Joseph22 Turbocharged September 10, 2014 Share September 10, 2014 Surprise to see that Australia is more expensive ( overall ) than US and UK. Also, cost of living is less then US$1k per year in US??? Got so cheap? I find the data wrong. you tell me a degree grads in Singapore (Singaporean) need USD 20K meh?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic September 10, 2014 Share September 10, 2014 Total cost is US$40,000 yr for Sgp? Sure boh? Thot NUS fee onli S$9k thereabouts? think it's the cost the SG govt pay for each Scholar that they invite over lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator September 10, 2014 Author Share September 10, 2014 Surprise to see that Australia is more expensive ( overall ) than US and UK. Also, cost of living is less then US$1k per year in US??? Got so cheap? where you get this from? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic September 10, 2014 Share September 10, 2014 (edited) I find the data wrong. you tell me a degree grads in Singapore (Singaporean) need USD 20K meh?? Err... I don't know leh....not time yet to check, anyway, I know they increase the fee every year...so will check when nearer... but by that time, will need to check the U fee + " how much can I sell for one kidney " ...ha ha where you get this from? The charts says " Cost of living per year " , and for USA US$11,651 leh.... Edit : Oh, Sorry, typo in earlier post, I meant per month, and not per year. Edited September 10, 2014 by RH1667 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 10, 2014 Share September 10, 2014 (edited) Err... I don't know leh....not time yet to check, anyway, I know they increase the fee every year...so will check when nearer... but by that time, will need to check the U fee + " how much can I sell for one kidney " ...ha ha The charts says " Cost of living per year " , and for USA US$11,651 leh.... I talking about cost of living per year. 1 month give them 1K allowance is already a lot liao. add up SGD 12K only. USD 20K is almost double liao. Edited September 10, 2014 by Joseph22 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear September 10, 2014 Share September 10, 2014 In other news, 1 in 2 Singaporean teenagers has been exposed to pornography. Not all meh? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic September 10, 2014 Share September 10, 2014 (edited) I talking about cost of living per year. 1 month give them 1K allowance is already a lot liao. add up SGD 12K only. USD 18K is almost double liao. I believe the cost of living would include rental fee, food, transport etc. USD20k per year, I think is reasonable for a foreign student. That's why I feel the cost of living mentioned for USA is a little too low. Edited September 10, 2014 by RH1667 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 10, 2014 Share September 10, 2014 I believe the cost of living would include rental fee, food, transport etc. USD20k per year, I think is reasonable for a foreign student. That's why I feel the cost of living mentioned for USA is a little too low. this survey is for Singaporean right ?? for Singapore one I find its a bit too high... wonder how they calculate?? unless of course they are saying in USA stay apartment in Singapore also must stay apartment. For Singaporean, they don't need to include rental cause stay with parents.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleo 6th Gear September 10, 2014 Share September 10, 2014 Err,...do you have kids? I have daughter and i wouldn't want her to be anywhere in india. INDIA ley bro... Yah lah... I also got 2 rascals!!! Juz joking lah pal! ;) 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator September 10, 2014 Author Share September 10, 2014 this survey is for Singaporean right ?? for Singapore one I find its a bit too high... wonder how they calculate?? unless of course they are saying in USA stay apartment in Singapore also must stay apartment. For Singaporean, they don't need to include rental cause stay with parents.. they use foreign student for every country lah, so a foreign student in singapore will have to incur rental too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 10, 2014 Share September 10, 2014 (edited) they use foreign student for every country lah, so a foreign student in singapore will have to incur rental too. ah okay.. make sense. but can we make them live in a rented room that cost 600 sgd instead??? USD 20K is more then salary of the FW here which they can still survey for less. Edited September 10, 2014 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic September 10, 2014 Share September 10, 2014 (edited) you sure the coupe only cost $20k a year? can settle for a normal 325 sedan? stuulen mah...so juz a 2nd hand 325i coupe lor. After graduate, daddy will buy a M4 as graduation present. This is to teach them the value of hard work otherwise will land up w used car juz like the peasants.....LOL. Edited September 10, 2014 by Soya 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic September 10, 2014 Share September 10, 2014 Cost of living we are number one! Woohooo.... [bounce1] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator September 10, 2014 Share September 10, 2014 I wouldn't send my child overseas for the following reasons: 1) Cost 2) It is my perception that unless you go to Ivy League Unis, the employment market values local degree esp from NUS, NTU, SMU more than overseas degree. Admittedly, you get a better perspective of education overseas, not to mention being exposed to diff culture, students, teaching methods etc. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged September 10, 2014 Share September 10, 2014 4 out of 5?? i think base on the selected group in the survey, they shouldn't conclude such as misleading information. Nevertheless, would you consider sending your kids overseas if you have the mean? Look at the cost of living column... 100% confirmed certified that Singapore is the most expensive city/Country in the world! I am so so proud to be living in Singapore!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged September 10, 2014 Share September 10, 2014 I wouldn't send my child overseas for the following reasons: 1) Cost 2) It is my perception that unless you go to Ivy League Unis, the employment market values local degree esp from NUS, NTU, SMU more than overseas degree. Admittedly, you get a better perspective of education overseas, not to mention being exposed to diff culture, students, teaching methods etc. No leh. Tia gong in HR dept "managed" by FTs, the following foreign uni degree are valued above local degrees: Uni of Calcutta (Teksi Teksi Teksi) Uni of ChongQing or was it Uni of ChingChong? Uni of Moneyla Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged September 11, 2014 Share September 11, 2014 Err,...do you have kids? I have daughter and i wouldn't want her to be anywhere in india. INDIA ley bro... Daughters here also. And even if got son, won't send to India unless its to one of the super exclusive IITs or IIMs. A cousin here sends his daughter to study medicine in KL cos she couldn't get into NUS. And he is worried about safety even there. I told him better there than anywhere in India with the almost daily stories coming out of India. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic September 11, 2014 Share September 11, 2014 And according to the report only 1 out of 4 parents would pay full cash for their children uni fee ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...