Volvobrick Supersonic September 9, 2014 Share September 9, 2014 Just start n wait abt 15-30 secs to let the oil circulate to all moving parts only. It takes only abt 5-10 mins to warm up enough to drive normally. Engine oil pump moves about 9-11 gallon/min (34-42 litres/min) at about 3000 rpm. Assuming the car idles at about 1000 rpm, the oil pump would moves around 11 - 14 litres/min. A normal car has about 4 litres of engine oil, thus in about 17 - 22 seconds, the oil would have flowed one round around the engine, lubricating every nook and crevice, even if they were bone dry! I would just drive off immediately, as at 2000 rpm, the oil will circulate in half the time! ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 9, 2014 Share September 9, 2014 Thanks for alerting about the lobang dude! Been a long time user of Liqui Moly MoS2 and Ceratec... shipped them from Amazon as they cost ridiculously expensive here. S$44 for Ceratec is quite a bargain. Grabbed myself 4 bottles earlier today when I drove by an Autobacs. Also got some Redline Si-1 - best stuff out there IMHO. No problemo bro. Glad to share the lobang. Ceratec from Amazon no free shipping to singapore right? I saw it on Amazon too. Have you tried Caltex Techron or STP complete fuel system cleaner? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pms 3rd Gear September 9, 2014 Share September 9, 2014 STP don't have PEA. Not advertised or listed in MSDS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zippaboy 4th Gear September 9, 2014 Author Share September 9, 2014 Another lobang, Castrol 0w40 edge with syntec European formula. 5 quartz for usd25. Free shipping... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 9, 2014 Share September 9, 2014 Engine oil pump moves about 9-11 gallon/min (34-42 litres/min) at about 3000 rpm. Assuming the car idles at about 1000 rpm, the oil pump would moves around 11 - 14 litres/min. A normal car has about 4 litres of engine oil, thus in about 17 - 22 seconds, the oil would have flowed one round around the engine, lubricating every nook and crevice, even if they were bone dry! I would just drive off immediately, as at 2000 rpm, the oil will circulate in half the time! True. The TV prog I saw last time said, " Just start n by the time u have put on yr seat belt n adjusted things like seat n mirrors u can drive off". Spending time idle engine to "warm up" is wasting fuel n time in today's cars. In fact its even better for the engine to slowly drive off immediately cos the moving car wil actually warm up much faster than sitting still idle away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear September 10, 2014 Share September 10, 2014 try b4 the ceratec snake oil leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 10, 2014 Share September 10, 2014 try b4 the ceratec snake oil leh To each his own I guess. For me, Ceratec is more to prevent wear to the engine than anything else and Liquimoly is a reputable brand. Sort of like buying insurance. Anyway, I only buy it when Autobacs got promotion like this. Pour in once can tahan for 50000km so why not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged September 10, 2014 Share September 10, 2014 (edited) Thanks for sharing. Yes I am referring to the number at the back. 5w20 or 0W20 instead of 5w40... Better FC when using a 20 wt oil as well, engine seems to rev better. But yeah I wish to know how long will it reach the full operating temperature. I am guessing at least 10mins.... Reason why I am asking is home to my workplace is less than 10mins of driving. Will the engine oil sufficiently warm up ? Those with the oil temp gauge will know how long it take from cold to > 90deg.. less than 10min of driving daily? Without a doubt it will be a reputable 0w20 or 5w20... Anyway even when my car was on 5w20.. I also wack on NSHW to and fro KL.. no engine leak, no oil evaporation or whatever.. engine still nice nice now Edited September 10, 2014 by Chucky2007 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 6th Gear September 11, 2014 Share September 11, 2014 If you really worry no oil on certain parts of your engine during the 1st few minutes, try this experiment. Take some engine oil (e.g. from dipstick) and coat 1 piece of metal cylinder. Leave the metal piece in your room for 1 week. Go touch the top of it 1 week later , you will find it is still oily lor. The engine oil clings to metal for quite some time. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...