Japan's first ever roundabouts confuse drivers

ins1dious

On 9/4/2014 at 2:13 PM, Wt_know said:

we also got a round about with "little bit confusing" at west coast

i ever seen a car turn into on coming car

then chop chop swerve to exit ... sibei heng

yea, there's a couple of roundabouts near Pandan Loop which are even more confusing than Newton Circus.

On 9/4/2014 at 12:20 PM, Nzy said:

I remember mythbusters did an experiment on this before. Roundabouts vs traffic lights. The roundabouts won in terms of efficiency. Number of cars that can clear the junction in the same period of time is alot higher for roundabouts.

I'm surprised that they end up being more efficient. I have to watch this. My experience with R/A are that with higher volume of cars, things get very hairy

On 9/4/2014 at 2:01 PM, Sosaria said:

Yup, as a new driver I was always a bit jumpy about using newton circus especially when there were no signal lights. Luckily there was the flyover later on.

Actually there's no worry about when to get off, etc. because if you miss the exit, just go one more round lah... can go round again to check your bearings before making a decision.

If I'm not familiar with the route, I prefer roundabouts for this reason too.

I've had experience both as a driver, sticking to the inner lane and going round and round while my friend read the map, and as a passenger, helping my friend read the map. My record is circling nearly 20 times before my friend determined the correct exit [laugh]

On 9/4/2014 at 3:29 PM, Bicolor said:

If I'm not familiar with the route, I prefer roundabouts for this reason too.

I've had experience both as a driver, sticking to the inner lane and going round and round while my friend read the map, and as a passenger, helping my friend read the map. My record is circling nearly 20 times before my friend determined the correct exit [laugh]

I did that in sentosa also..waiting for my friend as he stuck in the Sentosa "customs" ...so nop choice..have to go roundand round in the inner lane till he rejoin me..

btw..after 10th turn..can feel a bit blur liao as Sentosa round about is small..

Singapore roundabouts also soon be of past history...... [grin]

At most 4 roundabouts left as off my knowledge/memory.

1) Newton Circle

2) Jalan Ahmad Ibrahim/PIE (to Tuas Checkpoint)

3) Coronation Road West (inside Queen Astrid Park)

4) Serangoon Garden estate

-_-

On 9/4/2014 at 11:53 PM, Picnic06 said:

Singapore roundabouts also soon be of past history...... [grin]

At most 4 roundabouts left as off my knowledge/memory.

1) Newton Circle

2) Jalan Ahmad Ibrahim/PIE (to Tuas Checkpoint)

3) Coronation Road West (inside Queen Astrid Park)

4) Serangoon Garden estate

-_-

5) Marine Parade

6) Jalan Ahmah Ibrahim (Pioneer Road North)

7) Hillview Road Roundabout

8) Pandan roundabout

9) Jurong Pier Road (below the bridge to jurong island)

On 9/5/2014 at 12:40 AM, Shull said:

5) Marine Parade

6) Jalan Ahmah Ibrahim (Pioneer Road North)

7) Hillview Road Roundabout

8) Pandan roundabout

9) Jurong Pier Road (below the bridge to jurong island)

Thanks... [wave]

On 9/4/2014 at 10:17 AM, Bicolor said:

Like this? [laugh]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z0WexjEjPPI

(Action starts from 1:50)

(Disclaimer: Just for fun and reference only, I believe all of us here are sensible enough not to condone such stunts on public roads)

Pretty good driving (except when he was distracted by the cellphone).

If he can do this for 30 days straight and not get caught by the cops, I want to live there! Fed up of Singapore already. [laugh]

On 9/5/2014 at 12:59 AM, Turboflat4 said:

If he can do this for 30 days straight and not get caught by the cops, I want to live there! Fed up of Singapore already. [laugh]

Looks like hong kong?

On 9/4/2014 at 4:48 PM, Gaolow said:

I did that in sentosa also..waiting for my friend as he stuck in the Sentosa "customs" ...so nop choice..have to go roundand round in the inner lane till he rejoin me..

btw..after 10th turn..can feel a bit blur liao as Sentosa round about is small..

Heheh next time can just wait at roadside after the "checkpoint". [:)]

This saga caused quite a furore in Hong Kong. Can't remember exact details, but apparently he got caught and yet nothing much happened, and he even continued to drive under disqualification. Got away with it at first only because he's the son of a rich and famous family, but eventually people exposed his background online and I can't remember what happened after that.

Agree about his driving, in fact the way he continued to drift before bringing the car to a stop while answering the phone wasn't too bad, apart from the fact that it was done in a public road in broad daylight!

And it just happened that this area is rather far out and remote. For the rest of us common folk, we'd get caught by the cops there for traffic offences sooner than we'd get caught in Singapore!

Edited by Bicolor

Looked through his videos and saw one video where he was spotted drifting while on the phone by the cops and was stopped. But he said sorry and was let off.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nuqrz3wqAGQ

Edited by Nzy

On 9/4/2014 at 9:21 AM, Ryu said:

Newton Circus is especially bad, no idea why. Some cars will enter and immediately go to the inner lanes blocking off those trying to take the next exit. Maybe they think that can drive in a straight line cut across the roundabout to their exits. [laugh]

Coz they worry they can't exit. No joke, I've seen 1 car going round and round the roundabout at Newton Circus as the driver just couldn't/ dare not change lane fast enough.

Cop asked him if he was attempting a drift. He denied it and said he accidentally stepped too hard on the gas, and apologized profusely. Cop let him off. He found it hilarious.

On 9/5/2014 at 5:40 AM, Nzy said:

Looked through his videos and saw one video where he was spotted drifting while on the phone by the cops and was stopped. But he said sorry and was let off.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nuqrz3wqAGQ

Japan quite weird leh!

2013 then introduce roundabout in the country.

I see their car design being out performed by the Kor.

I see their electronic products loose market share.

I see their Fukushima handling.

they are going backwards?

On 9/5/2014 at 10:49 AM, Camrysfa said:

Japan quite weird leh!

2013 then introduce roundabout in the country.

I see their car design being out performed by the Kor.

I see their electronic products loose market share.

I see their Fukushima handling.

they are going backwards?

In my previous company, we had a large Jap group (turnover over USD 12b) as a supplier. Nice guys and all, but at the end of the day, they are super scared to deviate from processes or to raise questions to their managers. Everyone busy protecting their ass only.

Disappointing to see the japs scared like that.

On 9/5/2014 at 11:45 AM, ins1dious said:

In my previous company, we had a large Jap group (turnover over USD 12b) as a supplier. Nice guys and all, but at the end of the day, they are super scared to deviate from processes or to raise questions to their managers. Everyone busy protecting their ass only.

Disappointing to see the japs scared like that.

errrr, I am not sure!

the characteristics seems apt for Singaporeans as well,

except that part about USD 12b turnover, haha, don't think there is such a company like that here, stand corrected.