Yeobt Supercharged September 1, 2014 Share September 1, 2014 is the LTA and the ICA fault for not organising the road diversion well for all the road users. they should have install some road signs ahead of the merging to alert the drivers should there be an lanes merging. these type of mismanagement by the authorities would only cause unnecessary confusion and frustration to the road users. we should bend together a write-in to the LTA and ICA to complain should we find any mismanagement of traffic condition. well, BTW, i don't JB often. but i think these people should do their job right instead of leaving us to fight for space on the road. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic September 1, 2014 Share September 1, 2014 (edited) Agree. So much so that there are times I slow down let ppl pass they hesitate.. Then I wave them by then they realise. Quite sad actually as this kind of giving way culture provided the other driver does his part early should be the norm as opposed to the exception. Anyway kudos and we do out part too when i change lane, i actually consider the psychological reaction of nearby drivers too. for example, in clear to moderate traffic, most cars will be cruising at a more or less constant speed. this makes it easy to come out with the lane-change strategy, so to speak. when i need to change lane, i will first instinctively trace out the path that i want to go for. after deciding on the intended path, i will then signal and quickly execute and complete the maneuver after 2-3 seconds of safety check. this gives ample time for nearby cars to notice your intention, but not too long to trigger their annoyance and cut you off. i notice the most common lane-changing challenge by drivers is that they first signal, and then start figuring out which path they want to take. by the time they decide to make the move, nearby drivers are already getting annoyed and will start cutting them off. i see poor drivers on the road who can on their signal lights forever but will never be able to make the move. all they need is just to understand a little about driver psychology and change their driving technique to adapt to the situation. Edited September 1, 2014 by Jellandross Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hybridcar 3rd Gear September 1, 2014 Share September 1, 2014 (edited) The "merging" lanes at the customs are damn stupid. Someone needs to draw some lines on the road so people will know which are actual lanes. no use one lar... got line people also "draw" their "extra" (invisible one..lol) line... Last time my bro car side mirror (driver side) kena "brush" by a Mercedes car (not to direct at Mercedes driver) at custom checkpoint, The Mercedes uncle driver also don't give it a damn. My bro car stay in the lane. Some more give us that stupid face look, like he owned the road like that. Few mins later, his car is in front. We witness his car "brush" another car side mirror again.... fainted. Feel like to give him a slap... Edited September 1, 2014 by Hybridcar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged September 1, 2014 Share September 1, 2014 i wonder if SBF also have decal, so all the tikos can identify each other on the road ... food for thought! lol Hum sup face easy to pick out lah...... Hahaha! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waterh2o 4th Gear September 2, 2014 Share September 2, 2014 so how long? :) I usually signal way way earlier than my intented filter in and from exp easily can take u 3-5 mins until a kind soul will slow down his/her vehicle to give way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Penknife 5th Gear September 2, 2014 Share September 2, 2014 its rare for cars to give way it's rarer for the receive to acknowledge and open a thread here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waterh2o 4th Gear September 2, 2014 Share September 2, 2014 Sometimes I signal just to observe how long it takes for someone to give way on a congested road. Sorry rephase me sentence "Sometime I signal way way early and get to observe how long it takes for someone to give way". I really have the intention to filter in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged September 2, 2014 Share September 2, 2014 Sorry rephase me sentence "Sometime I signal way way early and get to observe how long it takes for someone to give way". I really have the intention to filter in. at least it didn't sound so wrong this time!! but cannot praise you back yet.