Lightbringer 6th Gear January 23, 2018 Share January 23, 2018 Doesn't the facelifted Sorento comes with an 8-speeder compared to the previous gen 6 speeder? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoflight 5th Gear January 23, 2018 Share January 23, 2018 (edited) Doesn't the facelifted Sorento comes with an 8-speeder compared to the previous gen 6 speeder?Yes its a 8speed gearbox nw. For both SX n GT line Its an excellent car which ticks a lot of boxes. A leading contender in the CX-9/Highlander/Pilot compset that's priced below the top spec vehicles from a tier down in Singapore (i.e the CX-5/RAV4/CRV) Hard to find better value. I have 2 young kiddos (2.5yrs & 1yr) and really considering a family suv for a change. Guess have to give up my 3.0v6 supercharged le which is like super smooth and powerful. :( Actually been looking at Sorento for a long time la.. since 2014 but prices has always been steep like 160-180kish. At 145k now seems like a no brainer for a brand new 2018. Edited January 23, 2018 by Rayoflight Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fungyee77 5th Gear January 23, 2018 Share January 23, 2018 Yes its a 8speed gearbox nw. For both SX n GT line I have 2 young kiddos (2.5yrs & 1yr) and really considering a family suv for a change. Guess have to give up my 3.0v6 supercharged le which is like super smooth and powerful. :( Actually been looking at Sorento for a long time la.. since 2014 but prices has always been steep like 160-180kish. At 145k now seems like a no brainer for a brand new 2018. 3.0v6 supercharged... Gosh tough one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jjandyy 4th Gear January 23, 2018 Share January 23, 2018 Just now went to test drive the 2018 Sorento SX. Seems like Kia has updated the steering feel.. it definitely felt much better and weighted now instead steering “air” which was overly light in previous version. 2.2diesel engine was rough in sports mode as i tried to pick up speed quickly. Other than that, once cruising, was pleasant and can’t really hear the diesel chatter. Interior was spacious as always. Dont think theres much difference. Price $144,900. Value for $$$ and seriously considering. Bingo! A lot of people over-looked this when talking about the 2018 model, mainly talking about 8-speed AT, exterior refresh etc. Actually, this is one of the more important update, because drivers interact a lot with the car via the steering. The 2018 version is fitted with R-MDPS system, so I think it is now closer to conti feel. I always find the Sorento steering is too light for its size. With the new steering column, I believe it will bring better stability in high-speed cruising. The diesel engine with eVGT is quite different from other diesel engines (e.g. from Volvo or commercial trucks). The engine notes are 'closer' so it does not really sound like the old diesel clatter. The firewall insulation is pretty thick I guess, if you look at the side near to the front door, you can actually see some insulation material 'bulging' out. All the door panels has a layer of soft insulation materials (i think it is hollow-fibre), and the interior of the door are separated by a big piece of black molded-plastic. In contrast, in many Japanese cars, you will see a layer of transparent plastic-bag sheets pasted on with some black glue all-around, and that's what made the hollow door-closing sound in Japanese cars. Kia has moved away from such 'design'. For Sorento, a lot of attention are given to insulation and you can see them if you look deep inside the car (which I did). 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightbringer 6th Gear January 24, 2018 Share January 24, 2018 At 144k its a very good buy. Am considering this as a replacement for my Xc60 in 1-2 yrs time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shooterskull Clutched January 24, 2018 Share January 24, 2018 Has any Sorento user changed their brake pads and tyres already? Went to service my car yesterday, mileage is low because I hardly use the car, at only 25k for 3 years of use. Service center suggested to change brake pad, tyre and battery. Is this a bit too fast to change? Furthermore, they are charging a bit more than what I feel is reasonable, like their tyres are about 20% more expensive as compared to workshops outside. I am also thinking of changing to another brake pad because the current one is very dusty. Another has recommendations? And finally, anyone has a recommended workshop to replace tyres, brake pads and the battery? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic January 24, 2018 Share January 24, 2018 oh no please people, dont get me started to go showroom to peep at the sorento!!!!!! Currently one is a facelift model, any idea when is the next change? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fungyee77 5th Gear January 24, 2018 Share January 24, 2018 oh no please people, dont get me started to go showroom to peep at the sorento!!!!!! Currently one is a facelift model, any idea when is the next change? Suspect 2020/21. But 2018 Sorento with the new 8 speed transmission + steering system with checking out. New Hyundai Santa Fe expected mid this year, supposed to be off Sorento platform. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic January 24, 2018 Share January 24, 2018 (edited) Suspect 2020/21. But 2018 Sorento with the new 8 speed transmission + steering system with checking out. New Hyundai Santa Fe expected mid this year, supposed to be off Sorento platform. went to see the website and the $144k model is a 6 speeder. The more ex one w/4WD is 8 speeder. Edited January 24, 2018 by Hamburger Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fungyee77 5th Gear January 24, 2018 Share January 24, 2018 went to see the website and the $144k model is a 6 speeder. The more ex one w/4WD is 8 speeder.Think website is not updated. Both SX and GT should be 8 speed, if I'm not mistaken. