Lobang for tiling/flooring contractor

Etnt

On 9/18/2023 at 10:19 AM, Atrecord said:

sigh...

yah, we also know it's only right to do something. But on the whole, there's going to be a lot of mess/dirt, and the risk of other parts being affected - which could turn out to require doing the whole unit's floor leh... and that could mean they can't stay there for maybe at least 2 wk or more, my folks will have to spend $$, and it's only going to be for 3 mth...

Bad timing I suppose but no choice lo … dun do then something happen to tenant, kena sue worse …

me not a contractor but if you worry the hacking will affect other area , how about getting a contractor to so those cheap decking ? Do like a temporary platform to cover that whole area …

On 9/18/2023 at 10:19 AM, Atrecord said:

sigh...

yah, we also know it's only right to do something. But on the whole, there's going to be a lot of mess/dirt, and the risk of other parts being affected - which could turn out to require doing the whole unit's floor leh... and that could mean they can't stay there for maybe at least 2 wk or more, my folks will have to spend $$, and it's only going to be for 3 mth...

Bad timing I suppose but no choice lo … dun do then something happen to tenant, kena sue worse …

me not a contractor but if you worry the hacking will affect other area , how about getting a contractor to so those cheap decking ? Do like a temporary platform to cover that whole area …

On 9/18/2023 at 10:07 AM, Atrecord said:

We asked our agent to propose to the tenant to reduce rent and not do anything already, but from initially asking how much we were willing to reduce (which my folks said cap at $300), to latest said it's not the money, but the inconvenience, and kept chasing us to do the replacement quickly... also dunno what's their main objective.

My parents bought the flat almost 40 yr ago, and it's quite original in condition, and they only did the flooring for the whole flat, and wall tiles to the kitchen/toilets, when new. I stayed there for about 15 yr before i moved out... No need to make good lah, will sell as-is lor. Am 100% sure whoever buys it, will re-do the whole flat thoroughly, maybe only leave the windows - had to change them when govt introduced rule on stainless steel rivets maybe 20 yr ago - untouched cos that's about the only thing not-so-original 😅

From the photos...not that bad...but this type can get worse overnight...not to scare you or tenant...when that happens...can hear creek creek crack crack pop pop sound one...😅

...i'd heard that by hacking or cracking a few more tiles at some corners to create "space" can help minimise the damage when there's any further undesirable structural movement...

Just buy those cheap big rug from Turtle and go over the uneven parts of the flooring...you may need a few pieces...also to reduce rental and provide tenant with a cheap vacuum cleaner...candid with the tenant on your intention to sell...3 months very fast one...good luck...🙏😁

On 9/18/2023 at 10:27 AM, Lala81 said:

Even u get a vinyl to overlay it will just make sure no tile edge cut or trip u up that's all. 

Just get a quote from the contractor and decide bah. It's a no Brainer to me imo. 

Got one quote, which is $3300 for one room and it's to lay vinyl and not even retiling... now everything so ex...

if suay suay other old tiles in the flat find reason to give trouble together... chor already...

On 9/18/2023 at 11:20 AM, Atrecord said:

Got one quote, which is $3300 for one room and it's to lay vinyl and not even retiling... now everything so ex...

if suay suay other old tiles in the flat find reason to give trouble together... chor already...

Nowadays renovation very expensive and contractors very picky.

PS. I better go attend course to do tiling! 

On 9/18/2023 at 10:50 AM, Volvobrick said:

Area seems quite big. But also hard to find contractor willing to take on this small job.

Just give them one month free rental and see if they accept. 300 reduction is a bit too little I think. 

Not say v big, but contractor says need to do whole room, rather than just the affected tiles... actually by this logic, i wonder how they intend to stop at the edge where the room joins the living room/walkway... 

and yes, i think they have lots of jobs now, so haven't been able to get many interested contractors...

300 is monthly till lease ends in Dec. Now rental is only 2400 for whole (4rm) flat. 300 is maybe more than one-third of the master room liao... but yah, maybe give it a shot reduce 500 for the 4 remaining mth see if they will bite...

On 9/18/2023 at 10:59 AM, Hubwee said:

hmm... decking... wonder how much it'll cost. if it's strong enough then it's definitely worth exploring. thanks...

On 9/18/2023 at 11:47 AM, Gunzy said:

Can try rubber sheet as is more cost effective and have various thickness to choose from (vinyl flooring doesn't make sense since its so costly) 

can even lay the entire room's floor without costing a bomb

http://garlin.biz/index.php/en/products/rubber/rubber-matting

eg this type looks good too😁

image.png.b950be82913e5858e4c518aa164af7d1.png

hmm... but floor still uneven. dunno if they can accept...

On 9/18/2023 at 11:51 AM, Atrecord said:

hmm... but floor still uneven. dunno if they can accept...

indeed, thicker mat might be able to smoothen the unevenness abit😅 but will cost more

Edited by Gunzy

On 9/18/2023 at 11:26 AM, Volvobrick said:

Nowadays renovation very expensive and contractors very picky.

PS. I better go attend course to do tiling! 

Your back can tahan ornot? Sekali all savings have to go to a chiropractic practitioner's pocket...😂

On 9/18/2023 at 12:28 PM, mersaylee said:

Your back can tahan ornot? Sekali all savings have to go to a chiropractic practitioner's pocket...😂

I ever replaced a couple pieces of broken tiles before. That's small job but some other jobs DIY one time really backache and never again! 

On 9/18/2023 at 1:55 PM, Volvobrick said:

I ever replaced a couple pieces of broken tiles before. That's small job but some other jobs DIY one time really backache and never again! 

Not gonna ask...but if you insist to share in the name of brotherhood... im sure many brothers here will want to know what diy until can have backache instead of bottom ache 😁

On 9/18/2023 at 10:13 AM, Atrecord said:

Not sure if it's clear from these photos - it's the tiles being pushed up at the joint there...

really no need to fix meh? We're reasonable, so will not want them to live with the inconvenience without doing anything - thus the offer to reducing the rent. But if the repair is going to cost more than the rental sum, then it's damn bo huah. Plus hearing about potentially causing other parts to be affected too, that's the real worry...

WhatsApp Image 2023-09-15 at 17.50.46.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2023-09-15 at 17.51.23.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2023-09-15 at 17.51.25.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2023-09-15 at 17.51.26.jpeg

Someone might even trip over it …….. then it’s Pandora’s box of what’s next and then the You and I thingy will escalate 

JC Flooring Direct provides high-quality hardwood flooring installation, offering a wide selection of durable and stylish hardwood options to enhance any home or business. With expert installation, each project ensures precision and quality for a beautiful, lasting finish.