Typhoonz 4th Gear August 22, 2014 Author Share August 22, 2014 Few years back, cousin and her family including 4 children drove up to Malaysia in a Galaxy and was involved in an accident. Fortunately, all of them escaped with only minor injuries. The Galaxy was written off. They bought another Galaxy to replace it cos her husband was very thankful and impressed by the safety aspect of the car. I'm unable to comment on the other aspects of this car but as per my cousin's experience, safety of this car is top notch!! I always believe that the safety features of continental cars are better than that of their Japanese counterparts... good luck in your nego be prepared to walk away. don't get makaned by the first guy Thanks man... Yup... Don't want to be eaten... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear August 22, 2014 Author Share August 22, 2014 Hey Bro, Not sure if this helps but I just wanted to give some feedback with regards to a similar ride (perhaps on the same platform? I'm not sure). I bought an S-Max recently (from 08') & like you, my previous ride was a Mazda 5. Had some issues with the car recently involving a blown HID ballast (Regent wanted me to replace the entire light fixture for $900 since they didn't have parts available in stock & I finally managed to settle it through a distributor as I really couldn't find the parts anywhere & it wasn't cheap either. It cost me $500). Parts wise, like some bros have already mentioned - not cheap & may not be easy to find (perhaps in my case since my ride is older) but otherwise, no issues to date. When I bought the ride, the mileage was close to 75K. Seeing that your prospective new ride is much newer, I don't anticipate it has as much issues + I'm sure the EcoBoost will give you a blast on the roads! Engine wise (for mine that it) - no issues noted. The 6 speeder is ok, although it's quirky ... You have to do a manual shift up from 5th to 6th since it does not auto shift up (for mine anyways). Perhaps they have fixed that issue on later models, I'm not sure. Whatever the case, it's a great ride for sure, although expensive to maintain. Fuel is also a little higher (maybe cos it's heavier?) It's also my first conti but really enjoyable. If you're gona take it back to Regent to get it serviced, be prepared that it's not gona be cheap. Perhaps comparable to some AD prices like M.I. (I used to have a Forester as well). Whatever the choice, drive safe! Thanks for your comments and experience... The S-Max's space is slightly more than the Mazda 5 but of course handling wise the former would be 10 times better... I'm aiming for the Galaxy as I plan to drive this to at least the 9th year... By then my eldest daughter will be 18, my son 15 and the youngest one 12... Now already start to squabble in the back... Sometimes headache to drive when they complain non stop... I did consider the maintenance costs and of course going back to the AD to get my blood sucked like when I bought the Mazda 5... Change 1 small buld also want to charge me $40 and that's before labour and GST... I guess it's a trade off between the good and the bad... Impossible to find the perfect car... errmmm.....if i ever write off a Galaxy and survive, i'll make sure my replacement car would be a XC90...! who says lightning dun strike twice? juz ask MAS. Sometime you drive safe also no use... Someone luan luan lai you also kenna... XC90? As if the maintenance for the Galaxy is not expensive enough... But it's the car's build that comes into play at the most critical time like the totalled car... Everyone gets to walk away... My friend viewed this car 3 weeks ago when it was listed at $119k, offered $110k but the dealer not keen.... Subsequently the dealer dropped his listed price twice The Jun 2011 was listed at $118k 3 weeks ago... I guessed his hand was forced by the Mar 2012 Galaxy... BTW, the SE at Regent said the brand new Galaxy is coming in Q1 2015 So the dealer missed the chance to let go of the Galaxy and now regretting... The 2015 Galaxy looks good... Shares the same grille as the new Mondeo... But seems like it a face lift... Not sure as just judging from the spy shots... Also the price might go above $190K? http://ford2015car.com/2015-ford-galaxy-concept-release-date/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 Sometime you drive safe also no use... Someone luan luan lai you also kenna... XC90? As if the maintenance for the Galaxy is not expensive enough... But it's the car's build that comes into play at the most critical time like the totalled car... Everyone gets to walk away... When buying a family car, always make sure it's a 5-star NCAP rated car. Dun buy into all those "aiya, i drive slow wat" or "in sg, how fast can u go" or "2-airbag enuf lah" kinda crap argument. Like u said, u might be safe but others may luan luan lai. Family safety cannot compromise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 Is this the handbrake (beside the left armrest)? Look so funny. Handle look like those attached to heavy machinery Looks like throttle for an aircraft Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 Thanks for your comments and experience... The S-Max's space is slightly more than the Mazda 5 but of course handling wise the former would be 10 times better... I'm aiming for the Galaxy as I plan to drive this to at least the 9th year... By then my eldest daughter will be 18, my son 15 and the youngest one 12... Now already start to squabble in the back... Sometimes headache to drive when they complain non stop... all children are like that mine also the same my nieces who are 20s, 18 15 also squabbling touch each other a bit in the car also cannot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear August 22, 2014 Author Share August 22, 2014 When buying a family car, always make sure it's a 5-star NCAP rated car. Dun buy into all those "aiya, i drive slow wat" or "in sg, how fast can u go" or "2-airbag enuf lah" kinda crap argument. Like u said, u might be safe but others may luan luan lai. Family safety cannot compromise. Current car only got 2 air bags... :wacko: all children are like that mine also the same my nieces who are 20s, 18 15 also squabbling touch each other a bit in the car also cannot My helper and the youngest one sits in the 3rd row while the other 2 on the 2nd row... Same row squabble can understand... 