Yaloryalor 5th Gear August 20, 2014 Share August 20, 2014 On 8/20/2014 at 10:17 AM, Chucky2007 said: Every time I told my wife.. See, those people so rich, their life must be unhappy bec they have to work so hard. My wife reply" how u know they are unhappy? How u know they have to work harder than you? And now you are really so happy with this income? And u don't have to work hard now? And your life and income now is more secure now than them? Then she shuts me up by... Be thankful but don't be sour grape.. Always assuming that there is a unhappy family for every rich family.. " Which is damn true la.. I have my shares of rich clients who are so loaded n happy, and also many of them rich n unhappy.. But also a lot of not so happy average people n a lot of happy average people. Like one bro said, rich or dun rich also got happy and unhappiness. Money is not a gauge for happiness. Got one saying in Chinese, 快来不是得到多少,而是放下多少。Happiness is not how much you gain but how much you willing to let go. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged August 20, 2014 Share August 20, 2014 How many of us, if ever had the ample savings in early 2000s.. Have the opportunities to invest in the major uptrend of the property market, but chooses not to do it, and have missed the boat? So many have.. It's not right or wrong la. But to assume others who have successfully done it, is not able to sleep, unhappy because of long hour work etc.. Is quite 阿Q精神lor I haven't..bec in the 2000s I quite poor so can't say I have missed the boat. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged August 20, 2014 Share August 20, 2014 On 8/20/2014 at 10:26 AM, Chucky2007 said: How many of us, if ever had the ample savings in early 2000s.. Have the opportunities to invest in the major uptrend of the property market, but chooses not to do it, and have missed the boat? So many have.. It's not right or wrong la. But to assume others who have successfully done it, is not able to sleep, unhappy because of long hour work etc.. Is quite 阿Q精神lor I haven't..bec in the 2000s I quite poor so can't say I have missed the boat. You can't pay the ticket, can't board the boat. On 8/20/2014 at 10:04 AM, Kusje said: Yield should be based on market price (i.e. the price you can get if you sell the flat). Eg, If someone bought apple stock at 50$ and it is now 600$. Apple give 30$ dividend doesn't mean the yield is 60% right? You should count your 30$ dividend against the current stock price. Rental Yield is on what you invested on the property. If your property gain, then that is called something like capital gain. So what you said is current yield, which of course changes due to market price different. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Partagas 3rd Gear August 20, 2014 Share August 20, 2014 On 8/20/2014 at 3:50 AM, Kangadrool said: I believe these people are not the real rich ones (yet). Yes, they may be earning a lot, but also have a lot of commitments to keep up with the lifestyles and Joneses. As long as you need to slog day in day out to keep up your lifestyles, you are not rich. Just a slave albielt with higher income than the rest of the population. The true rich are rare. They need not work, but income just flow in. Yes i think so too. On 8/20/2014 at 10:17 AM, Chucky2007 said: Every time I told my wife.. See, those people so rich, their life must be unhappy bec they have to work so hard. My wife reply" how u know they are unhappy? How u know they have to work harder than you? And now you are really so happy with this income? And u don't have to work hard now? And your life and income now is more secure now than them? Then she shuts me up by... Be thankful but don't be sour grape.. Always assuming that there is a unhappy family for every rich family.. " Which is damn true la.. I have my shares of rich clients who are so loaded n happy, and also many of them rich n unhappy.. But also a lot of not so happy average people n a lot of happy average people. Can you be my Sifu, Sifu? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged August 20, 2014 Share August 20, 2014 On 8/20/2014 at 11:00 AM, Partagas said: Yes i think so too. Can you be my Sifu, Sifu? Partagas, those kind of people are not rich, they are merely well paid. As you say, wealthy people don't have to work also have money to spend. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged August 20, 2014 Share August 20, 2014 Buy within your means and take a loan quantum that you're comfortable. Other people borrow more to buy more expensive house is your problem? If everyone followed your thinking, everyone in MCF will be driving a Toyota Hiace (HDB) ...and nobody will be buying a Merc A (EC) Class. Why so bitter until need to justify your decision by assuming your friends/ colleagues are making the "wrong" decision? 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged August 20, 2014 Share August 20, 2014 On 8/20/2014 at 10:53 AM, Coltplussport said: You can't pay the ticket, can't board the boat. . Haha of course can't board the boat for the full voyage.. But not enough to total miss the entire journey when I managed to save a small tiny sum towards late 2000s. But I envy those who made the journey and try to learn from it. Rather than ranting and assuming how big is the debt trap, how unhappy is it, and telling the forum how contented is it to have a fully paid up property. It is good but one men's meat is another men's poison, beauty in the eyes of the beholder. I mean it On 8/20/2014 at 11:07 AM, Coltplussport said: Partagas, those kind of people are not rich, they are merely well paid. As you say, wealthy people don't have to work also have money to spend.well said.. But lots of wealthy people are still working damn hard... Whether working harder compared to somebody out there, I'm not sure, but definitely Working much harder than me.. I already finished dinner and at home gonna play with my kids. On 8/20/2014 at 11:00 AM, Partagas said: Yes i think so too. Can you be my Sifu, Sifu? sifu, you are your own sifu.. Just be open and listen. A wise man says that he listens more than he talks.