Rm2s 5th Gear September 1, 2014 Share September 1, 2014 what about getting a bike rack and not put it in the car, cleaner too. If you do that, there is no need for a brompton, just a common bike that you can lock anywhere and parts can be gotten for cheap or the bike replaced for even cheaper lol. I like the brompton if have to choose but do check out the price of its spares. I live in HDB so not only it is an issue to transport the bike but storing it while not in use also a big factor. I have tried quite a few bikes and eventually settled with Brompton. Now I can just fold it up and store at a corner of the flat without even noticing it. Also, like car, I buy used. There are many people upgrade their brompton bike, so, visit togoparts regularly, check on brompton bikes for sale and wait for the one with best price. The one I got was made in 2008, even after so many years, it still ride smoothly and gave me zero problems after 6 months of ownership. I spend a bit of time to clean her up, use $5 lube oil I bought from hardware shop and it now looks and work very good. For spares, I also camp out at togoparts, there are people who likes to upgrade their bike and sell brand new parts for low price. I got a pair of new stock paddle for $45 and use that to upgrade my old 2nd hand bike. Generally if you take care of the bike, it seems to last a long time. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged September 1, 2014 Author Share September 1, 2014 appreciate all your responses guys. so far no feedback on dahon yet... i went to a shop recently n saw that theyre made in china (MIC) now... i know iphone also MIC but just feel a little weary abt the MIC tag? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rm2s 5th Gear September 1, 2014 Share September 1, 2014 appreciate all your responses guys. so far no feedback on dahon yet... i went to a shop recently n saw that theyre made in china (MIC) now... i know iphone also MIC but just feel a little weary abt the MIC tag? I had a Tern which is a close cousin of Dahon. They are very value for money even if you buy new. The one thing I do not like them was the practicality portion. For example, when you fold the bike in half, they are held together by a small piece of circular magnet. The bike is not light so there is no way the magnet will hold. So what Tern did was they also give you some velcro straps. So, to carry it securely, you will have to fold and then velcro. Not a very intuitive things to do. The folding itself also expose the chain portion of the bike, so, when you want to carry it, be careful, you might dirtied yourself if you carry it on the wrong side. One thing about bike is that each is designed with some sort of geometry in mind. So the same bike might not fit your riding posture. For e.g. Brompton's copy called Flamingo (I think they changed name already) just doesn't setup right for me. When I sat on it, it felt funny. Tern was ok for me though. So my advise, while you can compare on paper, the final decision must only be made after a proper test ride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 1, 2014 Share September 1, 2014 (edited) appreciate all your responses guys. so far no feedback on dahon yet... i went to a shop recently n saw that theyre made in china (MIC) now... i know iphone also MIC but just feel a little weary abt the MIC tag? I have another folding bike call Bike Friday. Made in USA. Encountered 2 major parts replacement since i bought it in 2008. Go & compare the workmanship btw Dahon & Brompton. If you are serious about Brompton, do a test ride. Brompton AD price is fix. Don't try to bargain down. I had brought Brompton to Penang, Bkk & Ho Chi Minh. For all 3 places, we rode outside of the city area. Edited September 1, 2014 by Davidtch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic September 1, 2014 Share September 1, 2014 Any good recommendation for online purchase for Brompton? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 1, 2014 Share September 1, 2014 Any good recommendation for online purchase for Brompton? Forget buying online lah. No longer possible as factory clamped down. Your best option is fly to HK. Price in HK might be cheaper, which also means lesser options included. Aiya just get a used 1 in Togoparts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged September 1, 2014 Author Share September 1, 2014 ok after thinking for awhile & reading comments here, i thk ill just the bike w the smallest fold n thats d brompton... gona go n test ride soon.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged September 1, 2014 Share September 1, 2014 Any one got a Vert 8? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vegas Turbocharged September 1, 2014 Share September 1, 2014 i had 3 dahons, D7, Formula S18, P18. also currently have a tern p18 and tyrell cx. i find dahon most value for money and durable, parts easily available. Tern is set up by Dahon's founder son and mum => more fasionable but quality i feel so so.. Performance wise, Tern is more rigid, but that because no telescopic handle bar. brommy is good if you want to ride for leisure... not speed... nor more than 50km ride. Spares for brommy are more difficult to source, including hubs, tyres, etc Birdy good, fast, suspension, but fold not as easy as brompton Tyrell Fast, but folding => erm could be better.. the are more entry level brands, but for foldy, i would not recommend them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rm2s 5th Gear September 1, 2014 Share September 1, 2014 Forget buying online lah. No longer possible as factory clamped down. Your best option is fly to HK. Price in HK might be cheaper, which also means lesser options included. Aiya just get a used 1 in Togoparts. I agree. All online sites in UK won't ship to Singapore, not even spare parts, unless you go with forwarding service like vPost. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged September 1, 2014 Author Share September 1, 2014 I agree. All online sites in UK won't ship to Singapore, not even spare parts, unless you go with forwarding service like vPost. is spare parts a big issue for bromptons? cannot just replace parts with shimano parts? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 1, 2014 Share September 1, 2014 i had 3 dahons, D7, Formula S18, P18. also currently have a tern p18 and tyrell cx. i find dahon most value for money and durable, parts easily available. Tern is set up by Dahon's founder son and mum => more fasionable but quality i feel so so.. Performance wise, Tern is more rigid, but that because no telescopic handle bar. brommy is good if you want to ride for leisure... not speed... nor more than 50km ride. Spares for brommy are more difficult to source, including hubs, tyres, etc Birdy good, fast, suspension, but fold not as easy as brompton Tyrell Fast, but folding => erm could be better.. the are more entry level brands, but for foldy, i would not recommend them Disagree on the speeding parts. For OCBC cycle 2012, my average speed is btw 30 & 35km/h. Other than tyres, most of the parts you quoted will not break easily. This is based my daily ride to work. Tyre can be easily sourced locally. In fact, i m using Schwalbe Kojak, which is a racing slick tyre. is spare parts a big issue for bromptons? cannot just replace parts with shimano parts? If you buy the parts from AD, no issue. Mightty Velo stock up almost every parts of Brompton. If you crashed a Brompton and the frame in good shape, you can even rebuild the entire bike. Why do u need Shimano parts? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nazerath Turbocharged September 1, 2014 Share September 1, 2014 Ts what is the intended use for your folding bike? If you buy a brompton, consider adding a brass bell. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged September 1, 2014 Author Share September 1, 2014 Why do u need Shimano parts? coz im familiar w shimano its available everywhere cheap lor Ts what is the intended use for your folding bike? If you buy a brompton, consider adding a brass bell. possible work commute + weekend exercise bike Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 1, 2014 Share September 1, 2014 coz im familiar w shimano its available everywhere cheap lor possible work commute + weekend exercise bike Shimano is not compatibile. Need DIY. With its compact size, it is easier to store in the office as compared to other foldy. If you gonna commute to work, need to check with the building management whether they are ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nazerath Turbocharged September 1, 2014 Share September 1, 2014 You intend to fold yr bike n bring by the side of yr desk? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cleefho 1st Gear September 1, 2014 Share September 1, 2014 I have a Dahon which I bought for more than 5 years. it is the cheapest they have and for so many years, it never give any problem at all, really reliable. Best is I bought it at $350 only. however I never folded the bike so cant commend on that. speed wise it is quite fast. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 1, 2014 Share September 1, 2014 I have a Dahon which I bought for more than 5 years. it is the cheapest they have and for so many years, it never give any problem at all, really reliable. Best is I bought it at $350 only. however I never folded the bike so cant commend on that. speed wise it is quite fast. How many km has your Dahon travelled? How fast in terms of km/h is quite fast? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...