2nd and 3rd row also squabble... Once i just stopped along the road and told them who still want to quarrel take a bus back... That time super peck chek ah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 Current car only got 2 air bags... :wacko: alamak......liddat u better go buy the galaxy asap. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear August 22, 2014 Author Share August 22, 2014 Looks like throttle for an aircraft Actually I used to think that the handbrake will move forward when you release it but it just sits back into the lobang... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 more airbag the merrier good to squeeze Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear August 22, 2014 Author Share August 22, 2014 alamak......liddat u better go buy the galaxy asap. For almost 4 years liao since Oct 2010... It's a Japanese car norm to have 2 airbags and cars with curtain airbags is either Continental or flagship Japanese cars (Lexus)... Will go view it next week and see how hard up is the dealer... From my conversation with him yesterday and whay Enye said, don't think he will be easy going... more airbag the merrier good to squeeze You won't be in the car to squeeze the airbags when it deploys... :D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 (edited) To be fair I would think all car brands will have their share of horror stories... COE $82K, OMV at $24k and selling at $113K worth it? I guess as long as the car is well maintained it should last... Luck is also plays a part... you should work out the depreciaton and decide if its worth it or not,and not simply base on COE,OMV,selling price alone. Edited August 22, 2014 by Turbonetics Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear August 22, 2014 Author Share August 22, 2014 (edited) you should work out the depreciaton and decide if its worth it or not,and not simply base on COE,OMV,selling price alone. Depreciation is at $14K and it's better than mine at $16K... Edited August 22, 2014 by Typhoonz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 My guess is due to the high COE of $82K and OMV of $24K and deducting the sale price of $113.8K, it only leaves $6K plus for him... He don't have much buffer... Sliding doors are of course better and it's hard to do without them after you had a car with it... Top up a "little" for a New Galaxy? That's about $50K more boss... That's quite a bit for me... I got my first car (Fit RS) for slightly more than $50K in 2008... He suggested a "neutral" workshop like STA or VICOM... I'm more interested to let a Ford expert check as opposed to a general inspection... alamak bro,this is not the way to calulate lah. u think he bought/trade the car at COE $82k + OMV $24k=$106k?? it is wrong. I guess he bought/trade at $95k region and the paper value is about $80k to date. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 (edited) Depreciation is at $14K and it's better than mine at $16K... $14k actually u can get older BMW 7 series. but iam surprise the OMV is so low for the Galaxy. Edited August 22, 2014 by Turbonetics Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear August 22, 2014 Author Share August 22, 2014 u sure it is $14k/year? selling price($113,800)-PARF Value($12,438)=$101,362/5 years=$20,272.40/year. What do u think? What's your current ride? but iam surprise the OMV is so low for the Galaxy. $20K? It's only $13400 according to this calculator... http://www.carmatch.sg/Finance.php My current car is Mazda 5... $14k actually u can get older BMW 7 series. but iam surprise the OMV is so low for the Galaxy. Average OMV across for most Galaxys on sgcarmart... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 (edited) $20K? It's only $13400 according to this calculator... http://www.carmatch.sg/Finance.php My current car is Mazda 5... sorry,my calculation was wrong as i thought the car left 5 years. Edited August 22, 2014 by Turbonetics Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear August 22, 2014 Author Share August 22, 2014 (edited) $14k actually u can get older BMW 7 series. but iam surprise the OMV is so low for the Galaxy. Only MPVs for me... sorry,my calculation was wrong as i thought the car left 5 years. No worries man... Still got 7.5 years more to go... If it's only 5 years no point for me to switch as my Mazda 5 is 6.5 years old in Sept... alamak bro,this is not the way to calulate lah. u think he bought/trade the car at COE $82k + OMV $24k=$106k?? it is wrong. I guess he bought/trade at $95k region and the paper value is about $80k to date. Oh yeah never deduct the 2.5 years that has gone by... COE should be about $61500 and OMV $18657 deducting the 2.5 years... Edited August 22, 2014 by Typhoonz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 (edited) Only MPVs for me... No worries man... Still got 7.5 years more to go... If it's only 5 years no point for me to switch as my Mazda 5 is 6.5 years old in Sept... just for your reference. which means u have alot more options of cars to choose from if you don't mind older cars. some people are looking at older cars as the COE is cheaper which means lower depreciation. until then when all the cheap COEs are scrapped,then they will see the market situations or while driving older cars and keep a look out for market situations and wait for opportunities to enter. unless those rich people won't blink an eye,just buy when they like it. actually the best is to drive your current car to the end of COE and make full use of the cheap COE u got,unless u are very rich and have spare cash. don't be surprise that most of the new cars on the road are paid by companies inseatd of individual's own pocket money. $16k depreciation for a Mazda 5 seems quite high especially from the cheap COE era. are u the first owner or pre-owned? Edited August 22, 2014 by Turbonetics ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...