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged August 20, 2014 Share August 20, 2014 Anyway I'm sure all of us work hard at work, or invest prudently or aggressively for our next generation, if not at least to cater for retirement.. Some people choose to have a fully paid up flat and take BMW..bus mrt walk everyday.. Some chooses to buy a nice car, some buy cheap car, some buy private property, take too much loan, no $$ buy car, some buy private property , takes lots of loan and still take more loan buy nice car, some don't take loan, don't buy car.. Etc etc.. No right or wrong because it's "their" money.. Why need to impose own value compass on others $$? Maybe your friends are all fake ranting.. Say so stress so stress, buy condo buy ec buy landed, take big loan no $.. But actually bluff one, actually inside bank account got lots of $$ just that interest so low don't take sayang.. So investing the cash and took loan? But says poor to everyone so that no one will wanna borrow $$ from them? It's a car forum for god sake so all don't get too serious ya Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged August 20, 2014 Share August 20, 2014 (edited) On 8/20/2014 at 10:23 AM, Yaloryalor said: Like one bro said, rich or dun rich also got happy and unhappiness. Money is not a gauge for happiness. Got one saying in Chinese, 快来不是得到多少,而是放下多少。Happiness is not how much you gain but how much you willing to let go. A lot of people thought that the money is the root of all evil.. Actually the love for money is the root of all evil. This sentence too deep for me "happiness is not how much you gain but how much you willing to let go" Too profound. I don't usually search for the meaning of happiness.. Happiness means good mood, lesser worry. unhappiness means mood no good, more worries. Sorry but I don't understand the thing about searching for the meaning of life etc etc.. My neighbour lead their own life, I lead my own.. If one day he needs my help, can help I help, cannot help I also no choice. If one day I need help after I help him, he can help he help, he cannot help I also wouldn't tulang him. Sorry ah.. Me is 粗人, 粗人讲话比较没文化和水准 Edited August 20, 2014 by Chucky2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 20, 2014 Share August 20, 2014 On 8/20/2014 at 12:11 PM, Chucky2007 said: Maybe your friends are all fake ranting.. Say so stress so stress, buy condo buy ec buy landed, take big loan no $.. But actually bluff one, actually inside bank account got lots of $$ just that interest so low don't take sayang.. So investing the cash and took loan? But says poor to everyone so that no one will wanna borrow $$ from them? Ahemmmmmm.....maybe he oso believe that Mr.Peh Foo Cash of MCF actualli wipe tables at lau pa sat for a living. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged August 20, 2014 Share August 20, 2014 On 8/20/2014 at 1:38 PM, Soya said: Ahemmmmmm.....maybe he oso believe that Mr.Peh Foo Cash of MCF actualli wipe tables at lau pa sat for a living.and lives in a CCK 5 room flat.. Lol.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 20, 2014 Share August 20, 2014 On 8/20/2014 at 1:47 PM, Chucky2007 said: and lives in a CCK 5 room flat.. Lol.. .......and doesn't hate himself and is the happiest man in the world. LOL! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged August 20, 2014 Share August 20, 2014 On 8/20/2014 at 1:52 PM, Soya said: .......and doesn't hate himself and is the happiest man in the world. LOL!and always saying his hand is nice.. And all the watches he owned is nice and only old Rolex watches are nice... I really buay tahan.. But I do admire him for his self belief. Displaying Excellent self confidence. hahha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Partagas 3rd Gear August 20, 2014 Share August 20, 2014 (edited) On 8/20/2014 at 1:57 PM, Chucky2007 said: and always saying his hand is nice.. And all the watches he owned is nice and only old Rolex watches are nice... I really buay tahan.. But I do admire him for his self belief. Displaying Excellent self confidence. hahhaI think its normal for soneone to say that.For example, if you buy a pair of shoes, you obviously think its nice so you buy right? Especially for things with certain vintage charm, i accept. Back to talking about EC upgrade. I visit some friends staying at EC. I cant help but feel that people are trying to show off to each other and environment not very friendly. From the neighbors glance , it is just very discomforting. Maybe its just me .....sigh...inferiority complex.... Edited August 20, 2014 by Partagas 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged August 20, 2014 Share August 20, 2014 On 8/20/2014 at 2:27 PM, Partagas said: I think its normal for soneone to say that. For example, if you buy a pair of shoes, you obviously think its nice so you buy right? Especially for things with certain vintage charm, i accept. Back to talking about EC upgrade. I visit some friends staying at EC. I cant help but feel that people are trying to show off to each other and environment not very friendly. From the neighbors glance , it is just very discomforting. Maybe its just me .....sigh...inferiority complex.... not just ec.. Its a Singaporean thing.. Knn everywhere I try to be friendly by initiating to smile or say hello.. Always got funny stares.. So strange, some more I not bad looking Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 20, 2014 Share August 20, 2014 (edited) I think he is happy and high, received a S$8.8 million house in Beijing as his 28th birthday gift Edited August 20, 2014 by Jman888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nazerath Turbocharged August 20, 2014 Share August 20, 2014 (edited) Just saw pic. Edited August 20, 2014 by nazerath 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
enos 1st Gear August 21, 2014 Share August 21, 2014 Due to printing of money...our money is devalued. Hence housing prices shot up. It's happening everywhere all over the world. Why? Coz people rushed in to park their money in both non tangible and physical assets. Asian love for property means everyone rushes in the property game. There is such a thing between good debt n poor debt. If you opt to stay status quo..earn money n let it stay devalued in the bank...so be it. The value of money gets eroded over time. So called safe bonds masquerading as insurance etc are not doing well. Rule of thumb... As long as didn't over leverage should invest as much as possible. As regards to debt free... N achieve true financial freedom... As long as you need to work even if you stay in a fully paid hdb or condo..you are never financial free. People buy second property to invest to rent out for passive income.some buy to multiply the value n then liquidate to invest in other investment instruments. As long you are young...I think its safe to invest but within your means. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...