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoflight 5th Gear January 24, 2018 Share January 24, 2018 (edited) oh no please people, dont get me started to go showroom to peep at the sorento!!!!!! Currently one is a facelift model, any idea when is the next change? Haha Not now den when? Black looks really sleek. Pictures of my test drive unit. Sadly it doesnt come with the brown interior! Actually im very tempted to put dwn a deposit for it but white and black no stock and on indent basis which will take 3mths for next shipment. Full LED headlamps and tail lamps is a nice update to it. Really refreshes the whole look again Alot of functions to play hor.. even tpms also have. Displays the actual tyre pressure. Got apple carplay also Most importantly i tell u.. is the steering feel and handling. U try liao will understand how big this difference made in my testdrive compared to previous KIA models. html image host upload photo to website went to see the website and the $144k model is a 6 speeder. The more ex one w/4WD is 8 speeder.Website put wrongly. All 2018 models are 8speed (SX n GT line) Edited January 24, 2018 by Rayoflight 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 24, 2018 Share January 24, 2018 Yes its a 8speed gearbox nw. For both SX n GT line I have 2 young kiddos (2.5yrs & 1yr) and really considering a family suv for a change. Guess have to give up my 3.0v6 supercharged le which is like super smooth and powerful. :( Actually been looking at Sorento for a long time la.. since 2014 but prices has always been steep like 160-180kish. At 145k now seems like a no brainer for a brand new 2018. Didn’t you change to this Audi just recently? Wow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoflight 5th Gear January 24, 2018 Share January 24, 2018 Didnât you change to this Audi just recently? Wow.Yea the Audi A5 is almost 1yr already. I got no complains with it but having 2 baby seats in the rear is no joke. Have to bend dwn to put 2 babies in the seats and 1 of them almost gong tao everytime. Its actually quite spacious inside and the boot is huge. Hahaha. The sorento @144k is really value for money.. can see that it has substance and kia made big efforts to revamp the car. Preowned contis are much more affordable than buying brand new.. next time itchy again can change anytime when kids are older. Let the first owner go tar the depre for first 2years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic January 24, 2018 Share January 24, 2018 (edited) My personal acid test would be the rear 2 seats. Anything smaller from that of a sharan is a no go for me. And yes, brown interior is a must for me too. Edited January 24, 2018 by Hamburger 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 25, 2018 Share January 25, 2018 Has any Sorento user changed their brake pads and tyres already? Went to service my car yesterday, mileage is low because I hardly use the car, at only 25k for 3 years of use. Service center suggested to change brake pad, tyre and battery. Is this a bit too fast to change? Furthermore, they are charging a bit more than what I feel is reasonable, like their tyres are about 20% more expensive as compared to workshops outside. I am also thinking of changing to another brake pad because the current one is very dusty. Another has recommendations? And finally, anyone has a recommended workshop to replace tyres, brake pads and the battery?Haha...the SAs there still playing the “brake pad worn muz replace” upsell at low mileage? Unfortunately, I kena con b4. Was new to the Sorento and wasn’t sure of the wear rate. But gave them the benefit of the doubt coz its a pretty heavy SUV n do a lot of start stop. So agreed to change. When i saw the old pads they placed in the car as proof of change, the middle groove still got quite some depth. At 45k service, they tried to pulled the same trick again. Told them no. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fungyee77 5th Gear January 25, 2018 Share January 25, 2018 My personal acid test would be the rear 2 seats. Anything smaller from that of a sharan is a no go for me. And yes, brown interior is a must for me too. No harm testing it out though I suspect the Sharan (or the Odyssey that matter) would be bigger. MPVs tend to be better for carrying 7 people and luggage. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shooterskull Clutched January 27, 2018 Share January 27, 2018 Haha...the SAs there still playing the “brake pad worn muz replace” upsell at low mileage? Unfortunately, I kena con b4. Was new to the Sorento and wasn’t sure of the wear rate. But gave them the benefit of the doubt coz its a pretty heavy SUV n do a lot of start stop. So agreed to change. When i saw the old pads they placed in the car as proof of change, the middle groove still got quite some depth. At 45k service, they tried to pulled the same trick again. Told them no. I went to take a look at my tyres also. The tread wear indicator is still so deep inside the grooves. Really doubt their professionalism if this is how they want to get more commission. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 27, 2018 Share January 27, 2018 I went to take a look at my tyres also. The tread wear indicator is still so deep inside the grooves. Really doubt their professionalism if this is how they want to get more commission.Another thing to watch out for is the ‘engine flush needed at 20k mileage’ upsell. Blardy SA juz ticked the box for me w/o asking. Luckily i spotted it n told him off ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...