must have chio bu change for u she from US. LOL i saw the video liao last week test try test try mah...............if cannot just drain out lor...........i ever mix 3 different brands of the same weight of oil............ run for 5000km and drain it off as a flush.............(because i got 0.5Q balance every time I change oil, so I just mix all the balance ) anyway i change my own EO...........so I can play ard with it lor........... [laugh] Eh, u cant expect me a noob female to change my own engine oil... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 16, 2014 Share September 16, 2014 Eh, u cant expect me a noob female to change my own engine oil... aiya...............we change our own oil is for the fun of it...............and to try out different oil..........sometimes using cheap oil as flush....... for you ladies..............just send to WS when the service duration is due lah...........take a package and save the headache ............. [thumbsup] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
carwizard 1st Gear October 13, 2014 Share October 13, 2014 shouldn't be a problem to mix engine oil. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...