RadX Moderator August 27, 2014 Share August 27, 2014 whoaaaaa...dun pray pray LTA may take action against SMRT for letting ACS (I) charter trains 1/3 Students from Anglo-Chinese School taking a chartered MRT train at One... [MORE] Students from Anglo-Chinese School riding in a chartered MRT train to... [MORE] Students from Anglo-Chinese School waiting for a chartered MRT train at... [MORE] Students from Anglo-Chinese School taking a chartered MRT train at One... [MORE] Students from Anglo-Chinese School riding in a chartered MRT train to... [MORE] SMRT failed to seek necessary approval before agreeing to provide the service mail print View all 9 comments BY JOY FANG joyfangz@mediacorp.com.sg PUBLISHED: 11:05 PM, AUGUST 26, 2014 SINGAPORE — The Land Transport Authority (LTA) is looking into taking action against SMRT, for letting Anglo-Chinese School (Independent) charter five of its trains to transport students and staff to the Schools National C Division rugby final match held today (Aug 26) at the National Stadium. The public transport operator had failed to seek the necessary approval from the authorities, an LTA spokesperson said in response to media queries. Under its licence to operate the Circle Line, SMRT must obtain approval if it wishes to provide train services that are not open to the public. “In this case, SMRT did not seek our approval before agreeing to provide the service. We are looking into the appropriate action to take. We have also reminded SMRT that its primary focus must be to ensure good service delivery to the commuting public at large,” the LTA spokesperson said. TODAY understands that for all MRT lines, approval from the authorities is required if a public transport operator wishes to offer services beyond its core business of providing train services to the public. When contacted, SMRT did not say if it knew that it had to seek approval. It had previously worked with schools in chartering trains to transport students for large-scale events over the years, including for the National Education Shows during National Day Parade rehearsals. Requests are reviewed on a case-by case basis and generally, the schools should be within walking distance to stations and the destination needs to be on the same train line. SMRT also stressed that no passenger services were affected and train intervals were maintained at “normal service levels at all times”. Chartered trains are injected in between normal train services and run only within off-peak hours. It added that only one-way services were provided to ACS (I), as the return journey would have taken place during peak hours. It is understood that the chartered trains would not have been in service during off-peak hours. ACS (I) had chartered the trains to transport 3,000 of its students and staff to the rugby match, which was the first school final to be held at the new National Stadium at the Sports Hub. The move provoked a flurry of both dismay and support from the public, with some questioning whether some schools were getting special treatment and whether SMRT could have put the additional trains to better use for the public. Others felt it was an efficient way of transporting students without affecting road traffic. ACS (I) principal Winston Hodge had told The Straits Times that it would have taken at least 80 buses to transport its staff and students, and the trains were a “cost-efficient” way of getting them to the Sports Hub. Neither the school nor SMRT revealed the cost, but it reportedly came to S$2 a head. The students were to travel directly from one-north station to Stadium station on the Circle Line. The match saw ACS (I) beat defending champions Saint Andrew’s Secondary 28 to 8. CEO of SMRT is ex ACS boy from the reports ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged August 27, 2014 Share August 27, 2014 POWER!! Did not know can charter train 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DavidOh 5th Gear August 27, 2014 Share August 27, 2014 I suspect the following will happen: a slap on the wrist - fine or warning should a fine be given out - passengers eventually have to pay with higher fares question is why did not the LTA take action before the service provided after all there were information about it all over the place I cant help but it strengthens my believe that SMRT top priority is to make more money and passenger throughputs are not 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iceman81 4th Gear August 27, 2014 Share August 27, 2014 Hmm....but does this means if SMRT had seek approval and LTA approved, SMRT is allowed to charter the trains for private usage? Ain't this misusing of public transport? 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic August 27, 2014 Share August 27, 2014 (edited) Elite treatment. During that period, transportation of the public have to be put on halt for the privilege group. Edited August 27, 2014 by Ender 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged August 27, 2014 Share August 27, 2014 (edited) Yeah, I heard about this from a friend yesterday he was quite upset about this. He nearly got onto the train because information were not clear that the train was off public. Luckily a staff saw him, asked him if he is from ACS and they told him that he should not board. He was at FusionPolis. Pretty sure he wasn't the only one who nearly took that train. Imagine if someone took that train at One North, he will have to sit all the way to national stadium! I didn't even know that we can charter trains! And I am quite skeptical that the public service was not affected. It just can't be since there is only one line. Surely the public has to wait longer since this chartered train has to stop at every station as well. Edited August 27, 2014 by Icedbs 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 27, 2014 Share August 27, 2014 Quote "CEO of SMRT is ex ACS boy from the reports" Unquote Kelong! Kelong! Kelong! Kelong! Kelong! Kelong! Kelong! Kelong! 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear August 27, 2014 Share August 27, 2014 Yeah... The Best is Yet To be!!!.... or kong em! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic August 27, 2014 Share August 27, 2014 My alma mater (Raffles) never do all this. It must be true what they say - ACS really a RICH man's school. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 27, 2014 Author Share August 27, 2014 My alma mater (Raffles) never do all this. It must be true what they say - ACS really a RICH man's school. ahem...i might not want to mention other interesting areas tht are nto done by others too...hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic August 27, 2014 Share August 27, 2014 ahem...i might not want to mention other interesting areas tht are nto done by others too...hahaha If it's what the ACS gers are up to these days, you know you're always welcome to PM me, haha. I like broadening my general knowledge. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged August 27, 2014 Share August 27, 2014 I suspect the following will happen: a slap on the wrist - fine or warning should a fine be given out - passengers eventually have to pay with higher fares question is why did not the LTA take action before the service provided after all there were information about it all over the place I cant help but it strengthens my believe that SMRT top priority is to make more money and passenger throughputs are not putting up traffic lights for commuters at train stations cost money you know? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged August 27, 2014 Share August 27, 2014 What ACS principal says makes sense though.. 80 buses vs 5 trainloads at the same cost.. train makes more sense, especially if it's during the off peak hours and SMRT can insert 5 trains in between trains used for general public. And i shudder to think how much traffic congestion will a convoy of 80 buses cause. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 27, 2014 Author Share August 27, 2014 What ACS principal says makes sense though.. 80 buses vs 5 trainloads at the same cost.. train makes more sense, especially if it's during the off peak hours and SMRT can insert 5 trains in between trains used for general public. And i shudder to think how much traffic congestion will a convoy of 80 buses cause. i tend to agree w that. Often enuf we see trains passing by, telling ppl not to board, etc.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged August 27, 2014 Share August 27, 2014 the whole episode sounds like Harry Potter ya? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 27, 2014 Share August 27, 2014 What ACS principal says makes sense though.. 80 buses vs 5 trainloads at the same cost.. train makes more sense, especially if it's during the off peak hours and SMRT can insert 5 trains in between trains used for general public. And i shudder to think how much traffic congestion will a convoy of 80 buses cause. Yeah acs principal didn't do any wrong... What is wrong is SMRT. Are they allow to chartered bus? If it's a fully private manage transport system I think yes. But now it is public resource funded by gahmen aka tax payable.. Tricky. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 27, 2014 Share August 27, 2014 (edited) can charter sbs/smrt bus but cannot charter train? Edited August 27, 2014 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 27, 2014 Author Share August 27, 2014 the whole episode sounds like Harry Potter ya? ya....special service...to hog... can charter sbs/smrt bus but cannot charter train? plane oso can lah ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...