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waterh2o 4th Gear September 2, 2014 Share September 2, 2014 at least it didn't sound so wrong this time!! but cannot praise you back yet.. It ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged September 2, 2014 Share September 2, 2014 is the LTA and the ICA fault for not organising the road diversion well for all the road users. they should have install some road signs ahead of the merging to alert the drivers should there be an lanes merging. these type of mismanagement by the authorities would only cause unnecessary confusion and frustration to the road users. we should bend together a write-in to the LTA and ICA to complain should we find any mismanagement of traffic condition. well, BTW, i don't JB often. but i think these people should do their job right instead of leaving us to fight for space on the road. Well, sometimes I and really puzzled by the design LTA came up with.. like for instance Nicole highway entrance to KPE now.. you noticed that from Nicole Highway, when you enter the slip road.. it splits into two lanes... BUT for 100 meters.. it merge back into one lane.. then some times even off rush hours, some asshos will try to cut you from the other lane and then squeeze even thou the traffic is smooth going.. and cause the entire traffic going into tunnel to slow down.. why cannot just keep in lane leh??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryu 5th Gear September 2, 2014 Share September 2, 2014 when i change lane, i actually consider the psychological reaction of nearby drivers too. for example, in clear to moderate traffic, most cars will be cruising at a more or less constant speed. this makes it easy to come out with the lane-change strategy, so to speak. when i need to change lane, i will first instinctively trace out the path that i want to go for. after deciding on the intended path, i will then signal and quickly execute and complete the maneuver after 2-3 seconds of safety check. this gives ample time for nearby cars to notice your intention, but not too long to trigger their annoyance and cut you off. i notice the most common lane-changing challenge by drivers is that they first signal, and then start figuring out which path they want to take. by the time they decide to make the move, nearby drivers are already getting annoyed and will start cutting them off. i see poor drivers on the road who can on their signal lights forever but will never be able to make the move. all they need is just to understand a little about driver psychology and change their driving technique to adapt to the situation. You are right. I too observed that some (if not many) drivers signal (if they do bother to signal at all) before planning their course in traffic instead of planning their course then signal, check clear, and execute. Some signal forever, some lane change halfway undecided where to go, some change lane then change back, etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahseng 5th Gear September 2, 2014 Share September 2, 2014 wow bro, like this also you need to post and salute him. All the other cars driving near you everyday must be asshXles. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 2, 2014 Share September 2, 2014 I always find this kind of behaviour quite ridiculous. I can understand it if there is somebody changing lanes just to cut the queue in front - these types should not be welcomed. But when the "cutting in" is due to merging of lanes - then it is not the driver's fault for having to join up. In such case, I wonder about people's mentality in trying to block such "genuine cases". Agreed, if cutting lane is not due to jump queue, other cars should have give way lo. I always encountered when there is car suddenly stop at the road side or roads works along the road, even i have signalled liao, can wait forever also no one give way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pusiwagon 2nd Gear September 2, 2014 Author Share September 2, 2014 wow bro, like this also you need to post and salute him. All the other cars driving near you everyday must be asshXles. Not so. It was a kind deed which a majority of other drivers failed to do, something worth mentioning IMHO. Some things may carry more weightage for different people, and to each their own really. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged September 2, 2014 Share September 2, 2014 http://youtu.be/RqtHhmrDKt4?list=UUPYaGxsN6LyZ1t-akPydAJw You see this video. Very good example of car signalling and car giving way. See the last part the Vios also have the intention to give way to the bus. This is not about who have right of way, but rather courtesy driving. Unfortunately, majority always horn-horn "lim peh have right of way!!!" attitude driving. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mintt 1st Gear September 2, 2014 Share September 2, 2014 just today i was trying to change lane. i only signal when i want to change lane. i.e. i don't leave my signal on and wait for chance. rather, i observe there is a chance of changing, then i signal. the gap was still quite big and the moment i signal right, this white suv speed up. i m very pissed off. i could have don't care and filter right (like I have said, the gap was still wide), and force him to jam break. but of course i didn't. really don't understand why these people have such kiasu mentality. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waterh2o 4th Gear September 3, 2014 Share September 3, 2014 Kudos to TS for starting this thread. sometimes encouragement works better than condemnation. It works for our kids can see they work harder when u encourage/praise them but back fires when you scold/rebuke them. Sama sama for adults drivers too. So lets give thumbs up for courteous driving habits exhibited. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...