LTA, Traffic Police will not easily accede to traffic summon

Zxcvb

Just to understand the new road amendment act.

Can I use the mobile phone while the car is stationary, say waiting at the traffic light?

Or is the definition of "driving" means the entire process of getting from A to B including waiting at traffic light?

As long as vehicle is not moving, can touch...but best is mounted, then its sure ok.

i fully support. See this? Diplomat still bully LTA enforcer.....

I came across a foreigner driving an embassy car number plate car who is extremely rude to a elderly LTA officer that is just doing his job. It was at Holland Village area and the foreign expat was throwing vulgarities and threatening to get our LTA officer fired when he is actually parking illegally at a zigzag line area.

He was abusing the LTA officer and making remarks about his dark skin colour when he was driving off. Sorry my camera is not very good so the video and audio is not very clear.

Basically all the elderly LTA officer is doing is just asking him to move his car away. But the caucasian guy talks like he is some big shot and say how dare he tells him what to do. He also say he will get the old uncle fired.

How can a foreigner behave like this in our country? I really feel like punching the guy. The worse of all, the guy girlfriend seems to be a Singaporean Chinese women and she seems to be oblivious to what the boyfriend is doing and did not interfere to help the old man.

Update 8/9/2014:

Many of our readers have identified that the country code on the car plate belongs to the Embassy of the Kingdom of Netherlands. One of our readers even contacted the Dutch embassy and this is the response from them:

NAFCfE5.png

What kind of society are we turning into? This incident really spoils my day!

Watch the video recording for yourself here. (link)

[media]https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=838005172911318&set=vb.416856241692882&type=2&theater[/media]

Asian Mentality is always AMTK ... If we don't change our mindset ... They will treat us like Door Mats ... Thats the Ugly Truth ... [nod]

Told you before, they're gonna get medieval on our asses. Driving is going to become a lot less enjoyable unless you're an auntie-type driver.

Now Euro Zone economy stalls, high unemployement rate and this AM still so ya ya. Wait till China and Asian consumers market up and becmoe the biggest growth zones, US and other AM countries has no choice to revert back more or less to a manufacturing industry cater to this demand and depend on Asian ecomomies for their rice bowl then see how.

Feng Shui Luo Lu Zhuang

why bother about this? should support it instead, make the roads safer for all! everyone plays a part in it.

Exactly. We are already not very strict compare to many other countries. I am in full support of this change.

I hope enforcement will come in more regularly and more consistently.

i fully support. See this? Diplomat still bully LTA enforcer.....

I came across a foreigner driving an embassy car number plate car who is extremely rude to a elderly LTA officer that is just doing his job. It was at Holland Village area and the foreign expat was throwing vulgarities and threatening to get our LTA officer fired when he is actually parking illegally at a zigzag line area.

He was abusing the LTA officer and making remarks about his dark skin colour when he was driving off. Sorry my camera is not very good so the video and audio is not very clear.

Basically all the elderly LTA officer is doing is just asking him to move his car away. But the caucasian guy talks like he is some big shot and say how dare he tells him what to do. He also say he will get the old uncle fired.

How can a foreigner behave like this in our country? I really feel like punching the guy. The worse of all, the guy girlfriend seems to be a Singaporean Chinese women and she seems to be oblivious to what the boyfriend is doing and did not interfere to help the old man.

Update 8/9/2014:

Many of our readers have identified that the country code on the car plate belongs to the Embassy of the Kingdom of Netherlands. One of our readers even contacted the Dutch embassy and this is the response from them:

NAFCfE5.png

What kind of society are we turning into? This incident really spoils my day!

Watch the video recording for yourself here. (link)

[media]https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=838005172911318&set=vb.416856241692882&type=2&theater[/media]

This Lian Chuan Yeoh buay kantan. Senior lawyer at Allen & Overy. Although he's in corporate law but a lawyer is still a lawyer. LoL...

I think the embassy sweat sia.

Mr Hri Kumar, MP for Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, said: “Everyone knows that using phones while driving is not safe, so we comfort ourselves by saying that we can use hands-free devices. But there are many studies which claim that using hands-free devices is equally dangerous as using handheld devices. This is because the real distraction is the phone conversation, and it matters less that you have both hands on the wheel."

According to Mr Kumar logic, we also need to ban wife and children in car, bcuz they are a real distraction to the driver when they open their mouths or all passengers need to have their mouth taped up during a trip.

Edited by Kb27

According to Mr Kumar logic, we also need to ban wife and children in car, bcuz they are a real distraction to the driver when they open their mouths or all passengers need to have their mouth taped up during a trip.

please do it to your wife and kids, but not mine :D

Keep telling your wife and kids " Don't talk to me and distract me, I am driving MP say one."

Short skirt ladies waiting for buses at bus stop also a distraction to drivers. Especially when the winds blows.

Can ban short skirts at bus stops? But how to ban wind from blowing? Lol No end one.

Edited by Waterh2o

That means 2013 there were more than 10,000 offences booked, considering that not all will appeal.

But then huh, I still see so many cars on the road dun switch on headlights (at night), turn on bright HID lights to blind others, illegal mod on the exhaust, etc.....

summon of illegal parking outsource.

catching of the offences u mentioned involved lta to work @ night. seriously, it is not easy to catch them. if they set up a reward system for citizen to submit pictures of offending vehicle in return for $5 maybe we can see a drop. police and citizen co-operation, win-win situation.

I recently also got my appeal rejected...for travelling on Jln Ahmad Ibrahim towards AYE at 101km/h. I tot its 90km/h road but they summon me for 21km/h more as they state its 80km/h road...problem is I dont find any sign stating its 80km/h....unless all expressways are 80km/h unless stated to be 90km/h

There will be certain stretch of the road with lower speed limit like bends... Certain stretch of KPE is still restricted to 70km/h while the rest are 80km/h...

smoking should be ban while the car is moving. Cos you are holding on to it

NEA, now is yr turn to flex yr muscle.

Totally agreed... 1 hand out of the car...

sian man.....drive at leftmost lane and set cruise control at 40km/h, happy??!!!

i did that, usually at night around 11pm.

from Keppel AYE to MCE to KPE towards the end of TPE exit.

All the way, 40km/hr, dont even need to brake at all.

shiok man.....

I recently also got my appeal rejected...for travelling on Jln Ahmad Ibrahim towards AYE at 101km/h. I tot its 90km/h road but they summon me for 21km/h more as they state its 80km/h road...problem is I dont find any sign stating its 80km/h....unless all expressways are 80km/h unless stated to be 90km/h

i concur with u.

i came across certain stretch of expressways where they hv 80km/h n the sign will pop out after a bend. i know we shd slow down as we are coming round a bend but some are really extreme, can drop from 90 to 70 very drastically even though sign says 80km/h.

i did that, usually at night around 11pm.

from Keppel AYE to MCE to KPE towards the end of TPE exit.

All the way, 40km/hr, dont even need to brake at all.

shiok man.....

waahh, nice....can literally relac and shake leg all the way home la [laugh]

this one damn sng chao. my dad got summoned while otw to tuas checkpoint, exactly the same case as you.

after that incident i took a drive down that stretch of expressway again and IIRC, there are only 1 or 2 signboards that tell you speed limit is 80km/h. the next signboard was at least 2 or 3km away.

Asian Mentality is always AMTK ... If we don't change our mindset ... They will treat us like Door Mats ... Thats the Ugly Truth ... [nod]

Yes, please don't back down anymore. If even in our own country we cannot stand up for ourselves, then it's really gone case.

In the video, did I spotted a SPG? Partae....!